We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic Day

Edison is a great guide. Spent the day on a kayak in Lake Titicaca. Avoided the crowds and got a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
smariephillips
,
Los Angeles, California
FANTASTICLY FUN DAY

My boyfriend and I are in Peru for a month and were very hesitant about going to Lake Titicaca as... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2018
Nicola M
via mobile
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
39
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun hats life jackets border crossing next morning la paz titicaca lake tour guide uros islands edison maze edwin tiwanaku andes journey information peru lunch
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We used Andean Ways for our transfer from Puno to La Paz. Since the journey was a long road trip, Andean Ways made it a full day tour plus visit to sights and Tiwanaku. Edison came to our hotel the day before to fully briefed us on the border procedures and on what to expect. Everything was exceptionally smooth. Alex was our guide and Roberto was our driver on the Peru side. They took very good care of us. We had to switch vehicle and team on the Bolivia side with Juan Carlos as our guide and another Juan Carlos as other driver. Both teams were highly professional and caring and the vehicles are in great conditions. It turned what is supposed to be a boring road trip into another highlight of our visit to the two countries. We made the most of our time.
The price looks expensive but I check other operators. A private transfer without the tour are more or less the same so it is nice to add a bit extra to have the tours.

1  Thank leungccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We were unable to procure Bolivian visa's before we left the US on our trip to Peru so I contacted Edison at Andean Ways via email. We had very limited time in Puno - 2 nights but we Really wanted to see Tiwanaku & Puma Punku which are located across the border in Bolivia. Edison and our driver Roberto met us at the airport and then drove us to the Bolivian Consulate where the journey began in our quest for the Bolivian visa's. We arrived in Puno at 1PM and the consulate was due to close at 4PM, no worries we have 3 hours to fill out ALL the necessary paperwork. We went to an internet café because the documents had to be filled out digitally. Our Spanish wasn't that good so Edison had to do some translating for us. He and his team were indispensable in getting everything we needed on time and in the proper format. He even sent someone to the bank for us to deposit the money for the visa's while we continued creating and filling out all the paperwork that was required. We finally finished the paperwork and raced back to the consulate with 15 minutes to spare. We celebrated our success by taking a picture with consular officer and our Passports with Bolivian visa's. The next morning Roberto and our Peruvian guide met us at our hotel and then drove us to the Bolivian border crossing where we were handed off to our Bolivian guide & driver. We were assured the crossing would be easy, given we had ALL the right paperwork and we had each paid the $165 for the visa. Needless to say the crossing took over 1 1/2 hours, but we made thru. Our afternoon trip to Tiwanaku & Puma Punku was well worth the effort. These ruins are A Must See for everyone if you make it to Lake Titicaca. A nice lunch was provided and then we headed back to the border crossing for another hour long wait. We successfully made it back into Peru but it was getting late. On another positive note and with a Can Do attitude, our guide and driver took us on a dirt road at night and we were able to experience the Portal de Aramu Muru. Wow what an overall experience !!! Many thanks to Edison and his team at Andean Ways for all their experience and help in making this trip possible.

1  Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Made the arrangements in town to go kayaking with Edison. It was easy and only needed a deposit to hold our spot (we didn't have enough cash on us) A cab picked us up in the morning, and brought us to the sight we would leave from. Edison let us go at our pase, and was so friendly. We did want to stay long on an island, so he said we can leave when we choose. We learned tons. This is by far the best way to visit the islands. We lived it so much we have him a good tip.

Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

What an incredible day!!! Edison is the BEST!!! He met us at our hotel bright and early this morning with some kayaks and we set out on an adventure on Lake Titicaca. He took care in every little detail, from bottled water, to sun hats, which I am so thankful for. Edison had the best attitude and sense of humor, he kept it light and positive but also explained a bunch about the history and the culture. He gave us a VERY fair price and we felt really comfortable with him. He also connected us with an awesome tour of Taquile Island!! And then Edison, had a car waiting for us to take us back to the hotel at the end of the day. Everything was done with such care and detail, that you can only get from a small, local family business.

We really appreciated Edison and Andean Ways. We highly recommend!!!

1  Thank ChristopherChristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison G, Gerente at Andean Ways, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good Day to you!
Chris and Chio, I cannot thank you enough! I'm really happy to meet you!
It was really an amazing day because of you two.
Share the kayak passion with you is what I really love to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

I selected Andean Ways quite literally based on the reviews here on TA. I was still a wee bit skeptical as I had never been to the area before and was relying completely on reviews, and there are a fair amount of fraudulent operators out there....

TRUST THE REVIEWS HERE!! They are dead on! Edison and Andean Ways are fantastic, providing a level of customer service seldom seen anywhere anymore.

It was fairly short notice, and was initialy for Kayaking on Lago Titikaka, out to the Uros Islands, which was National Geographic level fantastic! but then I threw in a tour of the Sillisturi Funeral towers in the afternoon, and everything was arranged, and rearranged like it had been planned for months.

Edison came to the hotel early the morning of day 1, and gave a thorough
briefing of what to expect. Gave us Kayaking lessons on the spot, and with spray -skirts, life jackets, sun hats (wear them!) and very good, well maintained - Ok, New - (STABLE!) kayaks. Felt very safe and secure at all times.

He was very patient and we got to do everything as promised, despite our beginner status! Edison was also very knowledgeable of the history, giving a very informative talk once we got to the destination island. He also knew the language of the area (Uros' don't use Spanish) Oh yeah, Lunch was literally 5-star. Grilled trout, etc. Don't drink to much Coca Tea though or you WILL be awake at night!

The rest of the day went smoothly and we made the Tour bus to Sillisturi a few minutes late, but they waited. Great! At the end of the day, because the hotel was just out of town, so the tour bus did not drop there, Edison came into Puno and provided hotel transportation when we were ready.

I honestly cant say enough about Andean Ways. Everything was very professional, and at no time did I feel unsafe or disappointed. They have my trust and I will be, without hesitation, arranging everything through them next trip back.

A couple notes:
1. They use WhatsApp, which pretty much most of the world uses except the USA, so that would be useful to load. (Yes, there is service).

2. They are not a transportation company, but I would ask if they can arrange your other transportation needs such airport transfers to/From JULiaca, etc.

Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews