We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Undiscovered Gem?

I see that Yoshida has a grand total of two reviews (not including this one). I'm surprised yet... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2016
hfulghum
,
Shoreline
吉田神社 [京都] Yoshida Shrine (Kyōto)

京都の吉田神社は万神を祭っている八角の大元宮がある。1601年に建たれた。こんな特別な神社は凄いと思う。 This Kyōto shrine building is very special... read more

Reviewed 23 April 2016
ART196
Read all 74 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kyoto
from US$7.18
More Info
from US$124.37
More Info
from US$71.82
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
20
41
13
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
41
13
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I see that Yoshida has a grand total of two reviews (not including this one). I'm surprised yet not. There are some ridiculous number of temples and shrines in the Kyoto area, many of which are bigger and grander.

Yoshida has the benefit of being quietly tucked away in the NE corner of the city, between the river and the Path of the Philosophers. We happened across it walking from the one to the other, and were delighted to find the lovely albeit small temple tucked up against the hill, with winding trails, trees, and a beautiful coffee shop (at the peak of the hill).

Also a children's play area at the hill top.

Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank hfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

京都の吉田神社は万神を祭っている八角の大元宮がある。1601年に建たれた。こんな特別な神社は凄いと思う。

This Kyōto shrine building is very special, built in 1601 it is of a unique octagonal shape. This reflects the belief system of Yoshida Shintō, founded by Yoshida Kanetomo in 1484, which seeks harmonistic syncretism with Buddhism, Confucianism and the Way of the Dao. The octagonal Daigengū is dedicated to all Shintō deities, of which 3,132 gods are named around the site. Because of this, it is said, or at least by Yoshida-jinja, that visiting this shrine is the same as if one visited every shrine across Japan.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank ART196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stumbled across the Yoshida Shrine by accident - I was wandering around neighborhood on my way back from the Ginkakuji Temple and saw an open gate. Wandered in and had the entire place to myself. I mean no one was there (except for 3 people who came individually to "pray"). The Yoshida is a nice building the grounds are very nice although it seems more of an "everyday" shrine that locals use, rather than tourists. The grounds are nice, there are the expected buildings. There are no gardens though, just some nice trees, stone walks, architecture, and I liked it because it was quiet and I could sit in the courtyard and think. Something I couldn't do at the more famous shrines and temples in Kyoto.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank DavetheTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews