We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,824)
Filter reviews
3,824 results
Traveller rating
2,714
847
190
48
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,714
847
190
48
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la pirogue beach bar blue bar sister hotel sugar beach coconut cafe sugar beach next door mini golf our honeymoon palm trees half board paul et virginie all inclusive package beautiful beach standard room kids club crazy golf green star
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 3,824 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had a great 2 weeks at La Pirogue. The resort has been refurbished which adds to the overall luxurious feel. Apart from the fantastic beaches the thing that hits you most is the beautiful gardens, the upkeep of the gardens is impressive, well done to the gardeners.
The food and the variety was outstanding. The catering staff responded to my request for more vegetarian options which I was very grateful for, thanks to the food and beverage manager for facilitating this for me. (Sorry, I have forgotten his name)
Special mention to the on staff bakers, the bread and the range of bread products was amazing. No shortage of beautifully prepared desserts.
Of course what really makes your holiday is the lovely staff who are very kind and friendly, special mention goes to: Rajesh, Clement, Suresh and Kamla in the restaurant.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SueDuk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear SueDuk1234,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Mauritius and for rating us on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you had an excellent stay and valued mostly the new Bohemian concept as well as the very attentive and helpful staff. Your grateful comments on the team member’s professionalism and friendliness will serve as a great motivator to continue striving for service excellence.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic stay at La Pirogue Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Just to let you guys know that the staff is incredible!
Very courteous and always friendly. We´ve been there on our honeymoon, had our almost 2 year old girl with us and all of the staff treated her like a queen!
If you visit with your kids look out for Prayag, he´s the one ;)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Felix B,

We are truly delighted to read that we have met your expectations and would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciations on the hotel’s services and facilities.

I would also like to mention that we do have a Sun Kids Club where activities and its professional team caters for kids of age 2 to 11 and do also provide the babysitting facilities.

Prayag will be no doubt glad to know that his hospitality was well appreciated.

It has been an immense pleasure for the whole team to have hosted you and your little 2 years old queen and we look forward of welcoming you back soon to our Boho Chic Resort.

Warm regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This is a lovely resort. The setting alongside the lagoon with views of the mountains is wonderful. All of the staff, not just the front of house bar and food staff, were friendly and delivered superb service. The food was excellent and there was more than enough variety over a 10 day stay.

The only complaint was that it was impossible to escape the synthesised music that was more suited to an Ibiza nightclub than a quality Mauritian resort. Even at the bar alongside the lagoon it was not possible to have a quiet conversation or just sit quietly admiring the amazing scenery and enjoying a drink without the blare of music suited to a generation that were largely absent from La Pirogue. What happened to 'The sound of silence'?

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank manorfarmnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017


Dear Manorfarmnf,

Thanks for your comments posted online. We are glad to read that overall it has been a nice stay for you at the Resort and that many of our facilities were well appreciated.

However, we have taken note of your comments concerning the music and shall surely review your thoughts with the Entertainment Manager so as to improve on this service.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,

Thanks and kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff.
The grounds are clean and well looked after.
The cabins are spacious. Well renovated last year. Huge bathroom with shower and bathtub.
Food is as expected in a resort like this.
We opted for the all inclusive, but the half board option looks ok also.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robrecht V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Robrecht V,

We would also like to thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and exquisite facilities. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery for which La Pirogue is renowned for, and we are delighted that we have exceeded your expectancies.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Resort.

Warm Regards,

Andrew Slome,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Lovely hotel and accommodation, beautiful grounds, perfect location, have read previous reviews and the drinks here are very expensive, you are limited as no bars within easy walking distance, beach BBQ extortionate, about 50 pound per person, not justified, seating area in reception not suitable for elderly as very low, music in bar area aimed at the very young, sadly, and nobody's fault the weather a big let down, very warm but only 2 days of sunshine in a fortnight, according to a local the summer really doesn't kick in till November, not a lot to do in this area if weather no good, no glass bottom boats which was one of the things we wanted to do, not sure would visit this resort again due to lack of local activities but can't fault the actual hotel, in my opinion the prices need to be looked at as this will put people of coming to this beautiful island.

Room Tip: All rooms are a walk away from amenities, but if you are mobile it doesn't matter
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yve o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at La Pirogue Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Yve O,
Thanks for leaving a comment on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
We understand how upsetting it was to encounter inconveniences during your stay at the Resort and sincerely apologize for the discomfort it caused.

Our beverage prices would certainly be higher bearing in mind that we are a 4 star hotel and do charge accordingly. Beverage pricing is however frequently reviewed to ensure that we are in line with the industry in general. At the same time I must point out that we do have a very comprehensive all-inclusive package available which many guests opt for as being the best value for money alternative when travelling to a destination like Mauritius.

Our seafood prices are found to be competitive compare to what is offered in hotels of the same categories. We pay great attention to the quality of product and best value for money. We sincerely apologize if we have not met your expectations in this respect.

We are really sorry you did not find the seating area in the lobby to be suitable for elderly people as it was aim to befit the Bohemian style concept as well as the comfort of our valued guests. Nonetheless, we do have provision for our elderly guests at the Medine Bar with higher seating.

October is generally a very warm month as it is very close to the summer season which lasts from November to May. However, even though the summer months can be very hot and humid they also experience a lot of rainfall. Whereas October is a particularly dry month, which experiences only 50mm of rainfall, spread across just three days.
Furthermore, the probability that precipitation will be observed at this location varies throughout the month.

Glass Bottom boats are made available at the Boat House and require advance booking. Time of departure is affixed at the boat house itself. All sea activities as you might be aware depend on the weather and sea conditions. Nonetheless, we are trying to find out as to why you could not enjoy this particular activity.

It is always our goal to have satisfied customers and would sincerely like to have the opportunity of regaining your confidence in La Pirogue and show you the better side of the resort. Please let me know personally whenever you book as I would be more than happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Thank you and kind regards,

Andrew Slome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews