We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice house and only a short five minute walk from...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
ILoveFerm...
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice house and only a short five minute walk from the Beach/Medina. Recommended!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Dar Doughri for two weeks, and enjoyed our stay. The house has four bedrooms and five toilets, so eight people can comfortably stay there with plenty of room. The roof terrace was also a pleasant way to spend time in the morning before heading to the beach (also a five minute walk away.) If you wish, you can have the gem of a housekeeper, Miss Karima cook your meals. This was definitely the best party of our stay, as her cooking is beyond delicious! For about £30, we enjoyed a home cooked meal consisting of Beef Tanjia, Lamb with Onion and Raisin, Kefta with free range eggs, Lamb with Vegetables Couscous and Pastilla with Chicken and Almonds, along with fresh bread, salad and fruit for six people. Needless to say, we asked Miss Karima back several times and chose many different dishes which were all fantastic! Would definitely consider returning again... recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Karima is indeed a fabulous cook and can tempt even the most cautious eater into tasting her delicious tagines. Karima is very willing to take our guests with her to the market to buy the ingredients and offers informal cooking lessons so our guests can take her cooking skills home with them. The cooker, serving dishes and many of the cooking utensils have been upgraded this year so there will be many more delicious tagines being produced in Dar Doughri.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.......................Perfect”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dar Doughri is a friendly, welcoming house that Fiona has furnished with excellent taste, love and care. It’s impossible to stand in the kitchen looking into the lounge without a contented smile creeping onto your face. Difficult not to repeat all the positive comments from the reviews below, but I won’t, except to say that Fouad and Karima are super.

The house is in a community next to the medina walls. There are two or three shops in every street, all keen for your custom at ‘local’ prices. Using schoolboy french (O level, failed), a smile and a handshake we were greeted like long lost friends each time we returned for our next purchase.

Restaurant la clé de voûte was our favourite, you’ll probably need to book.

Would we go back ? ………….yes…....in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the roof terrace
Liked least: The oven....which has now been replaced.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and kind comments. Karima and Fouad take great pleasure in making sure all our guests have a wonderful stay and the local community around Dar Doughri have always been friendly and welcoming. The local shopkeepers are very happy to serve our guests and will offer local prices....even if you cant speak the language you will be able to get by with a smile and a gesture!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlvinaGla...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great house fabulous location”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Dar Doughri is a beautiful house in an excellent location. We had a wonderful 2 weeks there and particularly enjoyed the roof terrace. Fiona the owner was extremely helpful and booking was made very simple as was arranging transfers. Fouad the house manager and Karima the housekeeper looked after us really well. Karima's cooking is excellent and Fuoad organises great trips.

The only (slight) negative is in the kitchen facilities. I love to cook when on holiday and the small oven really needs to be replaced and the kitchen given a wee bit of a face lift! if you're not into cooking on holiday, this wont bother you. Other than that small niggle, I would not hesitate to recommend Dar Doughri to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace and location
Liked least: The kitchen facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We have taken your advice and the cooking facilities have been given an upgrade. There is a new cooker in Dar Doughri's kitchen with new crockery and pots and pans. Fouad will always replace anything that a guest notices is broken and purchase anything that is needed, and we always appreciate any feedback as to how we can improve the facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanH99
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look no further for perfect stay in Essaouria”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a wonderful house, easy booking excellent communication with owner and everything just as described. The owners arranged a transfer from Marrakech and everything was done according to plan.
We spent two weeks here and enjoyed lovely breakfasts and dinners prepared by the housekeeper for a really reasonable price. The house itself is beautifully decorated, cool in the heat of summer and very relaxing several different floors each with their own bedroom and bathrooms so if you are a large family or group of friends there is plenty of space and privacy. The roof terrace is a great place to eat or relax. The house is a short walk from both medina and beach but not in the old part of the town so a little quieter as far as location is concerned and also we felt very safe. I spent a long time choosing accommodation in Essaouria and personally do not feel you could get any better and excellent value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you had a wonderful time. We have made some small improvements in 2015. There is now a new much larger television in the salon. We have purchased some fresh new linen and pillows to ensure everyone has a comfortable nights sleep and the roof terrace is now fully lit with new lighting so our guests can enjoy dinner and relaxing on the roof terrace into the evening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia M
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful,comfortable and very well located apartment.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was very easy to book this apartment.The owner was very friendly and approachable.Everything was as we arranged,including the airport pickup. On our apartment we've had a warm welcome and a dinner waiting for us,as arranged.
The apartment is very neat and tidy and very closely located to the centre. There is a lovely balcony overlooking the town,t's a great place to eat and relax.
This was our second time round in this apartment and no doubt we will be returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review in 2014. We look forward to seeing you for your third visit in 2015 and I am sure you will enjoy some improvements we have made to make sure our guests continue to return to Dar Doughri. Karima and Fouad will always provide their usual fabulous service to all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing