We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
16
13
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
13
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus stop himeji station shuttle outdoor baths onsen
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Couldn't imagine a better first stay at an onsen/ryokan. Service was friendly and impeccable - arrived early and someone immediately check us in helped us book dinner and a private bath. The room and entire facilities are spotless and tastefully decorated. Dinner was incredible - great quality and taste and also a ton of food. There are two outdoor baths and two indoor baths as well as private reservable baths. All were really relaxing and pretty.

Bus ride from himeji station pretty easy about 40 minutes plus a 10 minute walk. On they way back we took the hotel shuttle which leaves at 9:50.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Unfortunately we only stayed here, in transit, for one night. Would have loved to have had a few more days. The staff were friendly and the room we had was well fitted out, with a table and dining chairs in a separate area to the main room. Both the breakfast and dinner were multi course Japanese cuisine. The ryoken itself was surrounded by trees and we would have liked to have had the time to wander around and explore more.

The staff were friendly but spoke little English, though this didn't cause us any problem.

We arrived by taxi as the buses from the station didn't look like they could easily accommodate our 8 week trip luggage load. If you do come by bus there is an uphill walk to the ryoken, that will be a slog, if you do have a reasonably heavy luggage load.

We managed to arrange for the ryoken minibus to take back to the station the next day.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrdeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Spent 1 night here. This was my second time at an onsen/ryokan and was a good experience. Staff spoke minimal English but we're very kind and eager to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. We seemed to be assigned to the chambermaid with the best English but all was very easy and straightforward. They provided a "How to Onsen" guidebook in English which explains everything for first-timers and handy guides to onsen hours, meal times and shuttle return.

Room was comfortable, about 8 tatami mats, plus seating area with massage chair, separate entrance area with toilet and sink in the room. Ryokan provides you with a yukata and jacket and slippers (also in big sizes for giant Western feet!) which you wear the entire time.

There is a heating/air conditioning unit in the main tatami area, but it's definitely cool in the non-heated areas. I've definitely slept on more comfortable futons- this was basically a heavy blanket on the floor. Free Wifi, tea in the room, and vending machines on site.

Both indoor and outdoor onsens were nice. Found the indoor one hotter and steamy, felt more like a locker room so preferred the outdoor one. 95% of the time I had the bath to myself (Friday night in October). Shampoo, conditioner, hair dryers in the indoor bath only. Nice way to unwind after lots of sightseeing.

Dinner was a multi-course meal, and each dish was explained to use with a diagram. Very tasty and a great way to sample different dishes and cooking styles. Came with sake tasting. Traditional Japanese breakfast consisting of onsen-boiled rice porridge, cooked salmon, soup, rice, pickles and vegetables.

Booked through Japanican.com and emailed them to help make a reservation for the ryokan's shuttle pick-up at Himeji station which was very easy. Himeji castle was a 15 min walk from the station so great way to combine the ryokan and the castle.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Filmgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed at the Ueyama Ryokan for 2 nights at the end of July--my wife, 2 teenage kids and I. First, for travelers getting there from the train station, you can either take a 30 minute cab ride (cost 4500 yen, about $40 US at the time) or the bus from the Himeji train station (take bus #51, cost 640 yen, get off at the Shiota stop, 45-50 minute--the driver helped us out with this, as all signs on the bus were in Japanese). From the stop, you walk about 8 minutes up the hill to the ryokan. The staff there were unfailingly kind and courteous, very welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were very beautiful and traditional, and they included a "Ryokan for beginners" manual, which was very helpful for uninitiated Westerners, especially in using the 2 on-site onsen, as we had never been to one. Both the outside and inside onsen are terrific, the outside one for soaking (natural hot springs) and the inside one for bathing/washing. The food was very traditional, and, at times, we had no idea how to eat some of the meals--again, they were very helpful in instructing us on how to partake. The first night involved an 11-course meal that completely overwhelmed us, the 2nd night we were given a choice and chose the shuba-shuba. Our first breakfast was a traditional Japanese one, the 2nd morning we asked for a Western breakfast, and again, they were very accommodating. They provide a shuttle both to the Himeji Castle and also to the train station (perhaps you can arrange for them to pick you up?). While 30 minutes out of town, we found it unique to be in a more rural and truly Japanese setting, and focused on our ryokan experience. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

We spend our first 2 nights on our Japan trip this year in the Ueyama Ryokan. It was a great way to start the journey and set the standard of Ryokans (we stayed in 4 more later on) at the top level. Very friendly service in the room, amazing food, the room was absolutely beautiful and even included a traditional fire place (Irori) and top notch massage chair. The room had direct access to an outdoor hot spring bath and the short (2 minutes) moss covered path from the room there passed by a little shrine and stone lanterns. Absolutely fantastic! And we haven't even been there at the best season for this Ryokan, as we were shown how the room is fired up by the red and yellow leaves of the acer trees in the garden. The ryokans shuttle bus service from Himeji station made it very accessible too!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ewald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews