We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kyoto
from US$52.24
More Info
from US$69.96
More Info
from US$130.59
More Info
from US$11.19
More Info
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
429
259
46
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
259
46
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kyoto station jizo statues northern part beautiful autumn autumn leaves worth the trip take pictures otaru moss hydrangeas temple tranquility pickles peak admission sublime nature
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Raining when we went , but still a beautiful place to visit .
I basically went to see the tiny stone statues , but enjoyed the entire area .
Walking around was pleasurable .

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank setsucollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Senzen-in = Autumn leaves. i visited this place wanted to take pictures with beautiful and famous place. Koyo seems was not a golden age, but the cool breeze is pleasant, I enjoyed also appreciation of autumn leaves. Among them, the lad Jizo is especially famous as. Like moss in the garden mossy has been healed in cheerful Jizo that looks like a cushion. Transportation is a bus or car, public transportation is I think that recommendation. The road is followed by a narrow mountain road, also, because the whole city of Kyoto is very busy, it seems harsh when you go in a private car. Meal processing to the approach from the train station to Sanzenin, because the souvenir shop-lined, never trouble, such as the toilet. Even in your family, even one person, I think I enjoyed the location. However, the approach is very narrow and the car can not back and forth level. Since become addicted to comes to the way in taking care must be taken.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank DimasLaksani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This is the largest of the three temples in Ohara village. I chose to see this last and was awed by the large garden with particularly stunning views and colors for autumn foliage.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank dziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We tried to take the bus from Sanjo-Keihan but the bus was so packed when it came by that we had to try again the next day, this time from Kyoto Station. The bus leaves from bay C3 and costs ¥550. The walk from Ohara station to Sanzen-in is uphill and I was afraid it would be too much for my mum, but she did okay with a couple of stops. There's lots to see on the way up--interesting pickle shops and a lovely stream with beautiful trees overhanging. Sanzen-in itself is exquisite. Utterly beautiful gardens, with beautiful autumn foliage in mid-November when we visited. Just superb, and well worth the ride out of Kyoto. I hope to come here again!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank barbadosbybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Tranquil temple located in Ohara about 45 minutes from Kyoto. Not too crowded.

Beautiful zen garden.
A few charming Jizo statues concealed amongst the moss.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank AzmiM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews