We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
56
151
102
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
151
102
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyasaka shrinegion areaexcellent locationroom was cleantourist spotnonsmoking roomhighest floorgeisha spottingamerican styleshijo dorihotel is locatedrooms are smalldouble bedjapanese businessexpensive hoteljapanese hotelsthe main shopping street
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice room but pillows were bad. Great location and good breakfest. Staff barely spoke english but it did not matter. We recommend this hotel. Just be aware of bad pillows. Metro station was near. Gion Geisha street were near hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melissaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The location is excellent for Kyoto as you are right in the Gion area. An older and charming section of town is within walking distance of one of the temples as well as a long alley of restaurants less than half a mile away.

Don't remember much about the hotel itself as it served its purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank book_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We stayed for nine days at the APA hotel in Gion (Kyoto) business/leisre.

The location is great, the staff at the reception were very helpfu, especially in checking all the trains update during the heavy tropical rains.

However, the hotel is rather old and tired. The rooms are very small, especially the doubles, they haven't got any drawers only a small area where clothes can be hung. The air conition also can be an issue as it tends to be rather noisy.

The breakfast buffet is rather disappointing if one arrives at 09am as most of the food is gone and not replaces. The boiled eggs were cold.

We decided to leave earlier and looked for somewhere else to stay in the end.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frederica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This hotel is in a great location and is very reasonably priced for the area.

I suffer from very bad allergies from dust, smoke and other environmentals and i had a hard time during our stay here. Not sure what caused it, but when we bent down to make sure we weren't leaving anything under the beds there was a pileup of paper cranes from past guests, leading me to believe they don't always vacuum well.

Definitely a personal problem as the 2 friends i was staying with were totally fine, just a warning if anyone else has the same issues.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Right in the heart of Gion with a Starbucks on the ground floor. Good size room with 2 single beds. Like most hotel chains the won't let you check in till 3 pm, but if you pay 1000 yen you can check in at 2 pm. I think this is a poor practice, if the room is available when you arrive you should be able to check in.

Room Tip: Room 720 has a good view over the city.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Herd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews