We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly reccomended,spacious and in a great...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
sibsey
wales
2 reviews
“Highly reccomended,spacious and in a great location”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Met by Faoud the caretaker who was very helpful about the apartment and area but Marrisa the house keeper was wonderful, her home cooking plentiful and delicious highly reccomended. The location is perfect just outside the madina walls 3 minutes walk and the beach 10 minutes.The apartment is spacios clean and well equiped with tv and video, books and games and a lovely private roof top terrace.The town of Essaouira is beautiful too a lot less hassle unlike other towns and cities in Morroco and better laid out much easier to find your way around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,space and house keepers cooked meals
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobLisle...
Lisle-sur-Tarn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Essaouira”
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 6 nights and would have stayed longer if it had been available. I can say in summary that we were very pleased with every aspect of Dar Doughri. The accommodation was of a good standard and the price was reasonable taking this into account. I especially appreciated the excellent communication and attention to detail by the owner. Being somewhat independent we didn’t make much use of Fouad’s services but he was always available if we needed him but the star of the show was definitely Karima. She cooked breakfast a few times and dinner twice and it was fabulous – and all done effortlessly and with a cheery smile. Close to the medina and within walking distance of the beach we were near the heart of the town but still able to retreat to the roof terrace when we just wanted to chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability to escape to the roof terrace when we needed a bit of peace and quiet!
Liked least: Noisy seagulls!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterjfin...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The two of us stayed at Dar Doughri for 8 days at the end of February, and we were pleased with our choice. Even in February the weather was fantastic. We had sunshine for the entire day, every day. The air was clean, and it was lovely being outside from 10.00am to 6.30pm. This was our first time in Morocco. Essaouira is a town of about 25,000 people, with a very Moroccan atmosphere. There seemed to be relatively few tourists, of which around 90% were French. Moroccans spend much of their time outside, there are people everywhere during the evenings, and the house felt both alive and a retreat from this atmosphere of happy children, football matches,and chatting. The house is situated close to the medina, which is ideal. To have been within the medina would feel like living in a shopping precinct - way too busy. It's also only a few minutes' walk to the seafront. The town is known for its wind, but this helps to keep it at a comfortable temperature, and it was often calm and still for much of the day, especially in the mornings. The house has 4 storeys, with 5 bathrooms, 4 bedrooms, a light spacious lounge and a fantastic roof terrace, which we used loads as it remained sheltered and secluded at all times. Both the house manager, house keeper and Fiona the English owner, were very helpful. One issue we did have was around car hire which I wouldn't bother with in future. Especially in cities, but also in the towns, the traffic can go in all directions so you have to keep very alert. To add to this, motorbikes, mopeds , cyclists and horse and carts rarely have lights on them at night!!!! Car hire is notably more expensive than Europe, the insurance excess is very high, so it seems better to either take out the optional additional insurances for peace of mind, or more preferably, hire a car locally for just a couple of days. I hope that's helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace, spaciousness and house staff
Liked least: Sofas could be more comfy.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Dar Doughri and Essaouira. Driving in Morocco is always a challenge and bumps and scrapes are common place. There is some relief in the knoweldge that the speed limits are very low and the local police enforce them with heavy fines. The drivers and cars we use to tranfer our guests, from all over Morocco to Dar Doughri and on local site-seeing trips, are all vetted by our House Manager and have an excellent safety record leaving our guests confident of a relaxed experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pip B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Villa in Fantastic Location and Briliant Staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Appartment has generous rooms, with a kitchen sufficient for self catering (not that I reccomend - see below), large sitting room with sofas, fire, TV, DVD player and a lovely roof terrace on which we enjoyed breakfast every morning.

Short walking distance from walled city with local markets, and to beach. Markets were varied and intersting without the hassle we experienced in Marrakesh. On beach we enjoyed camel riding and quad biking which were both excellent fun. Also on offer were horse rides, kite surfing and wind surfing(amongst others I'm sure!).

The best part of the house are the two staff Fouad and Karima. Foad is there to arrange anything you need from transfers, bookings or activities and is exceptionaly helpful and caring. Karima cooked us some lovely evening meals and breakfast every day which was both delicious and very reasonably priced!

All in all - much reccomended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Dar Doughri. Karimas cooking, of local dishes from fresh produce purchased in the market each morning, is exceptional. There are cookery "schools" opening in Essaouira where visitors can enjoy learning how to prepare moroccan cuisine and wow their friends back home with delicious dishes. Many guests also enjoy tagging along with Karima while she haggles for her purchases in the market and watching her skillfully prepare their evening meal. I will pass on your kind comments to both Fouad and Karima.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankandK...
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3rd visit to Dar Doughri”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our 3rd stay at Dar Doughri. Ideally situated just 5 minutes walk to the Medina and 10 minutes to the Beach. Comfortable, well equipped living area incl wi fi. Adjacent kitchen area. Choice of 4 bedrooms, all well equipped. Lovely roof top terrace for sunbathing and eating - 4th floor and higher than surrounding properties so total privacy. Karima (housemaid / cook) provides a good breakfast on the terrace. She will also cook meals on request and the quality is top class although being surrounded by numerous restuarants within easy walking distance we usually only eat in as a treat on the last day of our stay. Would also mention Fouad, the house manager. Very discreet but always just a phone call away should you need advice. He knows the area very well indeed and will arrange trips and excursions at 'local' prices. Nearly forgot to mention that Fiona / Fouad are happy to arrange collection and return from the airport.

Choice of small supermarkets within walking distance

If like us you enjoy a beer or two in the afternoon, thoroughly recommend the bar at the Chalet de Plage. Sit on the terrace watching the boats enter the harbour or the daily football matches being played on the beach directly in front of you.

To many good restuarants to mention in the area. Be guided by the Trip Avdvisor restuarant guide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Minutes from Medina / Beach but away from the hustle and bustle
Liked least: No issues at all
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing