We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$83
TravelocityUS$66
TripadvisorUS$66
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
83
89
49
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
89
49
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel the hotel is clean breakfast was included casino barbecue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Don't let my title mislead you, the Gran Hotel National is amazingly a trip.....a trip back in time....some of it the 40's, some of it the 60's, but all of it totally worthwhile and and exceptional value.
The city of David, not so much.
I loved the old world ambiance at this hotel. The hotel is shaped like a large "U", with an outside bar, pool and cabanas on one side of the pool, a large gym is opposite the hotel facing the pool. You can envision scarface and that famous line about "....my little friend"....I loved this place.

Room tip: we had a room overlooking the street and there was a large festival happening, it was great.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank darellc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile67394833932, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

We are very proud to know that your stay is everything you expected and more. The Grand National Hotel is specially designed for guests to enjoy their entire stay.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed our gym that has a variety of modern and special exercise machines. We hope to have your visit again and if you return to the city do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Excited about staying there as it is a historic hotel. Took the upper floor suite. Loved the lobby and looking at the historic pictures on the wall. Disappointed in the suite though. Could have been so much better.
Spent a decent amount of money for the room. Wish I would have downgraded (less expensive room).
Doors were pretty cool but for a historic hotel they need to get rid of the magnetic cards. Go back to a keyed door.
Breakfast was included.
Would I go go back? No I would not.
The hotel is distance from the central plaza. Only transportation I had were my feet.
Casino though was right across the street if your into that.

Room tip: Go for a less expensive room. I had the suite for a night and could have had the same historical hotel feel with a lesser graded room.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FortWorthJeffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile67394833932, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Magnetic keys is the best control for your security, since with the magnetic key you identify people who enter and leave the rooms, so the magnetic keys are used 95% in hotels in the world.
The Gran Hotel Nacional is located in the central and banking area of the city of David, we are located just two blocks from the Cervantes Park and in a circle no larger than 1 km we can find supermarkets, restaurants, banks, movie theater, library, casino, pharmacy, clothing stores, shoe stores, coffee shop, car rental agencies, bus stop and the constant passage of taxis, etc.
It was a pleasure to have him as our guest, we would like to have your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Stayed there overnight waiting for a flight. Rooms are a great deal. Come with a very nice breakfast buffet. The coffee that came with the buffet was outstanding. Everything in the room worked well, the shuttle was on time and the price for the room was very affordable

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Arbitus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile67394833932, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Dear traveler, thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about our hotel.
The Gran Hotel Nacional family is proud that you have had an excellent day and that everything has been to your satisfaction.
We wait for you in a next visit, greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

we went to the Gran Hotel Nacional whit all the family
the hotel was very clean, excellent staff, they try a lot to make us feel at home
we were offer a upgrade to a pool room
the restaurante is amazing, the pizza is the best!!
we would stay here again!!

Room tip: the best room are located whit balcony to the pool
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tamyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Hotel Naci... G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent comments, we are happy to have met your expectations and that our staff made you feel at home.
We hope soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night. Clean room, good staff. I was waiting for 10 minutes, but hot water never flew. Food was good enough. Air condition was fine. So much space in the room. Non smokers only. Can recommend for short stay only.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank uladzimirp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Hotel Naci... G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Nacional, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

We appreciate the time taken to tell us about your stay, since your opinion is very important to us.
I regret what happened with regard to hot water, I will personally verify and improve this situation, since the main thing is the comfort of our dear guests.
We hope you visit us again and we will show you our improvement.
regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews