We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
521
125
14
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
125
14
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dutch couple chinese staff guest house lovely courtyard central courtyard renovated farmhouse beautiful surroundings karst mountains chinese countryside chinese dishes yangshuo area bamboo rafting bike rental the river guesthouse gt cycling
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

First of all the scenery of Yangshuo is just beautiful and the Giggling Tree blends in very well. It's situated outside of the town which give you the opportunity to enjoy the country side immediately. All the major highlights can done or booked from the hotel. Don't expect a luxury hotel, it just has everything you need: nice ambiance, friendly people, swimming pool, western and Chinese food, bike rental, etc. I highly recommend Yangshuo and the Giggling Tree.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As a family of 4 adults and 2 children we had travelled by train to Guilin where we were collected by taxi which had been arranged by the GT. Due to heavy traffic the journey to the guesthouse took 2 hours. The length of the trip paled into insignificance once we arrived. The surrounding scenery and location is stunning. We were made very welcome by the Dutch owners and Chinese staff. The GT is made up of converted farm buildings with ground floor and first floor accommodation. The courtyard is the main hub of activity, where people gathered to eat, chat, or plan their day. The food was very good with excellent portions. There is a swimming pool, an adjacent seated relaxation area as well as a small kids play area in front of the GT. Bicycles are available for rent and excellent photographic maps are provided of different scenic cycle routes. There is so much to see and do in the area that we didn't get to do so a 2nd visit and stay is a must. The staff are so friendly and helpful which added to the charm of our stay. If there had to be a small negative our ground floor room was a little damp but to compensate we had a dehumidifier put in our room. I think next time I would ask for an upstairs room. This did not detract from what was a great holiday in the most delightful part of China and a location that I'm looking forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent base for exploring on a mountain bike, kayak or raft. Guides available. Good selection of food both western and Chinese. Child friendly. Rooms basic but clean and had everything required including air conditioning and mosquito net. Staff very good. Would definitely recommend for couples, singles or families.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TCMunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Giggling Tree is perfect for those looking for a comfortable stay, in beautiful surroundings, with plenty to do, all organised for you by incredibly helpful staff. The Dutch owners are welcoming, and there is a lovely relaxed atmosphere to the place. Would recommend staying more than 3 nights - there is so much to see! Western/Chinese menu makes dinner time more enjoyable if traveling with fussy children. Plenty of couples without children who also seemed to be enjoying themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Three of us shared an upstairs room in this scenic, quaint, amazing Danish-owned B&B. It's hard to describe really, as it is a renovated farm. Room was fine with a bathroom/shower in it..beds comfortable. One downside to our room: some lightbulbs were out so it was darker than I would have liked. BUT the most fantastic thing is the bikes. You can rent bikes and they give you trail maps and you can wander through rice fields, around karsts, and thru valleys to a river where you can board a bamboo raft....and raft down the river! You get back on your bikes (which get transported by magic..lol) and head back for a swim in their awesome pool.

Food there was phenominal as well. They have great danish desserts! The courtyard was a wonderful place to have breakfast and dinner and meet people from around the world.

They organized several excursions for us (the one above on the river) and a huge show in Yangshou. Owners were there and friendly...staff very very helpful. They organized an early departure for us to head to Guilin for the rice terrace trip with a taxi driver.

The only "downside" (if there could possibly be one) is that it is a few miles outside of the bigger town and you must taxi there OR BETTER YET: BIKE THERE! The roads are fine, and see interesting sights.

I would stay here again and again!

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter if there are many families with kids staying there...the courtyard gets a little noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslierx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews