We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of Private Collections
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely collections and interesting building

I enjoyed several exhibitions at this Museum, without the crowds at the more famous museum. It is... read more

Reviewed 5 June 2017
MsEnergy
,
San Diego
Really enjoyable museum

We were put off by the interminable queues outside the neighbouring Pushkin, and settled on this... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2014
Electra88
,
London
Read all 46 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moscow
from US$35.50
More Info
from US$12.70
More Info
from US$18.40
More Info
from US$10.00
More Info
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
27
15
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
15
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I enjoyed several exhibitions at this Museum, without the crowds at the more famous museum. It is very close to the Pushkin, and therefore most convenient to visit both in the same day. A must for art lovers. I'm sorry it isn't more well publicized.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank MsEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were put off by the interminable queues outside the neighbouring Pushkin, and settled on this place. What an excellent decision! Great space, great displays with interesting and eclectic collections. We also wanted to see Russian paintings, which isn't what you'll get at the Pushkin.
The museum is relatively small and intimate. It's well set out & nicely lit. The galleries are over 3 floors with Russian art predominantly on the ground floor. Captions are in Russian & English, with lengthy bibliographies on the collectors. Nice to see sketches and unframed works too.
Staff were friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.
Current building works almost hide the entrance which is on the side street opposite the Pushkin.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This museum is often not on everyone's agenda and that is a shame. It is a museum of primarily of Russian Art of collections donated by private collectors since the 1980s. Amazingly, these collections survived the Soviet Era intact. Each collection is kept together and has a long description of the grantor on the wall entering the room. Most of these are in Russian and English however they sell an inexpensive guide book at the ticket booth.

It is not a large museum so it will be a short but pleasant visit. Of special note is the staff. They are friendly and will engage with you which is so, so refreshing after all the frowns I have encountered throughout the other museums both in Moscow and St. Petersburg.

Make the time after or before visiting the Pushkin.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank a_r_h_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This art museum is part of the art museum complex by the Pushkin Art Museum.It has a fine array of icons and Russian paintings in a cozy environment.Painters well-represented here when i visited it in early December were;Ilya Repin,Vasily Polenov,Ivan Letunov,Shishkin,and David Schterenberg.My favorite Russian painting was Ivan Letunov'"Russian Steambath".Their collection of Non-Russian paintings is very sketchy,although I saw fine paintings by Jan Bijlert("Granida")and Andreas Schelfhout.This art museum has a splendid collection of drawings by Albrecht Durer,Rembrandt,and Thomas Rowlandson.This art museum has their works of art labelled in English.It is worthwhile,even though the Pushkin Art Museum is clearly superior.

Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews