We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itty bitty restaurant with big hearted food”
Review of Restaurant Khmissa

Restaurant Khmissa
Ranked #4 of 307 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Description: Restaurant marocain traditionnel propose carte varié et des menus de jour pas chère préparé avec des produits locaux et bio .
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant marocain traditionnel propose carte varié et des menus de jour pas chère préparé avec des produits locaux et bio .
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Wonderful tasty wholesome food at a reasonable price. This is probably the smallest restaurant we have eaten in and certainly has the most compact kitchen. What it produces however is just great.
This is the antithesis of fast food. Thank heavens for that.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank ksams2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMAE ZIRARI, Propriétaire at Restaurant Khmissa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021
Google Translation

Merci pour ce merveilleux commentaire vous serez toujours les bienvenus à bientôt inchalah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

We had a blast every time we went to Khmissa! The food is delicious and the people working there are wonderful. Couldn’t get enough of their zaalouk and tajines ! Can’t wait to go back !

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 389ancam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

First time visiting Essaouria, I wasn’t sure where to go for food so I went on trip advisor and this restaurant came up. I visited the restaurant today for lunch with my family and absolutely loved it from start to finish. We were welcomed immediately and it instantly felt like a home away from home!

The food was delicious and was made with so much love! The taste is so authentic (and believe me, I am originally Moroccan so I know what it should taste like and it 100% exceeded my expectations). I was also worried about eating out as I do have a sensitive stomach but the food is organic and fresh so I had no problems.

If you’re looking for somewhere clean and hygienic to eat fresh authentic Moroccan food, don’t think twice! I will definitely return and cannot recommend this place enough. The restaurant is so instagramable (if that’s even a word?!) and is so beautiful full of traditional artistic pictures.

Thank you to the restaurant owners for making our time extra special!

Love S, from London, UK

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank sarahaY1277OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMAE ZIRARI, Propriétaire at Restaurant Khmissa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021
Google Translation

Bonjour merci infiniment c'est l'un des commentaires qui me touche vraiment au coeur et qui me donne envie de continuer merci beaucoup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

Authentic small restaurant, with very tasty food. It is my third visit in 3 days and I will come back tomorrow. I tried 4 other restaurants and no one could beat the food of Khmissa.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank loicd511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASMAE ZIRARI, Propriétaire at Restaurant Khmissa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021
Google Translation

Merci infiniment pour ce jolie commentaire bienvenue chez khmissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

My husband and I visited Khmissa during our stay in Essouira. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. Every dish we ordered was superb! The chef, Asmae, was a joy to speak to! The staff were kind and very personable. Khmissa is a hidden gem and worth visiting. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Traveler733633
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Khmissa also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Safi
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Safi
Essaouira, Marrakech-Safi
 

Been to Restaurant Khmissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.