We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
3
10
14
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
10
14
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Great wifi - thank you! And the grounds are beautiful with plenty of nooks and crannies to sit and relax. The rooms are in need of some serious TLC so if you are coming for any romantic reason....well, move right along because the beds were not made for rocking! They were barely made for sleeping. I had terrible water pressure and barely there hot water but the room provided a place to lay my head and a base from which to explore the cloud forests.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

After driving all the way through the lovely town of Boquete and into its surrounding mountains, we decided to stay. We swung back to the beginning of town on the main road to the Hotel Fundadores, with no previous reservation. There was secure parking inside a gated yard. We were given a room well back in the lovely structure, crossing the river that runs through it on a whimsical bridge. While acceptable for cleanliness, we soon found that the room could not block out the florescent lights that stayed on outside the windows all night, which made it feel like perpetual dawn. Worse, the sheets did not quite fit the double bed, and we ended up sleeping on a bare mattress with a clump of bedding in the middle. No restaurant at the moment – not a problem, as many wonderful eateries line the main road, some just next door. The kitchy, fun architecture and fantastic gardens could almost compensate for the lack of restful sleep, but not quite.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

We arrived late at night and they assisted us in a very polite manner. Nice and spacious room. Common areas are fully covered with nature, even a river go through the facility. (See photos below). Close to anything in Boquete I personally recommend this hotel for a family and or friends trip.

Room tip: Try to access the tower
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jero420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

I am finding it difficult to phrase an opinion, the hotel left little impression. The room was basic but it was OK for a few nights and both the TV and wifi (mostly) worked. Personally I would have expected a little more for the money paid although I did not pay the full advertised rate. Perhaps I have not made sufficiant allowance for the costs of Boquette. Another problem, there is a stream running through the property and I can see how this could be calming and provide a pleasent setting. Unfortunately it had been raining heavily and the stream was running fast making it sound as if it was permanently pouring with rain when in truth it only did this some of the time!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blank70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fundadores ("The Founders", since they were the first Boquete hotel) is conveniently located on the main road into town, a short distance from the town's center. A small river runs through the property, making the ambience here pretty spectacular. The common areas have plenty of secluded space along the river's edge (as well as a pool table). You feel like you're in the middle of the forest even though you're really close to town. It's exceptionally quiet given that it's so close to so much activity, and at night the rushing river lulls you to sleep.

It's a no-frills hotel, but clean and with all the necessities and friendly, competent staff. In its heyday it was probably a fancy top spot. There are some popular expat hangouts within about a block, and the beautiful Boquete library as well as a gym are a couple of blocks in the other direction. Also if you happen to need a haircut, color, or mani-pedi, there's a great beauty shop next door run by a wonderful woman who speaks excellent English and serves much of the expat community here.

I'd definitely go back, owing to its atmosphere, location, and competent staff.

Room tip: Away from the street will yield more river and less city noise.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vamosalaplaya333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews