We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track... Great guesthouse in beautiful surroundings”
Review of The Giggling Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Giggling Tree
Ranked #2 of 443 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2017

An old farmers street transformed in a 23 bedroom (houses) guesthouse. All very simple and down to earth, yet all comfort available. The adventure deserves the stay, and the swimming pool makes it perfect. Western and Eastern kitchen (Dutch owners, Chinese staff), in a family ambiance... Just a place to go to when in the neighbourhood. And easy to disconnect: no television, only wifi in the street, a library, just what you need.

Room Tip: the rooms in the middle of the street on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDB183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

First of all, my husband and I were at Giggling Tree in May for our son's wedding, so this experience puts a twist on our time spent there and in the area; we were more than just tourists.

From a purely tourist viewpoint, Giggling Tree is a fantastic guest house in the midst of traditional Chinese countryside. Directly across the road, there are farmers working their fields in the same fashion as their ancestors. Nearby is the Yulong River on which tourists can enjoy the views via bamboo rafts steered by Chinese men using long poles. The tourists do sit in chairs, however, so the ride is comfortable. Steps away from GT is a biking and walking path that parallels the river and is very well-maintened and litter free. The area is becoming known for rock-climbing as well. The topography of the entire Yangshuo area is unique and beautiful.

The guest house itself is housed in former Chinese farmers' houses. It is constructed with traditional bricks of the area and provides a nice visual break from Chinese concrete construction. The rooms vary in size and shape depending on the number of people sleeping in a given room. Some rooms have a queen bed, others have 3 beds, some have more. All are very comfortable with well-appointed bathrooms and AC.

A new pool is located on the premises near a wonderful relaxing treed garden area. The restaurant is open to non-lodgers as well as guests and the menu options are very good with both western and Chinese dishes offered throughout the day. The wait staff is fairly fluent in English, so ordering is easy. The owners and managers are Dutch and, of course, their English is great, so over-all communication is a breeze. Other Giggling Tree amenities include bicycle rentals, concierge services and a wealth of advice about activities in the area, all given with pleasant attitudes and smiles!

I can not say enough about the efforts the staff made to ensure that our son and daughter-in-law experienced the most relaxing and beautiful wedding possible. Karst and Paulien, the owners, along with the managers, bent over backwards, almost literally!, with ideas, suggestions, and plain hands-on help the day before and the day of the wedding. They were calm and collected, but extremely efficient as were the wonderful kitchen and wait staff. I was totally surprised when I learned that this was the first wedding they had hosted at the Giggling Tree!

I totally recommend Giggling Tree as a tourist guesthouse, a destination location...there is a lot to see and do in the beautiful Yangshuo area...and as a special event venue. You will not be disappointed!

Thanks again, Karst, Paulien and crew! We appreciate all you did for us and our families and our kids' friends! ❤️

PS Bring mosquito repellant!
PPS I checked "quirky" below because GT is amazingly unique! And it is "quirky" in a very good way!

Room Tip: Wifi is not consistent inside all rooms. Ask the staff for room recommendations if you need wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Enumclaw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

My friend and I spent the Dragon Boat long weekend at the Giggling Tree. We found the stay to be marvellous in all respects except one (which the Giggling Tree could not control).

The good points are: 1) the location is superb - it is next to farmland, out of Yangshuo which has become a little touristy and nasty, but not so far that you can't go in for activities. 2) the rooms are very comfortable - good size, clean, very comfortable beds with a nicely renovated simple bathroom. 3) the courtyard is perfect for sitting, reading, drinking and eating and lends an almost European feel to the spot. The food is simple, not amazing but pretty good and very fairly priced. 4) The pool is welcome relief after a hot day and serves its purpose. 5) The Giggling Tree is terrific at organising activities but also not being on your back - transfers from Guilin were sorted easily, and booking tickets for the lightshow and bamboo rafting was a breeze. 6) They have wonderful bike rental and little suggested bike rides through farmland and countryside. This was the highlight of our stay - seeing the farmlands and hidden villages via bike and really getting of the beaten track. Giggling Tree made it super easy.

The only downside was that there were a LOT of children staying while we there. We are far from anti-kids, but being woken at 7.30am to playing/screaming children was not ideal for a long weekend rest. It made it difficult to feel serene. Frankly, we were of the view that the parents ought have done more to control children in a shared space (ie not allowing them to blow trumpets in the early am or next to other diners). It is a small gripe, and one which the Giggling Tree can do nothing about, but more a warning that if you're on a honeymoon, or otherwise not fond of children, you may be disappointed. I should also note that it may just be a result of us going on a long weekend.

Overall: This is a genuinely tremendous spot. Well priced, unpretentious, helpful without being stifling, friendly to a fault and generally just a really great place to go. It comes highly recommended (and I already have done so to friends).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

My children & I enjoyed our 3 nights at The Giggling Tree. A beautiful quaint renovated farmhouse with great atmosphere and the kids loved the pool.
Excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed making use of the bikes and the photo guidebooks were very helpful when cycling around the area - a great idea for guests.
Room was comfy and spacious but a little noisy. Food was good, but I was a bit surprised that we needed to pay extra for butter when ordering toast. There was also a charge for pool towels, which I only found out when checking my bill. All in all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisier as right next to the courtyard where guests eat meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurend730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived after one night stay in Guilin city
We had a taxi come and pickup
All arranged by the giggling tree
We had a great 6 day stay
Supported through all the different adventures we asked for.
Food here was very good as well many different choices and great taste.
Spoke often with the staff and owners all very friendly and supportive
Highly recommend if u want adventures and see a piece of real China this is place to stay

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Pledgedwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.6 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
3.2 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
4.0 km away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 483 in Yangshuo County
275 reviews
0.6 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
263 reviews
1.2 km away
Yangshuo Outside Inn
Yangshuo Outside Inn
#4 of 443 in Yangshuo County
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giggling Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giggling Tree

Address: Mainstreet Aishanmen village, 5 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $63 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tiny village Aishanmen, close to the scenic Yulong river only 5 km west from tourist hotspot Yangshuo, we renovated traditional yellow brick farmer houses into a beautiful inn. The courtyard is breathtaking. Our atmospheric restaurant and terrace with scenic views give travelers the chance to breathe fresh air again. In April 2013 we have opened our outdoor swimmingpool. Why stay in the city, when the countryside is so amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Giggling Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giggling Tree Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing