We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderately priced bar and grill”

Doc's Bar and Grill
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Afton
Description: Doc's is a lovely off the water dining experience. We offer a wide variety of foods as well as a full bar. There are multiple televisions in the dinning area for all of the sports lovers. Come out and join us for an appealing breakfast, lunch, or dinner experience!
Restaurant details
Description: Doc's is a lovely off the water dining experience. We offer a wide variety of foods as well as a full bar. There are multiple televisions in the dinning area for all of the sports lovers. Come out and join us for an appealing breakfast, lunch, or dinner experience!
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Doc's is part of the Shangri-La Resort located at the end of Monkey Island. We were there on a Sunday evening around 8:00. Most of the tables have a view of the marina and lake. We both had dinner salads that were excellent. Neither of us finished them. Staff were friendly and helpful. Meals were moderately priced. Entres were in the $20 range for the most part. Good value though.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jameshowell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatelinT17, Public Relations Manager at Doc's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Thank you for your review James. The salads are definitely plentiful and delicious. Come back next time to try our Coconut Cream Pie, it is by far my favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Our earlier experience lacked consistency in the food we had tried before and the service was below standards but we don't give up on such an beautiful setting and awesome views to have a nice lunch or dinner...breakfast too! We elevate our overall rating from a 3 to 4 Star because this past visit, the service was spot on, the food was delicious and served in a timely manner even though the crowd was starting to come in and we only had one glitch that was handled immediately without asking. I knew that management would uphold Doc's name and make this a place where there is something for everyone, for the kiddie's like me...the Roundup is TOPS!!! We will begin to own Doc's as one of our favorite places to dine. Keep up the hard work it shows it's paying off.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LilWeezy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelin T, Public Relations Manager at Doc's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hey, good to see you back! It is good to hear that the hard work and efforts are paying off. We appreciate you coming in another time, we'll see you again soon!
We have great hotel deals going on for this weekend for Labor Day, the last hoorah of the summer! Check it out on our Facebook page "Shangri-La on Grand Lake"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The meatloaf and the chicken fried steak are great! Order a cocktail (recommend a club special) and engage in conversation and enjoy the pool view or the lake view on the patio!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jstatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelin T, Public Relations Manager at Doc's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

We appreciate the review! Glad to hear your enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Don't forget to make Doc's your spot for watching football this season!
We have great hotel deals going on for Labor Day, the last hoorah of the summer! Check it out on our Facebook page "Shangri-La on Grand Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Shangri-La Resort and their restaurant Doc’s is top notch. Beautifully built with a fantastic lake view. We boat over to eat at Doc’s almost once a week. The food is consistently good with very friendly and accommodating wait staff. We enjoy dining on the patio overlooking Grand Lake for lunch and dinner and dining inside the spacious dining area when the temperatures are not suitable for us to be outside. It is also convenient they are open all day, everyday. Where as most other lakeside restaurants are closed during the week. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelin T, Public Relations Manager at Doc's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Curtis, thank you again for your 5 star rating. We hope you can join us in watching your favorite football team over a beverage! See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Lake views of Grand Lake, amazing patio bar and a menu that gives you great options whether fresh off the water for lunch or dinner or just starting your day for breakfast.

The pizza, fully loaded with all the fixings, probably weighs 10 lbs. I’m partial to the turkey sandwich but haven’t found an item I didn’t love.

Great for watching football in the fall as well!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank FostersDad424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelin T, Public Relations Manager at Doc's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your 5 star thoughts! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you come back and see us soon before the summer ends! Football season is upon us, make Doc's your couch potato spot! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Doc's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing