We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Salt water pool at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salt water pool at dusk
Maison Francaise Magazine - salt water pool Dinner at home-typical evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Salt water pool at dusk
Maison Francaise Magazine - salt water pool
Dinner at home-typical evening
Pool view
Sunset from house (West)
View from house of Bodrum Cup races
House and courtyard in Spring after rain
Garden area
North View from house at sunset
Property in spring
Bodrum retreat entry in May-June
Maison Francaise Magazine - stairway
Maison Francaise Magazine - farmhouse/courthouse
Main door to Herakleia
Maison Francaise Magazine - Herakleia
Maison Francaise Magazine - Herakleia
Herakleia residence
Living area looking toward kitchen
Herakleia kitchenette closed
Herakleia kitchenette open
Herakleia KItchen Area
antique door leading to Herakleia bathroom
Maison Francaise Magazine - Courtyard
Maison Francaise Magazine - property
Maison Francaise Magazine - Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bodrum City, Bodrum, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hans S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable stay!”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks in this amazing suite. It was a bargain for what you get! The place is overlooking green hills and has an amazing sea view with beautiful sunsets in the evening. Even when it is hot as hell, the trees around the terrace provide shade and fresh air.

The suite is nicely decorated with antiques and offers a lot of space. The kitchenette is a real eye catcher. It was very tidy and we got new towels etc. whenever we wanted.

It is only a short short drive to Yalikavak and the beaches. Bodrum can be reached in about 30 mins.

Frank and Berna, the owners are nice people and Berna even cooked amazing dinners for us sometimes:)

Thanks a lot, we will definetely come back. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travlerAr...
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Planning Our Return”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The only disappointing thing about Bodrum Retreat was having to leave after spending two wonderful weeks in La Branda Suite. Our favorite activity was sitting out in the courtyard with our morning coffee as we enjoyed the 180 degree view. Bodrum Retreat sits some 700-800 feet above the Aegean Sea on a hillside overlooking towns and villages, the nearby shores and even Greek Isles in the distance. On very clear days we were looking at Samos, some 50 miles away according to the map.
Bodrum Retreat has three guest suites, all built away from the main house and with private entrances from the courtyard so one can come and go as they please. Guests can enjoy as much privacy and solitude as they desire. Our guest suite was very comfortable and well-appointed but traditional with many touches harking back to Ottoman days. For example, the shower was constructed of local stone but with a glass enclosure- combining the old and new. The carved limestone lavatory sink looked like it was lifted out of an Ottoman palace and many furnishings were from South Asia. That said, we had a king size bed with crisp linens, a flat screen TV and good Wi-Fi service. The kitchenette was small but adequately equipped with refrigerator, sink, 2 burner gas stovetop, microwave, toaster and electric teapot plus dishes, cookware and utensils. Generally we would fix breakfast there, eat our main meal out somewhere and then fix a light dinner.
Our hosts, Frank and Berna were terrific. They arranged a rental car for us with the agent meeting us at the airport with the car and then guiding us to Bodrum Retreat. This was key as the access road from the highway can be confusing the first time. Frank, Berna and the staff treated us like family, sharing tips on local sights, restaurants, shopping, etc. When we arrived, the staff would not let us touch a suitcase and placed our luggage in our suite. They also gave us a welcome platter of local goodies and a bottle of wine to enjoy that evening. One day, our hosts did a brunch for all of the guests out in the courtyard including a wonderful soup, salads, a variety of Turkish mezzes plus bottles of Frank’s wine. On another occasion, they led us and our fellow guests on a daytrip to a fishing village east of Bodrum where we had lunch and made stops at one of the local markets as well as an impromptu wine tasting at a local winery. The bottom line is we are trying to figure out how soon we can come for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facility and the staff
Liked least: Access road- a bit rough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you dear friends and sorry for the ancient reply. We treasured your visit and it was also great having other guests, during your stay, with similar interests. The conversations were wonderful.
The views are unchanged, the trees still provide that cool breeze and a dish of homemade pasta under them is always a treat.
Would love to have both of you back one of these days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lggolomb
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the second floor Labranda suite for a week in the fall. We enjoyed th beautiful, relaxing setting. Amazingly , fine restaurants and adventures were just minutes away. Frank, the owner was very helpful with great suggestions during our stay. One highlight was taking a ferry from Bodrum to spend the day on the island of Kos in Greece. Next time we might try a longer Blue Cruise.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for this review. Positive reviews mean so much to us and even critical reviews do help to insure we are awake and keeping the properties in tip top shape. The brochure I keep in each house is updated frequently and after reading this, a guest will know more about the area than 99% of visitors.
Please come again one day. We loved hosting you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahra S
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Bodrum”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this outstanding retreat during the beginning of July. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Frank and his lovely wife Berna, while the staff helped us with our baggage. The Retreat is built on the side of a mountain and has spectacular views of the water and town. We were staying in the main house while the other couple we were traveling with stayed in the vineyard cabin which was a short walk from where we were. Both rooms however had private terraces AND POOLS!!! We asked Berna for advice on how to get around, where to eat and shop and what beaches to go to and she not only provided us with information but gave us both town and street maps to insure we knew where we were going.
Bodrum would not be the same if we had stayed anywhere else and I advise anyone who is looking into visiting the area to book a bungalow here and they fill up quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2014
I am certainly late in responding to your lovely and very positive review and I hope you will forgive me. It was great hosting you and we appreciate your excellent comments. We hope we can see you again one day and even if you pass by Bodrum another time, you are always invited to come to say hello.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia J
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this place - owner Frank gives great recommendations too”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The good
The owner, Frank, was amazingly helpful. He has very informative information packs in each of the suites which direct you to good places to go and good places to go and eat. It helped make our trip. Life is too short to eat at bad restaurants and he sent us to great places well tailored to what would suit us. He and his (former chef) wife cooked us a lovely meal the first night we arrived (extra but totally worth it) which also gave us an insight into what living in Turkey was like.
The pool. It's salt water and looks like the pictures.
The location, near enough to the village and everything the region has to offer but up and away from it all too where it's slightly cooler and much more tranquil. A retreat.
The rooms. We booked out all the suites which suited us nicely. They each have mini kitchens for self catering if you want. Each was lovely in its own way so check out the pictures and see which one would suit you best. Frank used to be an antiques dealer so there are touches of his previous life in the buildings and the furniture. It was booked for the last few nights we wanted to stay in the area so we moved to us neighbor's house. In some ways this suited us even better as a family group and is just lovely but we wouldn't have missed staying at the suites either and meeting Frank and finding out where to go.

One consideration. Presumably you're not looking at this place if you want to be in the thick of it, but being up and away means you can't just wall to shops or the beach and I think would need a car. We had one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner, the actual property - we didn't want to leave
Liked least: There was nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We loved having you as guests and even in the short time you were here, we more or less became good friends. That can only happen with special people. Thanks agaion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing