We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Kyoto experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Samurai Jim, the house protector in his Tokonoma (Alcove)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Samurai Jim, the house protector in his Tokonoma (Alcove)
The house by night at the end of the little alley The house entrance at the end of the little alley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Samurai Jim, the house protector in his Tokonoma (Alcove)
The house by night at the end of the little alley
The house entrance at the end of the little alley
The entrance with the Noh mask in its niche
The entrance with the Noh Mask in the little niche
The Noh mask welcomes you in the entrance
The first Japanese living room downstairs with a large 'byobu'  (panel) representing two tigers
The second Japanese living room downstairs with Samurai Jim in the Tokonoma (alcove)
Samurai Jim with seasonal cherry blossom
The LDK, Living-Dining-Kitchen
The LDK, Living-Dining-Kitchen, with the large flat HDTV screen on the right.
The LDK, Living-Dining-Kitchen, with the large flat HDTV screen on the right.
View form the dining area into the hall and then Tiger Room.
Living area
Fully equipped kitchen, with fridge, Induction plate, Wave-Oven/Oven, Dish washer, etc.
Everything you'll need to eat at home, for 12 guests
All the necessary appliances have been prepared for you
An old panel of a Sake Brewery is used to decorate the stairs well.
The stairs, with old decorative items on the wall
Double bed in the western bedroom
Two single beds in the second western bedroom on the 2nd floor. A sofa bed is also featured in this
Powder room with the all-in-one automatic washing-drying machine
The traditional wooden (cypress) bathroom
The shower room upstairs, with a little powder room
Both toilets are identical -- on the ground and on the second floor
Old Japanese traditional doll
Decoration on the wall of the stairs
Old 'Ema' (painted wooden plaque) from early Meiji period, in the living room
'Fukurokuju', one of the seven Gods of Happiness
Floor Plan -- The ground floor
Maru ni Ken Katabami, Jim's family crest
Samurai Jim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Michael D
1 review
“Great Kyoto experience”
Reviewed 23 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful experience staying at the house. We had a family reunion and it was great having the adults all able to sit around the large dining table and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook up a feast. The traditional living experience was fantastic and enjoyed by all, including the young cousins who were able to sleep together on futons. The house is very clean, well maintained and packed with modern conveniences that made the stay very comfortable. Location was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for your comment. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and like the house. We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakey L
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great teambuilding in Kyoto”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at this home in Kyoto. The space and amenities were just nice for the 8 of us and the check-in process was really convenience. Convenient stores, small restaurants and supermart are within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this property for family or teambuilding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for your comment, Jakey. We're glad you like our house and enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have again the pleasure of welcoming you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rediscool
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good choice to enjoy the local life with spacious accommodation for a large group!”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The machiya has 5 rooms and easily can accommodate 12 persons. We were a group of 10. 2 rooms with beds and the others are tatami. Location is one station away from Kyoto station and can take the tram and bus to the tourist sites.

The neitherhood has supermarket and small restaurant. As the kitchen is fully equipped with sufficient utensils and a large dinning table. We cooked our breakfast and dinners. The steak, beef, pork and vegetables in the supermarket is so good and cheap! We paid only USD35 for 3 pieces of very high quality wagyu as it is 50% off! Turn left once you walk out of the machiya, walk down to the Main Street and turn left again. The first one is THE one. Next to it is a local beef shop. We also bought some beef from there which were also very very good and cheap.

Rooms at upstairs have radiators and floor heating on the group floor. There are 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms so it is sufficient for 10 of us. A lot of the other machiyas have only 1 toilet even for 10 occupants! So this is very much appreciated.

All of us enjoyed our trip very much as we made a good choice to book this machiya. We can spend more time together and enjoyed the good food in Kyoto with very reasonable prices! Also, hotels in Japan are quite small, to have the dinning room, we can choose to be together or to have our own time back to the room.

We definitely will book the machiya if we come to Kyoto again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for your comment. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay.
Yes, we designed the place to provide a comfortable and spacious environment for families and friends to spend time together, as we know how important this is after a busy day visiting the city temples and gardens.
We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke K
1 review
“Kyoto living”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Such an Awesome House! Love the tiger room. Great location bars and train close by,would happily stay thwre again if ever I get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thanks a lot for your comment. We're glad you liked the house and its location, and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel E
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location for seeing an amazing city. Good refurbishment of original traditional house, now with every amenity you could need. Friendly and helpful neighbours a bonus! Would aim to stay again on my next visit to Japan. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your comment. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing