We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Little Whiskey Bar”

LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi
Ranked #478 of 15,363 Restaurants in Kyoto
Price range: US$2 - US$2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Description: 【5- minute walk from Keihan Sanjo station 】Fashionable stand-table BAR ・150 kinds of highballs ALL 500 yen! ★We provide 1000 kinds of drinks, ALL \500 tax inclusive. No service charge. Once in a while you might feel like drinking in daytime. Just come by at anytime you feel like, casually sip your drink. Walk along with your take-out drink. Enjoy any kind of drinks you like.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

This almost literal hole in the wall quickly became one of our favorite places to stop in for some pre and/or post dinner cocktails and snacks. Daiki is a wonderful host and won't hesitate to welcome you up to his bar. The selection of whiskies from around the world is astounding and slightly overwhelming. Because just about everything in the bar is 500 yen, it lends itself nicely to testing a lot of what would be leagues outside of one's typical budget. Don't miss out on this little gem and definitely ask about the local blends in the small casks off to the side, those were a real treat as well!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福尾, マネージャー at LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much.
Im so Happy when you feel happy for drink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing. Daiki is a fantastic bartender. The place is classy, but very well priced at ¥500(~$5) per drink. The drinks are also made with quality ingredients. I am not a huge whiskey fan, but my friends who were there with me were and some of the whiskeys are apparently very expensive.

Just watching them prepare the drinks is fun too. You can tell they know what they are doing.

If you are in Kyoto, I highly recommend this place. It's a hole in the wall so don't miss it!

Thank EmilyC5441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福尾, マネージャー at LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for your comment!!
We have not only whisky but also cocktail.
Everyone is suprised price and quality.
ARIGATO GOZAIMASITA♪

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This bar was a real surprise to me. First off they sell every drink for 500 yen (around 4,7 euro) including some very high end stuff like Blue Label or Black Label bottled in the 70s. That alone would earn some starts here. But the thing that really makes this bar work perfectly is the manager. He is a very kind and intelligent guy, and has a very good taste and knowledge of whiskies.
Highly recommended for everone!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andras N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福尾, マネージャー at LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

thank you very much.
I can enjoy everday thanks to yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

You need to try this hidden gem as quickly as possible. Just do it. If you like whiskey. Just. Go. I'm telling you.

They’re very friendly, and have a great selection of Japanese and all other whiskey from around the world - you can’t beat the prices either.

As someone based in Los Angeles, I've seen my fair share of good whiskey bars. This is the best in the world. Again, just go. You'll thank me.

Thank Jarrett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福尾, マネージャー at LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi,thank you very much!!
your memories in here,it's my memory.
whenever I'd like to meet you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

A cozy friendly bar with a very extensive menu of Japanese whisky.We tried the Yamazaki 10 yrs and it's definitely recommend. The most important,all drinks are with reasonably price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnsticeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
福尾, マネージャー at LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you very much.
I like comunicate with yours.
I hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to LiquorMuseum Kawaramachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing