We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unforgattable Memories of a Tourist

This is not a typical theatre you come, watch and leave. This theatre is all about experiences. I... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Dawn R
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
A great japanese experience

A great show and opportunity to meet a real Geisha. The staff was very friendly and open for a... read more

Reviewed 16 August 2018
Matej K
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kyoto
from US$27.30
More Info
from US$94.70
More Info
from US$59.80
More Info
from US$118.10
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

An intimate experience with the fascinating world of the Maiko. A green tea ceremony, 2 dances, pictures with the Maiko and a chance to talk with her and ask questions through an interpreter.Definitely a highlight in Kyoto of a Japanese tradition you only ever read about. A better understanding of this culture after our visit. MJ - Canada

1  Thank mjdgadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

A very pleasant thing to do learning about Maiko (trainee Geiko - the name for geisha in Kyoto). Experience a simple tea ceremony, watch her perform a dance and see the lovely Maiko up close. You can take a photo with her and ask her questions about her life, training, kimono, makeup and hair. Very nice venue, not crowded. You can pre-book online or take a chance on seats being available- check their website. A really great experience in Kyoto that is apart from the bustling tourist venues. Well worth going.

1  Thank edward5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

(大昔の)京都の大学時代に何度か観に行った「をどり」の他には、本物の芸舞妓さんにお目にかかる機会はありませんでしたが、こんなに舞妓さんを間近に拝見でき、舞妓さんに点てて頂いたお茶を頂き、お話まで出来るなんてまるで夢のようなひと時でした。ふく英さんはと~ってもお綺麗で、立礼のお点前の時、彼女の銀のかんざしが照明に当たってきらきら輝いているのを見ながら「今まで生きていて本当によかったわぁ」と思いました。「祇園小唄」の舞をかぶりつきで(笑)拝見できたのもよかったです。四番とも振付がそれぞれ違い、また祇園以外の方(こちらは宮川町です)も舞われるとは知りませんでした。他のスタッフの方々もとても丁寧かつフレンドリーでした。
私のような一般人にとっては、どなたかの御紹介でお茶屋さんに上がって舞妓さんにお目にかかるというのは不可能ですし、このような劇場を作って下さり本当に感謝しております。
As everyone says, this is superb, beyond descriptions! The beauty of Maiko (Fukuhana-san) was otherworldly, she was stunning. She did tea ceremony right in front of me, and the tea she had made was served to me...is this real? Am I allowed??
Her dance was mesmerising, too. I wondered how much she had to practice. There was a photo-opportunity, and she chatted with all of us one by one, amazing! Actually, I knew that she was younger than my own daughter and didn't know what to say as I was completely star-struck. Yes, this is a bit dear, but in my opinion, it was worth the fee; if you would like to be entertained by Maiko at tea house, it would cost you ten times more! It was a shame that there were only 7 of us to see her on that occasion...Please spread the word!

Thank Atsuko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maikotheater, お客様担当マネージャー at Maiko Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017
Google Translation

日本語、英語でのレビューをいただきありがとうございます。
また、応援のお手紙も届きました。
温かいメッセージに、とても感動いたしました。
スタッフ一同お礼申し上げます。
おっしゃいますように、舞妓さんとお会いできる、お話しできる機会というのは
なかなかございませんので、ぜひ多くの人に”舞妓シアター”を
知っていただけるよう努めてまいります。
ぜひまた日本にお越しの際は舞妓さんに会いにお立ち寄りくださいませ。
舞妓シアターにお越しいただきましたこと、改めてお礼申し上げます。
おおきに。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

This is an intimate venue, not what I was expecting, soooo much better. I was the only person there that afternoon so I had the pleasure of a 1:1 experience, how lucky! Great way to meet a maiko and learn about life as a mailo/geiko. Staff very friendly, had a tea ceremony, a few dances, a photo and the highlight the chance to interview the maiko! Fascinating! Thank you :)

Thank RVJ186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maikotheater, お客様担当マネージャー at Maiko Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that you could enjoy the performance.
Maiko-san and we are looking forward to see you again.
Okini(Thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

There is an opportunity to speak Maiko and direct .Because I think there is a need to study a little the Maiko

Thank kawazoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maikotheater, お客様担当マネージャー at Maiko Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your review.
Have you enjoyed the conversation with Maiko-san?
Please come again to see Maiko-san ! おおきに:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews