We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
57
152
105
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
152
105
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yasaka shrine excellent location room was clean tourist spot nonsmoking room short walk american style a stones throw rooms are small hotel is located double bed expensive hotel the bus hotel staff breakfast included convenience store stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice room but pillows were bad. Great location and good breakfest. Staff barely spoke english but it did not matter. We recommend this hotel. Just be aware of bad pillows. Metro station was near. Gion Geisha street were near hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melissaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go811548, Receptionist at APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL〈Kyoto Gion EXCELLENT〉and your kind review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

However, we apologize for inconvenience caused by our hotel's pillow. We could serve you different pillows if we were asked that.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hosono Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The location is excellent for Kyoto as you are right in the Gion area. An older and charming section of town is within walking distance of one of the temples as well as a long alley of restaurants less than half a mile away.

Don't remember much about the hotel itself as it served its purpose.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank book_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go811548, Receptionist at APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL〈Kyoto Gion EXCELLENT〉and your kind review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hosono Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We stayed for nine days at the APA hotel in Gion (Kyoto) business/leisre.

The location is great, the staff at the reception were very helpfu, especially in checking all the trains update during the heavy tropical rains.

However, the hotel is rather old and tired. The rooms are very small, especially the doubles, they haven't got any drawers only a small area where clothes can be hung. The air conition also can be an issue as it tends to be rather noisy.

The breakfast buffet is rather disappointing if one arrives at 09am as most of the food is gone and not replaces. The boiled eggs were cold.

We decided to leave earlier and looked for somewhere else to stay in the end.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frederica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go811548, Receptionist at APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us here at APA HOTEL〈KYOTO GION〉EXCELLENT and your review. We are sorry
that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. We will try to improve the level of service to satisfy our customers. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.


Best Regards,

Hosono Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

This hotel is in a great location and is very reasonably priced for the area.

I suffer from very bad allergies from dust, smoke and other environmentals and i had a hard time during our stay here. Not sure what caused it, but when we bent down to make sure we weren't leaving anything under the beds there was a pileup of paper cranes from past guests, leading me to believe they don't always vacuum well.

Definitely a personal problem as the 2 friends i was staying with were totally fine, just a warning if anyone else has the same issues.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kati715K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go811548, Receptionist at APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us here at APA HOTEL〈KYOTO GION〉EXCELLENT and your review. We are sorry
that we let you down and did not meet your expectations. We will try to improve the level of service to satisfy our customers. We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again.

Hosono Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Right in the heart of Gion with a Starbucks on the ground floor. Good size room with 2 single beds. Like most hotel chains the won't let you check in till 3 pm, but if you pay 1000 yen you can check in at 2 pm. I think this is a poor practice, if the room is available when you arrive you should be able to check in.

Room tip: Room 720 has a good view over the city.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-Herd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go811548, Receptionist at APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for staying with us here APA HOTEL〈Kyoto Gion EXCELLENT〉and your kind review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

However, we apologize for inconvenient caused by our rule of early-check-in.
Since room keepers have to clean up the rooms earlier if they are asked early-check-in, we must kindly all guests who want early-check-in to pay the price.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hosono Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews