We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building, lots of history”
Review of Dogo Onsen Honkan

Dogo Onsen Honkan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dogo Onsen Honkan is one of the oldest Hot Spring in Japan and has a history of 3000 years. And Dogo Onsen Honkan has a \
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This is the oldest onsen in Japan and a lovely building. You can feel the history in the walls. The ladies onsen was not that big and had lovely picture tiles. All very clean. Lockers, green tea and water available in the changing area.I went at 8pm which is a very busy, popular time and was the only westerner in the onsen at the time. The onsen is quite warm and you cannot cool it down. Shower to cool down if necessary. Ensure you know the onsen bathing etiquette as there is no English information.
You can pay for a basic entry or upgrade to different levels, each offering additional services/facilities.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"private room"
in 10 reviews
"imperial family"
in 7 reviews
"public bath"
in 11 reviews
"old building"
in 5 reviews
"second floor"
in 7 reviews
"bring your own"
in 7 reviews
"expensive package"
in 4 reviews
"hot springs"
in 5 reviews
"package includes"
in 2 reviews
"dogo onsen"
in 7 reviews
"dry off"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy traditional"
in 2 reviews
"different levels"
in 2 reviews
"english information"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy the experience"
in 2 reviews
"rest area"
in 2 reviews
"bath house"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018

We stopped at Dogo Onsen Honkan for about an hour, We didn't want to sit in the bath, but we took a short tour of the old bath house with a guide for a few dollars. It was really interesting to see the historical building that is still in use. Photography is not allowed inside. There are many gift shops and restaurants just outside Dogo Onsen Honkan and you can easily spend a few hours in this area.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We didn't try Japan bath there. But we think it is good experience and also it is nice design that you can't misss taking photo there

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Moaimoaimoai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Tattooed person can use here. We got so surprised to hear that.
Hot spring is way too hot for us but everything is beautiful.
入れ墨された人はここで使うことができます。私たちはそれを聞いてとても驚いた。
温泉はあまりにも暑いですが、すべてが美しいです。

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank katie-herm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

With friends, we took the 1280 yens formula. We had access to a private bath in addition of the common and popular one. We were the only ones with my friend so it was very nice. All the people there are great and help you if you are lost, always with a smile.
We then have a tour of the emperor rooms. Very nice :)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Karine10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dogo Onsen Honkan also viewed

Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
 
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
 

Been to Dogo Onsen Honkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing