We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
16
12
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
12
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nara park bath kyoto ryokan beds station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We stayed in Daibutsukan for three nights while in Nara. Overall the hotel was excellent with friendly owners who speak some English, great service, reasonably cheap costs, spacious rooms and a perfect location given it is right next to Nara Park and only a short walk from the Kintetsu train station.While the building seems quite old, everything was clean and the only issue was the shortage of power outlets in the room. I also found the bath way too hot for me, although this was just a matter of personal preference and caused no issues.
If you plan on staying in Nara, I definitely recommend Daibutsukan.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Daibutsukan was a great traditional Japanese hotel. Loved the view from the balcony: Kofuku-ji Temple behind the trees, and deer running around the park. Green tea was supplied with a thermos of hot water everyday. Every morning I sipped my warm tea from the same balcony. I also loved wearing the yukata (Japanese robe which they provided), while sipping my tea. Place was always immaculately clean. Extending the 10:00 pm curfew to 11:00 pm would be nice.

Room tip: I had a top, corner room. Ask for room 605.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erving D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed at the Daibutsukan Ryokan for one night and found it to be ideally located for our short trip. Nara Street is two minutes away where there are plenty of restaurants and shops to browse.

The main tourist spots in Nara are conveniently positioned around an easy 2 or 3 hour circular walk. The hotel is right on the edge of the circuit and indeed the beautiful Kofuku-ji temple pagoda is the view from the rooms.

The rooms are spacious enough to have futons and table with zabuton in place, as well as an area by the window with two western chairs and a table.

There two public baths and we both used them because, to be honest, our ensuite bathroom was a bit mouldy. Hence the slightly less than perfect score. The reception was also somewhat abrupt. We got the feeling that, although their trade is undoubtedly reliant on tourism, they’re not going to lose any customers by not turning on the charm.

However, for a perfect spot to visit the sights and at a very reasonable price, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_like_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Great location, clean, and friendly staff. But old Japanese style facility in the mid 80s, shoes off in the hotel, could not sleep well on the futon/tatami. So if you are more into Western style with a mattress, look elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

This is the first ryokan we tried and it was a great experience. We told ourselves that while in Japan we had to try a ryokan at least once. As soon as you come in you have to take your shoes off and put slippers on which keeps the place clean and makes the experience even more interesting. Somebody shows you to your room and explains it a bit then they ask you to sit down and gods to get a cup of tea for you. Once you leave to go have dinner they prepare your futon. There is also public hot baths (one for men and one for women) on different floors, and if you want you can have breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed this experience.

Date of stay: October 2016
1  Thank Tisha2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews