We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
81
193
64
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
193
64
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour supermarket classical hotel spacious room staff at reception ramen shop average hotel metro station tenjin area other hotels within walking distance nice hotel stay there again convenient location minute walk daruma watanabe robes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed in two interconnecting rooms with twin beds in both rooms. Two separate bathrooms with bathtubs. The master room has a walk-in wardrobe.

Although a little dated in design, the rooms and the hotel areas in general are well-kept and clean. We were given a form to indicate when is the best time to clean our rooms. This is not commonly seen in other hotels. The ‘Do Not Disturb’ and ‘Please Clean My Room’ signs are magnetic cards which can be easily attached on the room doors. Nice touch.

There is a bakery at the check-in lobby level. There is also a supermarket next to the nearest subway station about 300 metres away. There’s also a 24 hour 7-Eleven convenience shop behind the hotel.

Canal City Hakata is about twenty minutes walk away. The subway station nearby allows easy access to many different parts of Fukuoka. Many restaurants are available around the hotel too.

There’s no onsen facilities in this hotel.

There is a public bus stop about 300 metres walk away to the left of the hotel main entrance which allows us to take a public bus to Fukuoka International Airport. It’s a public bus which could be crowded with other commuters. The bus has space for luggage inside the bus. Board the bus through the bus back entrance and get a ticket from the machine next to the door. Pay for the bus fare to the driver at the front door when alighting. The amount to be paid is shown on the screen in front of the bus above the driver. We discovered this procedure the hard way. We were told about this public bus by the hotel concierge and the bus fare, which is 270 yen per adult passenger. But we were not told how to pay. It will be nice if the hotel could provide more comprehensive information. The concierge speaks limited English.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnewotanihakata, マネージャー at Hotel New Otani Hakata, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a detailed review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
As you say, our hotel stands near the subway station and the bus stop. So it is very conveniently located for shopping and sightseeing.
Extension of Fukuoka City Subway will be completed around 2020. After that, it will be more easier to access to our hotel from Fukuoka Air Port.
In addition to this, we should gain comprehensive knowledge and should develop language skill in order to provide exact information.
Our hotel marks 40th anniversary in this September since its foundation. We will do carry on the tradition and improve our service quality.
We are looking forward to seeing you again when you visit Fukuoka next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed here for three nights at the end of March, myself and four kids. The hotel was was beautiful and had a lovely lobby with a piano. I felt a bit apprehensive bringing in my little tribe of kids, but all the staff were incredibly gracious and welcoming. They escorted us to our room and gave the kids goodie- bags with slippers, towels, toothbrushes, shampoo and lotion. The room was small but had everything we needed and was very comfortable. The bathrooms had loads of toiletriies in case we’d forgotten anything and a comfortable shower and tub.

The room also came with a free phone to use during our stay that had maps and information. It was very helpful. The concierge gave us valuable information and helped in every way. Also, the location of the hotel was perfect for using public transport and there was a supermarket next door for picking up snacks. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if in Fukuoka!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Joyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnewotanihakata, マネージャー at Hotel New Otani Hakata, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We are so glad to see your compliments for our staff members. Your comments are highly motivated us. We will go on making further efforts to improve our service quality.
As you say, our hotel stands near the subway station and the bus stop. So it is very conveniently located for shopping and sightseeing.
We hope to see you back at Hotel New Otani Hakata on your next trip to Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend for a friend’s wedding. My friend booked the hotel for us.

Bed - still comfortable
Staff - polite, good English
Location - conveniently located near a train station. Within walking distance to Tenjin. A convenience store is nearby.
Size of room - big.
Room facilities - standard facilities expected from old(er) Japanese traditional big hotels. Not amazing. But clean and have high utility.

We asked for recommendation on cow intestine pot (Kyūshū local speciality) and their staff recommended a good local restaurant nearby (called Zen zai) and my boyfriend was pleased.

We tried emailing them a few months before our arrival (after our booking) to request the staff to help us book some restaurants I have already selected. But perhaps due to miscommunication they only recommended the restaurants inside their hotel... this is slightly disappointing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fatlittlepear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnewotanihakata, マネージャー at Hotel New Otani Hakata, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
We are so glad that your boyfriend enjoyed the restaurant our staff recommended.
However we apologize to you for our miscommunication.
We will make further efforts in providing better service and look forward to seeing you next time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel is well located next to the subway and some convenient stores as well as resturants nearby.

Service is great and room are comfortable. There are many resturants inside the hotel and also wedding planning and customs shops there .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank VinceVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnewotanihakata, マネージャー at Hotel New Otani Hakata, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
We are so glad to see your compliment on our service and room.
We will make further efforts to improve our service quality.
All of the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The hotel is very big, lobby is grand and the rooms are very big in Japanese standard.
It is at the end of the Tenpin Street so you can basically go to all the shopping malls and underground street within 10mins walking.
Also just 12min walk to Canal City Hakata.
Only complain is the car park is behind and not very clear signage to show visitors exactly where to park.
We were pleasantly surprised when they offer us a biscuit and a drink as recognition for being Expedia Gold VIP member.

Also the parking fees is 1500yen per day, pretty expensive.
Strongly recommend to stay here if you are in Fukuoka.

Room Tip: top floor corner end room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Desmondcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnewotanihakata, マネージャー at Hotel New Otani Hakata, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.
We are so glad to see your comment that you recommend staying our hotel. We will do make effort to carry on the tradition and improve service quality.
Regarding the parking signage, we should make sure again. Thank you for your valuable comment.
We hope to see you back at Hotel New Otani Hakata on your next trip to Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews