We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, clean, and convenient. Well located...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The cherry blossoms in Kiyomizu Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
PF-Switze...
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, and convenient. Well located and in fun surroundings”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Traditional Japanese home conveniently located next to a subway station and within walking distance to the old town (Gion), parks and temples. The home is within a 200 meter long covered market which adds to the charm and fun of the site. The market is quiet and does not create any noticeable noise in the house. The home contains all of the necessary comforts and is very well kept and clean. The owner is amiable and was extremely helpful in giving us advice on visiting Kyoto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional house within a market and well situated.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drama_tra...
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location for family or close friends”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We went to Kyoto to ... well, does any one need a reason to go to Kyoto? but we timed our trip to coincide with the main floats during Gion festival.
The machiya manager e-mailed me days in advance for our arrival time. We advised her we would arrive at 9:30 and expect to store our luggage at the station until check in time. Whilst on the shinkansen, we were advised that we could drop the bags off as soon as we arrived and return at our leisure. This made it so much easier for us as the day was sunny and 35C. The same excellent service was extended to us on our last day.
We were given maps and advise of local events. Help and direction were only an e-mail, ext or phone call away.
The "river" at the end of the street was a great hit with the children to cool off, they all ditched their shoes and were wading in the stream. You walk past 2 temples on the way to Gion, have your choice of train or bus as both are very close. The townhouse is in a shopping strip so getting food is too easy.
The townhouse also comes with 2 foldable bikes to use but we never got round to it.

It's good for a large group who know each other well as the sliding doors are paper thin (literally) and all sounds carry through the house. We were in the bedroom downstairs and can hear all the children's footsteps above - lucky they go to bed before us.

For us, the house is a much better option than a hotel and the children loves the laptop and internet already in the house. WiFi is also available for our smart phones.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Reviewed 19 February 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The chance to stay in a traditional Japanese townhouse
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester UK
Reviewed 18 February 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 18 February 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: top class decor, cleanliness, central location
Liked least: nothing i disliked
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$320
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing