We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$191
FindHotel
Trip.comUS$161
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
227
366
127
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
366
127
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway line hotel restaurants breakfast buffet including breakfast japanese standards spacious room conference station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Spacious rooms, professional staff, very quiet and conveniently located near the subway station. There is a café, a good bar and two three restaurants (none really vegetarian friendly). It is the best place if you need to stay close to the conference center.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2019

We had mixed feelings about the Grand Prince Hotel Kyoto, primarily due to a very unpleasant experience while booking in. Our booking had been completed through Booking.com, which the staff at the hotel initially refused to recognize. It took almost 45 minutes to complete check-in and this was done successfully only after we were able to show written documentation from Booking.com.

Breakfast was uninspired and repetitive. Cereal and bread choices were quite poor and cheeses were not offered. The room we had had no desk or office chair; no coffee maker and did not provide body lotion. These omissions were surprising in a 5-star venue.

Access to the lounge definitely made our stay more enjoyable and this should be checked before completing your booking.

Room tip: Our room facing the Convention Center was quiet, although I imagine that most rooms in this venue are quiet.
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ortho_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

What is good with this hotel ?
1. It is very close to the Congress center
2. The people working at the hotel are all very friendly and service minded and cares about you with umbrellas when it is raining etc
3. It has a couple of nice restaurants. We tried only the Japanese.

However some things are not good:
1. There is no safety box in the rooms. Must be fixed!
2. The coffee in the bar is extremely expensive. 1200 yen for a double expressly IS to expensive.
3. There was no water bottles in the room when we arrived. I would have appreciated that! Maybe with a note that more water etc is possible to buy at the 5 th floor. This cost little for the hotel but means a lot when arrive and tired and thirsty.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank LadyredOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Went for a conference in ICC Kyoto and we booked a room at Grand prince which was 5 mins walk away from it. The hotel is also about a 5 mins walk to the first station on the Karasuma line, which makes it easy to travel out to the Kyoto main station. The room is very spacious and big for a Japan hotel. Simply love the amenities in the room. The breakfast was ok, they have their Japanese style breakfast as well as some international cuisines. But do not expect that there's a wide spread of food to choose from. Overall I am very satisfied with the stay in Grand prince hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank xuanniex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

The only advantage to this hotel is its proximity to the conference center. Otherwise, the hotel is old and way past its prime. Rooms are fine and staff were friendly but it is difficult to recommend anything about this property. It takes at least 30 minutes by subway to get to sites in Kyoto.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews