We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Travelocity
Agoda.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
Hotels.comUS$199
Expedia.comUS$199
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
48
46
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
46
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden authentic experience hotel room front desk staff kyoto station kita onsen shuttle sake arashiyama tatami toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2020

I was rarely satisfied, in terms of quality-price ratio, by the ryokan experiences I had in Kyoto, but this one is definitely outstanding. My room was in the new aisle of the hotel, equipped with a pool; it may not have the luster of ancient buildings but it is exquisitely decorated, super comfortable, and the staff will cater to your needs. The food was also delicious, extremely generous. Moreover, Nenribo is located in Kita-ku, a northern ward which is much less polluted by tourism than the south-eastern parts of the city, and not far away from Kinkakuji, Ryôan-ji and Arashiyama. In this respect, my only regret is that it is not possible to rent a bike from the hotel or a nearby shop, in order to visit the charming area around the hotel. I admit that it is quite hilly and not much customers would be interested into biking. A shuttle is also bringing you back to downtown areas when you check-out around 9.30 am.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Adventure43191789643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

We stayed here for 3 days at the end of December 2019 as a family of 4 adults.
My parents stayed in a bigger room while my brother and I stayed in a normal twin room.
The rooms come with Futon beds which are laid out for you on the Tatami.

The service was very good and the front desk staff do speak English well enough to communicate with each other. The Ryokan hotel is very clean and comfortable. We were not able to go out to the Japanese garden as it was winter and thus closed but you have full view of it from the lobby area. The Onsen (and there are at least 3 onsens per gender) was very nice and comfortable (they open in the morning and after 4pm but not in between). Each Japanese hotel room also had its own toilet and bathtub which is also very comfortable. One suggestion for improvement is that the Futon should come with one more layer of cushion otherwise it’s quite hard for those not so used to the Japanese futons.

Breakfast was a treat and the food was always very beautifully laid out. The Ryokan’s location is to the north-west of Kyoto. It’s not too accessible unless you have hired your own car (parking is free). There is also a mini-bus service that the Ryokan operates but we did not use it. There is a 7 Eleven about 1 minute’s drive away.

One criticism is that the wifi in the Ryokan is not strong at all and you often get cut off. They should consider installing a better wifi system. I also think that the Wifi network is possibly funded partly by the government rather than by the Ryokan itself. They should certainly consider installing their own wifi system which cannot be that expensive.

Dinner was quite expensive (about £45 equivalent) so we drove to the nearest station at Kita Oji which has a mall with several restaurants. If you want to take dinner at Ryokan Nenrinbo you’d need to tell the front desk 1 day in advance.

For 3 nights, the standard room cost us HK$4500 while the bigger garden view room cost us HK$6700 for the bigger room (all inclusive of breakfast).

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jezlinhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

“This place was incredible! It was nestled close to the mountains, very charming, great service, and the meals were delicious! We truly loved everything about this experience, and for the price it was exceptional! The deep bathtub next to the window, the view of the beautiful courtyard out our windows, the little kitchenette were all wonderful!
We went sightseeing the day we checked out and the Ryoken had our luggage delivered to Kyoto Station for a very reasonable fee! So helpful! We were able to spend the entire day exploring and then retrieve our luggage when we were ready to leave town.”

Room tip: Wonderful accommodation! Very cozy, comfortable, clean, and all amenities!
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019

We chose this Ryokan for it’s authenticity and great reviews and weren’t disappointed. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to help us (thank you Takahashi!) including choosing an excellent restaurant for dinner and then taking us there and also taking the time to map out our day (including all the train stations and lines) so that we could see everything we wanted to during our brief visit. The breakfast was fabulous - a genuine Japanese experience. And we loved our room. It was beautiful! And the futons were surprisingly comfortable. Would highly recommend - worth travelling out of the main hustle and bustle for.

Room tip: We were in room 607 which was lovely - nice and roomy for the 3 of us.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cruiser797162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed your hospitality and facilities. it is tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, very relaxing atmosphere, and your meals were great!! We thoroughly enjoyed the scenery as well.I will definitely come back again if I am back in Kyoto.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Relax48720130231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews