We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mmadoc
Santa Rosa, California

TSL always delivers

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Aug 2023
My daughter and I had a fantastic time at TSL.
As always, the main event is the fishing.
The captain and mate were friendly, professional, with excellent equipment.
And lots of enthusiasm.
The lodge itself continues to shine with respect to food, services, rooms, attention to details,
And individual requests.
My daughter and I have been lucky to fish many places and TSL ranks first.
We already booked to return in a year 😊.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: It is expensive but worth the cost
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Dear mmadoc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad that you experienced another fantastic fishing trip with your daughter to Tropic Star Lodge. We look forward to seeing you both next year for your return trip!

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
96.2 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
131.8 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
cool
Contact accommodation for availability.
102.0 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
150.2 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
131.7 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
76.1 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
130.7 km from Tropic Star Lodge
Contact accommodation for availability.
125.7 km from Tropic Star Lodge
View more hotels in Pinas Bay
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
218
9
5
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
9
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropic star fish tuna panama city black marlin top notch bucket list my wife first class world class cubera snapper through customs jurassic park two days marlin bar take care local village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2023

I had an incredible time at the Tropic Star Lodge in Panama. The location is truly breathtaking, surrounded by pristine nature that provides a perfect backdrop for a relaxing getaway. The top-class facilities exceeded my expectations, offering both comfort and luxury.

The food and beverages were delightful, with a range of options that satisfied my palate. What stood out the most was the impeccable and friendly service I received from the staff. Richard, Ross, Paterson, and staff went above and beyond to ensure that my stay was enjoyable and memorable.

The fishing experience is definitely the highlight of the Tropic Star Lodge. The opportunity to engage in good fishing activities in such a stunning environment was truly remarkable, both inshore as offshore. Multiple species to target over here.
The lodge's commitment to preserving the natural beauty of the area while offering excellent fishing experiences is truly commendable.

If you're a nature lover and enjoy good fishing, the Tropic Star Lodge is an ideal destination. The combination of exceptional service, stunning scenery, and great fishing opportunities make it a must-visit place for those seeking an unforgettable adventure.

Thanks to Marlin Magazine, Jen, for the great event.

I will definitely return…

Room tip: Avoid the rainy season
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Dear 558edisonr,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to write about your adventure with Marlin Magazine’s Marlin University. It was such a fun fishy group to be part of. We are happy to know that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations. We agree that our unique location does provide a stunning backdrop while fishing offshore or inshore. Thanks so much again and we look forward to seeing you return soon.

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Tropic Star Lodge is a first class operation for fishing and accommodations. This was my wife's first off-shore fishing trip and she is hooked. We are already planning the next trip, all due to the TSL hospitality from the arrival at the Panama airport to departing a week later they left no details out to assure we had the best experience possible.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Dear A7952AAaaronh,

It was such a pleasure hosting you at Tropic Star Lodge for your 10-year anniversary trip. Offshore fishing is slightly addictive if we do say so ourselves. Thank you for spending your anniversary with us and taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you both return to Tropic Star Lodge soon!

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Well, that’s a wrap. We caught (and released) one Blue Marlin, 12 sailfish, two Rooster Fish, one female Dorado (Mahi Mahi) and two Snapper fish. We caught and kept 12 Yellowfin Tuna and one male Dorado. Whew! What a great week.

Gentlemen, this is a great way to spend an anniversary. Sure, she might protest a little at first (ask me how I know). But Tropic Star Lodge is a first class operation with impeccable service and world class accommodations. And the food!! Awesome everything. Consider the jungles of Panama for your next adventure.

Room tip: All boats and crew are excellent. You WILL catch fish, guaranteed!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kellypalmersemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

Dear kellypalmersemail,

We’re very happy to know that your trip to Tropic Star Lodge was the best anniversary trip ever! Congratulations on that long list of catches -what a great week indeed. We are pleased that our service, accommodations, and food were just as awesome as the fishing. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for visiting us for your anniversary.

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2023

This was my second time to visit Tropic Star Lodge. I went last summer with one of my two sons. This time, I took both for a high school graduation gift. The fishing was fantastic as usual. The first catch was a blue marlin. I'm not sure how you beat that. However, it's the service that makes Tropic Star truly stand out. Richard, Ross, Patterson and the rest of the staff at Tropic Star are top notch. The food is great and plentiful and the furnishings are incredibly comfortable, particularly when you consider that you are 100 miles from the nearest road. We will definitely return as soon as we are able.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Dear I5404Ljasonk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your trip to Tropic Star Lodge. We’re happy to hear it was another great experience for you and your sons. What an epic graduation gift. We will be sure to extend the compliments to our staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2023

The fishing is AMAZING, the food is AMAZING and the service is OFF THE CHARTS!!

Our Captain Flaco and Mate Wiemer went out of their way to ensure we were catching tons of fish and were comfortable. Weimer made sashimi multiple days and also went out of his way to make homemade dorado ceviche! Amazing!! Weimer also got drenched trying to help my son get a photo with a tuna he caught. He went out of his way, selflessly, to make our experience the best.

Patterson went out of his way to make juice for my son to take on the boat each day and made sure he liked it before sending it to the boat! Every morning, Patterson’s smiling face greets you at your door with the breakfast drink of your choice. It really makes an impression!

Richard went out of his way to ensure my son had flags for each of the fish he caught and Richard even gave his own flags to my son. It was incredibly generous and another example of how the Tropic Star staff go above and beyond to ensure you have an incredible experience!

Ross made a special effort to have dinner with our small group and it was a highlight of our trip.

Paola made a special effort to help us plan a return trip!

Boris made our first trip seamless and remarkable.

Matilda is a world class photographer and we highly recommend hiring her and bringing her on your boat!

We also loved seeing Marvin and Noel and Edgar and many others who served each guest with genuine care, every day and every interaction.

These are just a few examples but the entire staff truly cares about you!

We can’t wait to visit again next year!!

Thanks to all the TSL staff!

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Dear CFA2009,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent trip to Tropic Star Lodge. We’re thrilled that you and your son had an amazing time. Thank you for mentioning the staff by name who made your trip special for you. Congratulations on all your spectacular catches! Nothing better than fresh ceviche and sashimi on the boat. We're glad that the talented Matilda was behind the lens to capture your memories of your father-son trip. We can’t wait to see you next year!

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews