We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An outstanding house: spacious, well-equipped and...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
FranEW
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding house: spacious, well-equipped and in a great central location.”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was an outstanding house: very comfortable and well equipped in a central location convenient for restaurants, shops and public transportation and yet in a secluded and quiet location in a quiet lane off a beautiful canal. Four of us stayed in the house for 12 days and I was lovely having this as our 'home' in Kyoto. The owner restored this traditional Japanese house sensitively and tastefully, with traditional tatami mats, and comfortable futons in two of the bedrooms and a Western style double bed in the third. The house was spotless and the kitchen is well equipped with new appliances and utensils. The owner could not have been more helpful in leaving us kitchen basics and sharing his local knowledge of restaurants. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and careful restoration of the house.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like, although the fairly steep staircase to the second floor would not be suitable for someone with mobility problems.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Dear FranEW,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of your stay with Machiya Residence Inn! It was a pleasure accommodating you, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities, design, and location of the machiya house.
Thank you for your feedback regarding wanting information about the local neighborhood! We have recently created a local neighborhood map (for restaurants, shops, supermarkets) for each of our machiya houses that we provide for each of our guests upon check-in.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again for any future visits to Japan. Kind Regards, Machiya Residence Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreanne...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect house, perfect location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The three of us (husband, 6-year old son and myself) stayed 6 nights at the Momohana-An in April. Check-in at Kyoto Machiya-Inn was fast and efficient. The map we received was very useful for the taxi driver when trying to find the house.

The house is located in a small street a bit south of Shijo Street. Within a few minutes' walk, you have a metro station, a train station, bus stops, excellent shopping and several sights such as Nishiki Market, Gion and Pontocho. We walked more or less everywhere we wanted to go.

The house was perfect for the three of us, and we were all impressed by the beauty of the property, the quality of materials and how everything was perfectly suited for our needs. Daily housekeeping was also faultless. I believe up to 6 people can sleep there, but it might get a bit cramped for more than 3-4 people depending on how much personal space one requires and how much time one spends in the house versus visiting Kyoto. Having been to Kyoto before, we used our time there to unwind and enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of the living and dining areas.

My husband and I slept in the twin bedroom, while Junior slept on a futon in the little upstairs tatami area by our bedroom. We had breakfast and dinner in the house every day, we did our food shopping at the depachikas of Daimaru and Takashimaya and at Nishiki Market. There is also a well stocked grocery store (Fresco) on Teramachi street, a few streets east of the house. The kitchen is compact and not exactly equipped for "big" cooking, but it was more than adequate for our needs.

The washing machine was a big bonus for a family on a 3 weeks trip. You get a thick binder with all the necessary information about the property and how to use the appliances in addition to a local mobile phone. Wifi is free and fast and the bathroom includes most amenities you find in Japanese hotels except face wash and shaving kit.

We will definitely recommend Machiya Residence Inn to our friends and family travelling to Kyoto, and we will be sure to contact you again if we ever have the chance to travel to Kyoto again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the design
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review! It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family in Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you found Momohana-an to be comfortable, convenient, and a machiya that fit all of your needs! It is also great to hear that you were able to make use of the kitchen during your stay --- we also love food shopping in the depachika (basement food markets), too! Since you have mentioned that this was not your first visit to Kyoto, we hope that by staying with Machiya Residence Inn, you were able to experience another wonderful aspect of Japan. We look forward to accommodating you and your family during your future visits to Kyoto! Again, thank you for taking time to write us a review! Kind Regards, Machiya Residence Inn Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keimi1979
Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing