We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat, great location.”
Review of The Giggling Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Giggling Tree
Ranked #2 of 443 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Charming inn in a collection of ancient buildings and courtyards, comfortably and thoughtfully renovated. The Dutch owners understand western accommodations but still maintain the local character with Chinese staff and cooks. Meals and drinks in the courtyard are a pleasure. Another outdoor space includes a pool, quiet spaces to lounge and areas for children to play. Hotel arranged a bamboo raft trip on the Yulong and rented us bikes to make our way to the launch. They have photo guides for a number of bike trips in the countryside. The city is only a short taxi ride away. You could spend several days here touring the area and relaxing.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

First of all the scenery of Yangshuo is just beautiful and the Giggling Tree blends in very well. It's situated outside of the town which give you the opportunity to enjoy the country side immediately. All the major highlights can done or booked from the hotel. Don't expect a luxury hotel, it just has everything you need: nice ambiance, friendly people, swimming pool, western and Chinese food, bike rental, etc. I highly recommend Yangshuo and the Giggling Tree.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As a family of 4 adults and 2 children we had travelled by train to Guilin where we were collected by taxi which had been arranged by the GT. Due to heavy traffic the journey to the guesthouse took 2 hours. The length of the trip paled into insignificance once we arrived. The surrounding scenery and location is stunning. We were made very welcome by the Dutch owners and Chinese staff. The GT is made up of converted farm buildings with ground floor and first floor accommodation. The courtyard is the main hub of activity, where people gathered to eat, chat, or plan their day. The food was very good with excellent portions. There is a swimming pool, an adjacent seated relaxation area as well as a small kids play area in front of the GT. Bicycles are available for rent and excellent photographic maps are provided of different scenic cycle routes. There is so much to see and do in the area that we didn't get to do so a 2nd visit and stay is a must. The staff are so friendly and helpful which added to the charm of our stay. If there had to be a small negative our ground floor room was a little damp but to compensate we had a dehumidifier put in our room. I think next time I would ask for an upstairs room. This did not detract from what was a great holiday in the most delightful part of China and a location that I'm looking forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent base for exploring on a mountain bike, kayak or raft. Guides available. Good selection of food both western and Chinese. Child friendly. Rooms basic but clean and had everything required including air conditioning and mosquito net. Staff very good. Would definitely recommend for couples, singles or families.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TCMunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Giggling Tree is perfect for those looking for a comfortable stay, in beautiful surroundings, with plenty to do, all organised for you by incredibly helpful staff. The Dutch owners are welcoming, and there is a lovely relaxed atmosphere to the place. Would recommend staying more than 3 nights - there is so much to see! Western/Chinese menu makes dinner time more enjoyable if traveling with fussy children. Plenty of couples without children who also seemed to be enjoying themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.6 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
3.2 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,124 reviews
4.0 km away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 483 in Yangshuo County
275 reviews
0.6 km away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 483 in Yangshuo County
263 reviews
1.2 km away
Yangshuo Outside Inn
Yangshuo Outside Inn
#5 of 443 in Yangshuo County
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giggling Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giggling Tree

Address: Mainstreet Aishanmen village, 5 km from Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tiny village Aishanmen, close to the scenic Yulong river only 5 km west from tourist hotspot Yangshuo, we renovated traditional yellow brick farmer houses into a beautiful inn. The courtyard is breathtaking. Our atmospheric restaurant and terrace with scenic views give travelers the chance to breathe fresh air again. In April 2013 we have opened our outdoor swimmingpool. Why stay in the city, when the countryside is so amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Giggling Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giggling Tree Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing