We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second Stay under the company, will stay with...”
other travellers have booked this property
2nd FLOOR Western-Style Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2nd FLOOR Western-Style Room
Kiyomizu Rikyu-an Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
2nd FLOOR Western-Style Room
Kiyomizu Rikyu-an
Entrance
1st FLOOR Kitchen Area
Traditional Japanese Garden
2nd FLOOR Japanese-Style Room
1st FLOOR bathroom
1st FLOOR toilet (2 toilet areas on 1st Floor)
Traditional Japanese Tea Ceremony decorations
Exterior of Rikyu-an
Separate Vanity Room
1st FLOOR Living Room Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smellthef...
Corner of Earth
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Second Stay under the company, will stay with them again”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

In 2013 we stayed in Shikoku-an, which is another property under the same management company (Machiya Residence Inn) as Rikyu-an. We were very happy with the stay. There was only one small problem - there was some dust visible under direct sunlight.

For this second visit for Kyoto's autumn leaves, we wanted to stay at Shikoku-an again because of its great location for a machiya - one or was it two (?) bus-stops away from everything in Kawaramachi. Unfortunately we got to work a little late and it was taken, so was some other properties that were near Kawaramachi.

We eventually booked Rikyu-an. Location wise it is very good for anyone wanting to stay near Kiyomizu area. Just step out from the door, walk a few steps on the quiet lane and then you are on Matsubara-dori with the swarm of morning crowd going to Kiyomizu temple. You will be at the very start of the whole Kiyomizu street of shops and restaurants. Thankfully, the lane into the machiya is another peaceful world. Many rickshaws actually plies past the machiya. It is a nice sight because you get to see them with no crowds.

In comparison with Shikoku-an, Rikyu-an is bigger and would fit 4-5. The former would be better for 2-3 persons. The kitchenette area of Rikyu-an look a little drab in comparison with the nice interior of the whole place, but it's still acceptable. In retrospect, I really like the place except for the fact that I had gotten the previous place at a much better rate. And oh, this place was also a little dusty when we checked in at night. We mentioned to them and the next morning it was taken care of.

You will like the location very much if being easy access to many restaurants and shopping is not your top priority. This machiya is located at a place where you can walk to lots of temples and some charming sights. Catch a bus or a short cab-ride to Kawaramachi for food and shopping.

We like to split our stay in Kyoto with some nights in a fantastic location (Kawaramachi) and some nights in a machiya. So, if I am heading to Kyoto again, I'll stay in a machiya again and very likely, with the properties under the same management as they really deliver high quality machiyas.

(Note: The map on TA site has a very slight error on the machiya's location. To get the exact unit refer to the map provided on its official site.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you for your thorough review of your stay with Machiya Residence Inn! We were so pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our city, and accommodate you in our machiya house again. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the house, and quiet neighborhood despite being located in the busy Higashiyama district. As for the cleaning, we apologize if there was dust on your arrival date (we take special care in not only having a cleaning service for every house, but also include an additional inspection before every check-in). Thank you for contacting us in regards to the cleaning -- we want not only you, but every guests to relax in a comfortable and clean environment. We have also updated the map on TA per your feedback. We hope you were able to explore and city, and see another side of the city with your second stay. Thank you again for all of your valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our city again soon!

Kind Regards,
Machiya Residence Inn Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmzie86
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this property for 8 nights. Booked via website via email with no problems.

Before going to the Machiya townhouse you are required to check in at the "Dozen Ryokan & Cafe", which is a short walk from Kyoto station. Directions to this place were provided via email and were clear and easy to follow.

The staff at the Dozen café spoke good English and were very helpful and provided us with additional information and maps on arrival. Although the Machiya is easy to reach via bus from the cafe, we decided to take a taxi because we were unfamiliar with the area and didn't want to drag our luggage around. The staff were more than happy to call a taxi and provide the driver with directions to the townhouse on our behalf.

The townhouse itself is accessible via a key code system, which is more convenient then having to worry about keys and means you do not need to return to the Cafe to check out at the end of your stay.

The building was very clean and comfortable. Although a cleaning service was only provided every 3rd day of our stay, someone would come to collect our rubbish on request when the bins became too full and required emptying as there was no where else to put it.

The townhouse is located in the southern Higashiyama district, which is amazing! This area consists of many small streets with the old style Japanese buildings, which you could spend ages just exploring. A lot of the shrines and temples are (in my opinion) in walking distance from the townhouse, but there is also a bus stop literally a minutes walk away if you would rather not walk or if you want to access to other areas of Kyoto. Additionally there are several shops (including a Fresco which is open 24/7) and restaurants near by.

The townhouse has two beds (upstairs) and additional futons - you must specify your preference when making the booking. We opted to sleep on futons (downstairs) for the experience and whilst they were comfortable enough for ourselves, I would not advise this option (obviously) for people who like their comforts, those with back pain or any other sort of aches and pains or for those who have difficulties getting down/ up off the floor etc. The townhouse is in a residential area so it was very quiet and sleeping was not a problem from a noise perspective. This does also mean that you are requested not to make excessive amounts of noise yourself so this property may not be ideal for those travellers who like to party. Although noise was not an issue, the sun does shine through the sliding doors that open to the garden early in the morning and may disturb some travellers. We were woken by the light most mornings, but this was not an issue as we preferred to get up early to beat the crowds to touristy areas anyway.

The kitchen is equipped with a fridge/ freezer, kettle, microwave, a cooker and has various utensils, which came in very handy throughout our stay, particularly in the morning as many places do not open until 11am at the earliest. There is also a washing machine, which we did not use. Although a lot of the controls in the townhouse are in Japanese, there is a guide with English instructions and other information provided.

The townhouse does have Free Wifi but connectivity is very slow and sometimes almost non existent - something to bear in mind for travellers who are dependent on it. For me, this was not a major problem. An ipad is also provided in the accommodation for use and a phone with the number of the 'Dozen Cafe' in case of emergencies.

Overall my partner and I thoroughly loved our stay at this Machiya and would definitely recommend it to friends and return there ourselves should we visit Kyoto again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wifi connectivity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you kindly for writing a thorough review of your stay with Machiya Residence Inn! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities within the house, and the location. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope that you will keep us in mind again for any future visits to Japan! We look forward to hearing from you again soon. Kind Regards, Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaddersS...
Shepperton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stay in Machiya Residence Inn”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed for 2 nights as part of family trip to Japan. An excellent, authentic Japanese experience! The little house provided everything we needed, and when we got the place warmed up it was really cosy.
Superb location for the temples and tourist area, in a very quiet little road. Just down the road, maybe 5 mins walk we caught one of the many, frequent local buses to Kyoto central for railway station, Kyoto Tower and all you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique experience,so different to hotel stays.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Dear chaddersShepperton,

Thank you for your kind words, and for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of our many traditional machiya houses. The particular machiya house that you stayed in, Rikyu-an, is indeed located in an ideal area. Close enough for visitors to walk, or bus to Kyoto's most famous sightseeing attractions, and yet in a quiet neighborhood so guests can relax in a peaceful atmosphere.

We hope that your family trip to Kyoto was made even more memorable by staying with Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
the Machiya Residence Inn Kyoto Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing