We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy house, good location”
other travellers have booked this property
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Entrance into the traditional Japanese garden The spacious living, dining and kitchen area is great for a large group
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Protector of the house, Samurai Bob, in the 2nd floor Japanese tatami mat room
Entrance into the traditional Japanese garden
The spacious living, dining and kitchen area is great for a large group
Modern dining area with 100 year old wooden door to access the bathroom
The living room with 'Hibachi' table and 52 inch flat-screen TV
The modern kitchen with induction stove, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, etc. with our Hotei-san gods
Our three traditional Hotei-san (Fushimi doll), gods protecting the house against fire
Japanese tatami mat room (with old traditional wedding kimono)
The old traditional wedding kimono
Ichimatsu ningyo doll, a traditional present for young girls
The LDK and the Japanese tatami room are separated by a  Fusuma paper door
The main bedroom upstairs, with two single beds
The Japanese tatami mat room on the 2nd floor,  with special red wall, 'Geisha tea house' style
The Japanese tatami mat room becomes a bedroom with two futons
The fully automatic washer/dryer is very convenient for travelers
The bathroom, wooden walls and automatic bath control system
2nd floor toilet
Tsukubai in the garden
The garden during the 'Kouyou' season (Autumn)
Floor Plan
Kinkaku-Ji, the Golden Pavilion
Fushimi Inari Taisha Shrine (10-12 minutes by Bicycle)
Tofukuji Temple (7 minutes by bicycle)
Toji Temple (15 minutes by bicycle)
Toyokuni Shrine (9 minutes away on foot)
Yasaka Pagoda (20 minutes away on foot)
Kiyomizu Dera Temple during a night light-up (20 minutes away on foot)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MHGuerra
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy house, good location”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Kyoto Sanjusan Samurai Machiya is a very pleasant place to stay. It is cozy and confortable. The faciliteis provided (kitchen, bath, TV) are perfect for a family. We were 6 persons and this two-floor house had enough space for us. There is a room in the first floor where two people can stay. So, for an older traveller, there is no need to use the stairs.
It was not so easy to find the house, because the taxi driver left us in a different street as that signed in the map. But once we know the way, we can see that is very well located, not far away from the Kyoto train station. It is at a walking distance from Family Mart, a convenience store that helped us quite a lot.
Akiko and Patrick are very friendly and provide some important information about Kyoto.
I really recomend this special house for your vacation and hope you have a time as nice as ours!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location
Liked least: It was a little difficult to find the house, but Patrick found us!!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for your comment. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay. And yes, we're always happy to help our guests discover what an amazing city Kyoto is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephsmi...
washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

good location near the JR station, nice decor inside, rooms are spacious by Japanese standards. good communication between the owners and renters, would definitely recommend this property to anyone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you, Joseph.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwyn H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spacious apartment in a good location”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Machiya. The apartment was spacious by Japanese standards with separate bedrooms and lounge/kitchen area. The bedding was a combination of western and Japanese bedding, both of which were comfortable. The living area had a lounge, large TV, western style dining chairs and table and well equipped kitchen. The bathroom/laundry downstairs was a good size with generous bath and 2 separate toilets were a big bonus - one upstairs and one downstairs. The area was residential and quiet but with good access to public transport. It was only a short bus ride to Kyoto's main shopping/entertainment area and walking distance to some of the temples and museums. The check in process was easier than I had anticipated and there was a quick response to the minor issues we encountered e.g. the missing hair dryer was promptly replaced.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you, Bronwyn. We're glad you liked the house and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusFling
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience, great place, excellent location”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of five friends just had the most enjoyable experience in this Kyoto machiya. Great traditional atmosphere with modern luxury comfort. We couldn't be more pleased -- everything was well thought of and it's just perfect!
The rather good photos of their web page do not do justice to the beauty and quality of the place.
With bus stops around the corner, the location is great as a base to visit and explore Kyoto. And the owner was always so responsive and helpful.
We all would love to come back. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and feel of the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you. Always a pleasure to help our guests. We hope to have again the pleasure to welcome you and your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen D
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid may 2015. It's a wonderful place with beautiful rooms and very comfortable beds. The kitchen is fab and well equipped with modern appliances. The bathroom has a great deep bath and good water supply. You can catch a bus to Gion20 minutes (walk) 10 mins bus away. Supermarkets are close by. The apartment is beautifully restored with terrific modern Touches. The Italiancafe over the railway walkway is brilliant. It's called cafe nido.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoy your stay at our place and look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best, --Akiko & Patrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing