We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
127
354
149
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
354
149
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station great location starbucks located small entrance nice hotel walking distance the main shopping area high floor beds were comfortable tourist spots would stay here again the ground floor the hotel staff central location good size double room gion district
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We enjoyed two weeks in Japan but spent only three nights in Kyoto. What a lovely city. The hotel was very well located so we could take public transportation to get to the golden temple as well as the bamboo forest. We enjoyed having a Starbucks on the main floor but also used the services of the three convenience stores located across the street and within one block of the front door. Cabs were easily hailed and in-expensive for four of us to reach many destinations.
Our room was spotless and nicely laid out. There was a large closet at the entrance and hardwood floors. There was ample room for all our shoes and a cute seating area consisting of a small love seat, a chair, coffee table, and a TV on a stand. A low railing separated this area from a one step up level for the beds and washroom. Large window with screens allowed for great amount of daylight or room darkening, whatever you preferred. We had three beds with each having a fluffy duvet. Off to the side was a counter space with storage and refrigerator below. The toilet was in its on closed space with the lovely Japanese toilet seat with all the washing choices and heated seat. Opposite the countertop area was a sink with open shelves below. Access to the shower/bath room was from here. Typical deep tub and shower area with stool and hand held shower with wall mounts at two levels.
This room was great, staff were very professional and I would stay here anytime.
Recommend booking a portable Wi-Fi unit that you pick up at Narita airport. Global Advanced Communications is who we booked through. Easy to pick up and return at the post office in Narita airport. This allowed us to use Wi-Fi and all our apps wherever we went and us Line or WhatApp to text and phone each other and use google maps and google translate. Still cheaper that adding plans to our Canadian cellphones or buying something there.
Easy walk from the hotel to the arcade shopping mall and then the river. Many festival and music throughout the summer at the river. Great pancakes at Mog pancakes and the Italian restaurant below it with seating beside the river were two favourite places.
Great hotel and really enjoyed our stay. July and August are really hot and humid so if you can visit during other months, you may prefer the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Asdfghjll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and thank goodness it was only that. We had booked an expensive ryokan for the following two nights and so needed an easy option close to transport and town. The location is good as others have suggested but that's the only plus side of this place. The room was small and dinghy and smelled of smoke despite being assured it was a non smoking room. We asked to change but were told there were no other rooms ( unlikely) and handed a bottle of air freshener to deal with it. The pillow was awful and flat and the two single beds dipped in the middle. We were very tired so thankfully we fell straight to sleep despite the discomfort. The real challenge was with front desk staff understanding English. I know being in a foreign country you can't expect everyone to speak english but in fact walking the streets and lost a few times we were helped by people who spoke prefect English so they do exist in Kyoto and I would expect of the 5 staff on the desk at least one would be experienced. This proved extremely challenging when I was having a parcel delivered to the hotel which did not arrive so we had to return several times after checking out to enquire about it. They would've liked to help but I felt frustrated. Overall this place needs a massive overhaul to accommodate western guests and would steer clear if considering. We stayed at a hotel for exactly the same price after our ryokan experience which is far far superior so it's not a price bracket thing ( that hotel is Kyoto Ms Gran Hotel).

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dee_Kiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

The location is nice, however in the summer it's hot and you will need to walk to most places so there are better options.

When I walked into the room it instantly smelled of smoke and when I asked the reception they said the room was non-smoking. I then mentioned I thought it smelt of smoke and I was instantly given a spay bottle to spray and hope the smell goes away. The smell was enough to give me a headache and therefore (although common for Japan) if your a non-smoker and don't want to revisit the 90's when we used to come home from clubs smelling like the smoke that had be going on around us, I would suggest trying to find a better option (there are plenty).

The benefit of this place is the bakery and Starbucks at the bottom. Although making you feel as though you haven't left your own country, it does give you convenient options for some items.

The staff were helpful but it's hard to find any that are not in Japan. They would be the least helpful that we have had in Japan though, if that makes sense.

I wouldn't stay here again, and if I could reconsider - I wouldn't rebook.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This hotel is extremely easy to reach, travelling a couple of stops on the Karasuma line from Kyoto Station. This means if you have travelled on the Shinkansen to get to Kyoto, it is extremely convenient.
The room was large and clean, the bathroom was quite small but adequate for our needs.
There are a couple of restaurants downstairs just outside the lobby if you get peckish but don't want to go far, and there are two stations in very close proximity to the hotel.

All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station - Shijo Station. I arrived earlier than the check in time and the staff were kind enough to accommodate and take my backpack.

Without even asking for one, they provided me map of the city - nice of them. Even helped me find an ATM which accepts foreign bank cards.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank im_a_universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews