We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenny M

Wife of Avid Fisherman

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2023
My husband convinced me to go to Tropic Star for our 10th wedding anniversary. I was very hesitant because 1- I am not an "angler" 2- there is not a typical resort beach and 3- I was sure I'd get 1 million bug bites in the jungle.
Everything at Tropic Star exceeded my expectations (and I have stayed at many Four Seasons resorts). The room accommodations were oversized and very clean. We stayed in a Villa with a dining room, 2 bathrooms, outside Jungle shower and huge walk-in closet. The room was FANTASTIC!
The staff was incredibly helpful and truly makes you feel at home. Richie & Ross create a very fun atmosphere where the entire group staying at the Lodge gets to know each other and becomes friends over the week stay.
The food is amazing, you'll forget how you ever fed yourself before Tropic Star. Every meal is the best you've ever had -- and they'll even feed you tuna sashimi on the boat if you catch a Tuna. Incredible!
There is laundry service as often as needed and they'll even wash your shoes - which you may need after hiking to the beach through the jungle or getting fish blood on them!
The fishing days are pretty long - boats left the dock around 6:30am and returned at 4pm. We fished during a slow week, so our boat didn't catch any Sailfish or Marlin, but other boats did. We caught many Tuna and Mahi which were really fun and large fish to catch. Our largest Tuna was about 60lbs and largest Mahi about 80lbs. We were disappointed not to catch any billfish, but we had fun and stayed busy still catching other fish. The captains and mates are all incredibly skilled, knowledgeable and fun to fish with.
The boats are very comfortable and spacious, we upgraded to a Bertram with an AC cabin, which I recommend because it gets very hot in the afternoon and having a little relief was well worth staying comfortable and being able to fish the full day.
If your husband is trying to convince you to go to Tropic Star, I would highly recommend it. Even if you're not an avid angler, you'll have a great time. The fishing days are long, but full of excitement with monster fish (even aside from the billfish). The spa is wonderful, the hike to the secluded beach is a very cool experience. If you're ready to get off the beach and experience a true adventure, then you'll love Tropic Star Lodge! ...oh, and I didn't get any bug bites :)
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: The spa fills us quickly and a massage feels amazing after a long day of fishing, highly...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Dear J3407SNjennym,

Thank you for celebrating your 10th wedding anniversary with us! We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the most special part of Tropic Star Lodge -the comradery. We know that guests have high expectations when it comes to catching billfish here, and although it wasn’t in the cards for you, we’re thrilled that you had fun catching Yellowfin Tuna and giant Dorado. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your experience on the water and at the lodge. We hope your husband can “nudge” you to return to Tropic Star Lodge for that billfish!

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The beautiful Pool
Booking.com
  • eDreams
150.2 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
96.2 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
131.8 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
cool
Contact accommodation for availability.
102.0 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
150.2 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
76.1 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
130.7 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
125.7 km from Tropic Star Lodge
View more hotels in Pinas Bay
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
218
9
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
9
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropic star fish tuna panama city black marlin top notch bucket list my wife first class world class cubera snapper through customs jurassic park two days marlin bar take care local village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Amazing place with fantastic service. The food is great. The team makes you feel like family. The fishing is world class. We went as a family and cannot wait to come back. The attention to detail really shows. What a special place! Thank you to the entire team for a trip of a lifetime.

Room tip: Spend time in Panama City. It has a lot to offer.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear D1633DVjoeg,

Thank you for leaving your review of your recent trip to Tropic Star Lodge. We are glad to know it was an amazing experience. Thank you for mentioning our staff and the food. We'll give the compliments to the Chef and extend the thanks to the entire team. Congrats on all your special catches! We look forward to you returning for your next fishing adventure.

All the best wishes,

Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2023

This place is simply amazing!

Our experience at the lodge exceeded all our huge expectations we had build up before arrival. We knew that the fishing would be great but we could not imagine how good it really was. We cought dreamfishes and got to walk the plank several times. First ever pacif sails plus like 25 more of them during the week, Cubera snapper and so much more.

But the fishing is not everything. What really surpriset us was the amazing staff, every staff contributed to us feeling like we became part of their family and we could not be happier. Thank you all!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mangeflodmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Dear Mangeflodmark,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review of your fishing vacation to Tropic Star Lodge. Congratulations on your dream fishes! We love seeing you walk the plank to celebrate your first catches. We’re so glad to know that you had a great stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon because like you said, you’re now part of our jungle family.

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2023 via mobile

If you enjoy fishing, especially saltwater big game fishing, quit thinking about other places and contact TSL and book your trip. Every part of the entire experience of traveling to Panamá and getting to the lodge, fishing and returning back home has been thought out, meticulously planned and executed to perfection so many times-you need not worry about anything but bringing appropriate fishing clothes and shoes. Where else can you expect to catch anything from inshore species (roosterfish, African pompano, wahoo, cuberas) along with the offshore species ( Marlin, sailfish, dorado, tuna) on the same or back to back days. Accommodations are outstanding, food is exceptional and the staff does an amazing job taking care of you during your stay.

Room tip: Come when you can but understand that during black Marlin season (Jan & Feb) it is no secret where the best place in the world to be is
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BHMBigDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Dear BHMBigDawg,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review of your recent trip to Tropic Star Lodge. We strive to ensure every part of the experience is effortless so you can sit back and relax from the time you step of the plane in Panama City. The diverse fishery is awesome to experience and it’s one of the aspects of fishing here we’re very proud of. Thank you for mentioning our accommodation, food, and our passionate staff. We hope to see you back to Tropic Star Lodge soon for your next fishing adventure!

All the best wishes,
Mallory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Another Fantastic Visit to Tropic Star Lodge!!!
My Fishing buddy and I caught 11 Marlin, including one Black Marlin and 10 Blue Marlin, 10 Pacific Sailfish and several Yellowfin Tuna and Big Dorado, last week at Tropic Star. We got a double hook up on Marlin, and for the first time for us, One Marlin was a Black Marlin and the other was a Blue Marlin. That was the second Double Hook up on Marlin for us, at Tropic Star.

Tropic Star Staff always impress with their attention to customer needs and excellent service.
The recently upgraded accommodations are world class in every way.
Their restaurants and food service are better than most 5 star restaurants.
Their Service, as always was the Best. I had an injured left foot mobility challenge this visit and they were able to accommodate me with a very much appreciated scooter to shorten my walking distances.

YES!!! we will be returning to Tropic Star Lodge Again!!!!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank georgec528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2023

Dear georgec528,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Tropic Star lodge. We’re so happy to know it was a fantastic visit for you and your fishing buddy. Congratulations on your exciting double hook-up with a Blue and Black Marlin. What a day! Thank you for also mentioning our accommodation, food, and our passionate staff. We’ll be sure to pass along the compliments. It’s always such a pleasure having you visit and we look forward to seeing you back at Tropic Star Lodge soon.

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2023

My daughter and I had a fantastic time at TSL.
As always, the main event is the fishing.
The captain and mate were friendly, professional, with excellent equipment.
And lots of enthusiasm.
The lodge itself continues to shine with respect to food, services, rooms, attention to details,
And individual requests.
My daughter and I have been lucky to fish many places and TSL ranks first.
We already booked to return in a year 😊.

Room tip: It is expensive but worth the cost
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mmadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

Dear mmadoc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad that you experienced another fantastic fishing trip with your daughter to Tropic Star Lodge. We look forward to seeing you both next year for your return trip!

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews