We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!”
Review of Salty Sow

Salty Sow
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty Sow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 4,242 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poquito St
Description: Salty Sow comes out of the gate offering exotic and staple cuts — all under $16 — in one of the best spaces in Austin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Salty Sow was so much better than we could have anticipated! Our waiter, Chris, was so amazing with his insights and menu suggestions. He even took time to suggest bars to go to following dinner. But back to the food. You must try the Truffle Deviled Eggs! So delicious. Also enjoyed the Brussels sprouts. Our entrees were the pork belly and beef. Topped the evening off with the Bananas Foster Dessert!!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank peggyt731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently visited Austin and had dinner our second night there at the Salty Sow. So good, it was the only restaurant we visited twice, our return trip on the last night of our vacation since we knew it would be the perfect send off. Over the course of our two visits, we had the charcuterie platter, fried green tomato/pulled pork sliders and bone marrow appetizers. Meals ranged from burgers to pork tenderloin to chicken thighs and my vegetarian sister had many options to choose from. The beet salad was top notch and don't miss the brussels sprouts. If you love them - you will love them here. This is a must stop on any visit to Austin but have reservations because this place is hopping!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently hit Salty Sow for a happy hour. They offer several small bites and drinks at a good price during HH. We started out with the rosemary chicken and biscuit. They chicken was very tasty and filling. Next, we had the boudin fritters. They have a great spicy taste with a nice aioli to compliment the fritters. We tried a special fried green tomatoes with guacamole and olive tapenade. It was one of the best tasting dishes that I've had there. Of course, we had the classic Blanche drinks to accompany our dishes. If you are looking for a great HH, you should give this place a try. It is not uncommon to fill up quick. I would use Open table to make a resrvation.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waterloodaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a great selection of meat based comfort foods. Literally everything looks amazing. A good variety of craft beer rounds out the offerings. Would come back any day.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GrayHex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

In the past three years this has been the place to go when in Austin. The food (some call it comfort) is always of the utmost quality. Quality in the products, excellent execution.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank NunoA1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Salty Sow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing