We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$128
View deal
Sheraton.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Agoda.com
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Hotels.comUS$128
Booking.comUS$130
PricelineUS$130
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveller rating
1,281
696
188
84
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,281
696
188
84
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach bene restaurant ipanema beach club level pool area top floor leblon concierge cachaca rio favela anderson paulo uber brazil casa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Great place, clean, quiet, safe,and comfortable, It is not too often that I am impressed with anything. I have stayed a truly 5 star places and really know the difference. The minimal things this place my lack is totally made up with real 5 star service. The staff here is phenomenal, The bedding was comfortable and clean, nothing was in any form of dis-repair, Some pieces of the property showed age,but everything worked well. One test I have is how well they clean the grout on the bathroom floor, this tells me how detailed the cleaning staff is. The place was brilliantly clean. Big plus. We asked for a shaving kit that had to be delivered and assumed we would have to wait for an hour.I was wrong, three minutes and there was a knock on the door! Wow, pool side service was on top of everything. Would I stay here again? Definitely Yes, and you should too!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Bill O,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words and amazing review about your experience!

It was a pleasure to welcome you here and we are more than honored now with your comment.

Please, let us know when your future plans bring you back to the Sheraton Grand Rio. We will warmly take care of the details to ensure you have an amazing experience, once again!

Have a lovely weekend!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during the Olympics - staff went out of there way to help us with anything and everything - rooms were clean and very good - pool was amazing - ATM at hotel which was awesome - was safe during the day to walk down to Ipanema and down the boulevard - taxi about R$10 to get back - handy hint is to take a hotel card to show taxi driver so you don't get taken to Shearton Barra! Nice restaurants in hotel and has club lounge on top floor - great gym

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gramber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear gramber123,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us during Olympic! It is great to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a nice experience in such a busy period for us. It is really a huge motivation for our team!

I am so sorry to know that someone took you to the wrong hotel! And we are really happy to learn you enjoyed our facilities and services.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future and we are totally at your disposal for anything you need!

Have a wonderful week!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This full service hotel is located at the end of Leblon beach. It is my 6th visit over 2 years as we were using it as a base for the New Zealand supporters during the Olympics. Rio can be hard work as a city with transport congestion and a general lack of English speaking people for those that don't speak Portuguese. Having the Sheraton Leblon as you base is amazing, great staff, good food and a beautiful pool area. You can come and go, enjoy Rio but come back to peace and quiet.

Book a club level, the club rooms are better than some Suites. Junior Suites don't have the best views, Executive Suites only slightly larger than a King Club.

Best rooms 2418 - 2424 same on 25th floor

Great Club for drinks and nibbles at night, some of the hotels best staff will be there looking after your caipirinha needs.

Club level also has your breakfast on the 26th floor with some of the most amazing views in Rio. Leblon beach, through to Copacabana and Christ the Redeemer in full view.

In the evening L'Etoile restaurant degustation menu is a must. Don't not go to it because it is the Hotel Restaurant ... No1 TripAdvisor in Rio. Exceptional...

Thanks Sheraton, my top hotel for this year.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Raa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Raa001,

First of all, on behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you so much for staying with us so frequently and also for taking your precious time to write this beautiful review about your experience at the Sheraton Grand Rio as the New Zealand base for the Olympics.

Thank you for your lovely tips about Rio and regarding your experience with our different type of rooms. It is great to have your detailed feedback about our facilities and services. As well as, your words about our French fine cuisine restaurant are exceptional for us!

We wish to see you back even after Olympic Games are over. We truly hope you have our hotel as your first option in Rio and please, keep our contacts for when your plans bring you back to the marvelous city.

We remain fully at your disposal for any assistance on your future stays.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had a corner suite, and club floor access. Extremely happy. Ordered car service to/from the airport - and booked excursions through the tour operator onsite / via the concierge. Convenient. Good restaurant choices, if you want to eat on the site. Club level is really nice (happy hours), as is the dinner at the restaurant (on the club level). Rio is a place where we came home appreciating what we have. Overall a nice, brief visit.

Room tip: Spring for Club level
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKI_Road_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear SKI_Road_Warrior,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your precious time to write about your experience.

We are truly happy to know we could provide you with an enjoyable stay!
Have this feedback from our guests is extremely important for us to be able to monitor and always improve our services.

We are looking forward to see you back and entirely at your disposal for any assistance.

Have a lovely week!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not far from the end of Ipanema beach in a quiet locale, with its own private beach (very valuable because the other beaches are very busy).

Our room was probably a little dated but we had a nice view straight down Ipanema beach. The room itself had everything we needed and was functional, but probably not over the top luxurious.

Breakfast was excellent and served in the top floor restaurant with stunning views.

The hotel has a number of eating options for a pizza bar to outside restaurants and steak house.

A very nice pool area by the beach tops off what is a very relaxing place to stay.

I also had a massage which was excellent as were the facilities on site.

Staff were very polite and I consider this a great hotel to stay if you want to be a little away from all the hustle and bustle but only a short cab ride to the shops and restaurants if you really need it.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 888kiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear 888kiwitraveller,

Thank you for this kinds words about your experience with us and for choosing to stay here on your recent visit to Rio.

We are truly happy to have your comment and to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel in a very quiet location.

We are looking forward for your return and we remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance on the future.

Have a lovely weekend!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews