We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
10
10
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
10
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews congress bridge buffet breakfast is lady bird lake nice stay keurig bats microwave gym downtown
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

In the last seven years I have stayed at this hotel three times each year as part of a group. Do not stay here unless you are forced to! Due to the fact that it is during an event weekend the prices are much higher than their daily rate (over $200 after fees & taxes) despite a supposed “group discount”. The hotel has gone through a renovation but there are still huge problems. Upon check-in we were told we could only have two room keys despite there being four of us in the room, they said that they were running out and couldn’t make it through the weekend. I asked how is a guest supposed to get into our room? Kind of hotel runs out of keys? As of yesterday one of the elevators is still not functional in the round tower, it has been broken for years. Both of the elevators in the lake side tower were not functioning yesterday, there was one going at first but multiple times it broke trapping occupants inside. Most horrifying was that the front desk had no idea that the people were stuck despite a loud alarm ringing and people screaming. A guest had to go to the front desk to say they heard screaming coming from the shaft. The hotel is dirty. Upon check-in after walking across the floor we stepped in water dripped from the shower and black footprints were the result. The carpets are in need of cleaning. My bed had a bag of half eaten Cheetos between the bed and the wall. There was jewelry, food, and debris all along the edge where the carpet meets the wall. Upon check in my room was hot and smelly and stuffy. After 45 minutes there still was no cold air conditioning set at 55 in the old shabby wall unit. I called and asked for help they said they would send an engineer. After two hours it suddenly got cold air and was working. After three hours the engineer still had not shown up. Where was he? Front desk staff had no idea he had never come. After the renovation one bed is soft and one bed is more firm. Hooray. Now they have pillows which are labeled on the pillow case as soft or firm. This is a very small hotel room. It is hard to have a place to put your suitcase and still walk through the room freely. The closet is weird and is only about 8 inches deep. They did not fully fix the problem with the bathroom light with the renovation. When someone takes a shower the light over the sink and in the toilet/bath tub room is on. There is now a pocket door with an O Paik plastic covering so that the light doesn’t shine on your face anymore but it still illuminates the room, we are usually other family members are still trying to sleep. These are 52 inch full size beds, these are not queens! The rooms are very dark. There is a nightstand lamp, a lamp over a chair, and a small lamp on the desk. The hall area is dark. I had trouble reading in the room at the desk because there is not enough light. The room is cramped there is hardly any room to put your suitcases. We had four people in the room and they only give you three towels to shower with. The towels are acratchy and small. The staff for the banquet dinner does not understand food allergy issues. We were served a gluten-free pasta which was all falling apart due to being cooked wrong (ivercooked). The pasta sauce was mixed in with meatballs which contain gluten which meant the sauce was contaminated with gluten. Catering management staff does not understand food allergy issues. Chicken should have been on the side for everybody but they served chicken mixed in with gluten pasta only so people not allergic to gluten could not eat any protein at the meal. This hotel has had many problems over the last seven years and I even stayed there in the middle of their renovation. There are still major problems with this hotel and it is hard to believe that they can even remain in business due to all of their problems. The lobby is nice now with lots of space for socializing. Free parking and lake location are great.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ChrisM1234505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018


Thanks for the detailed review. Although you touch on many issues, I’ll try to address your concerns.

This year as 2017, your event coincided with another large citywide event, MotoGP at COTA. Rates throughout the city with be markedly higher due to the demand created by this event. There are no “daily” rate since rates are dynamic and adjusted frequently based on market conditions. Your group received a 44% discount off the base rate for these dates.

I spoke to our Front Office Manager and she informed me that we were indeed trying to conserve keys but based on your request, two additional keys were made and left for you at the desk as requested. We’re also glad we were able to wash your towels separately with hypoallergenic detergent.

Unfortunately, we are dependent on our elevator contractor and are working with them to assure the reliability of our systems. Desk Clerks are not tasked with resetting the lifts. Once an alarm is sounded, our maintenance team responds directly. I can assure you that this is a priority for the property.

I inspected the room this afternoon and did not find the issues you encountered. It seems they have been remedied as the room was cold, I could not find debris at the molding, the shower was dry and the bulb at the desk is rated at 1300 lumens.

Our Food and Beverage Director reviewed your comments as well and will better plan for gluten free banquet meals. This seems to be a kitchen error in the service of the meal.

Although we regret the circumstances of this stay, we hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

You can’t beat the location and if you like to get out after a long day there trails a short walking distance right next to Lady Bird lake. The management finally did a nice update to hotel which was way overdue so I was avoiding this hotel. I did notice they seem to have problems with elevators right to the ck-in area where only one was working on more than one visit. The staff is friendly for ck-in and I didn’t engage beyond coming and going. The downstairs has been given a very urban update and they do have a restaurant but a limited menu, but hey it’s Austin check out all things good by using TA!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank tootsie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate your compliments to our staff and facility.

We're also happy with the results of our renovation. It really opened up the whole lobby area for our guests.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We had a great stay on the top floor with a gorgeous view. We had a problem with our shower though - it didn't drain water very well and we ended up showering while standing in ankle deep water every single time. We also found the service not to be too good either. The person checking us in only gave us 2 breakfast vouchers despite us staying for 2 night and paying for breakfast for both days. We also had an interesting experience checking out. The server from the restaurant was talking to both reception staff about some issue with a guest who was trying to scam a free breakfast. Both reception staff ignored us while we waited for someone to be available to help us check out. I even locked eyes with one of the ladies who just continued to ignore me! She could've nicely said 'we'll be with you in a moment'. Total rudeness. The breakfast buffet was a total mess - fruit salad spilled over the table, missing bowls for porridge, nothing labelled - it was appalling, it looked like a hurricane swept through the hotel. A staff member leaned against the bar looking totally bored. To finish on a positive note, we used the free hotel shuttle and really appreciated the advice from the driver where to have dinner. Excellent service there.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidTraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thanks for the detailed review. We appreciate the four stars.

Some of your experiences are not up to our standards and we have reviewed your comments with our department heads. We also appreciate your positive comments about the shuttle staff. They often are our best ambassadors and are able to provide local information important to the enjoyment of our guest's stay.

Although this stay did not meet your expectations, we hope you will give us another try the next time Austin is in your travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Nothing flash to report but it does tick all the typical things you need in a short hotel stay. Clean room (felt recently remodelled), guest laundry facilities, a great outdoor pool overlooking the river, ample free car parking and easily accessed from the main highway. There were a few odd things to note, like redundant light switches, hard to find thermostats for the heater and only one lift operating when I was there. Fortunately being on the 2nd floor I could elect to use the stairs. If you were on the top floors, one lift is not reasonable. Also they appear to restrict guests from using hot water taps in the bathroom sink. Either that or the designers got it totally wrong. See photo, whenever you wanted to turn the hot water tap up, you could not because the tap would hit the mirror behind it. There are two towers so the washing machines and pool were in the other tower from where I stayed. Having just stayed at a run down Holiday Inn in Dallas, this hotel was a refreshing upgrade. The rooms were noticeably more modern and smelt fresh and clean. I would stay here again and just hope they fix the lifts.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aussnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are indeed renovating our lifts but are unfortunately at the mercy of our elevator contractor and access to critical components. We'll also look into the other issues, particularly in the bath.

Thanks again for the four star review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

As an overnight guest in Austin, I was very pleased with the staff and the ambiance. The hotel was clean and spacious as me and my friend shared a room with two queen beds.The location is 10-15 mins. from downtown where the fun happens and with local transportation being simply to use, anyone is sure to enjoy themselves whether it be for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and facility.

Our goal is a restful nights sleep and providing clean and comfortable accommodations for all our guests, every day.

Please come back and join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews