We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
1
5
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This was the first traditional ryokan that we have stayed it. It was just one night, but one was enough. Friendly staff was the high point, but nothing else was very special about this Ryokan. Shower and tub on the first floor did was small and did not inspire a dip at night. If you are looking for first ryokan experience and price is same or cheaper than other places in Otaru, then go for it. Personally, not sure I would hit this place again.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BuleGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Couldn't find a hotel to stay in since it was peak holiday season and saw this ryokan in listed in the Japan tourism board website and decided to try. Reasonable prices but I wished it included breakfast. 3 people sharing the room and it was more than enough. Very clean very spacious Japanese style tatami room. My friend complained the pillow he had smelt a lil funky but after he swopped it was fine. They fixed our bedding for us when we went out for dinner. That was a nice touch and hot water was placed in the flask for us too. Great for midnight snack of instant noodles. The owner was very friendly. The son was helpful and the elder was nice & humorous I felt with his recommendation of sushi restaurants. One thing my friends didnt like was the shared bath (you have to go downstairs to bathe Japanese style) and no in-room bathroom (there's a common toilet in the corridor) that's fine for me though since its like being at home, not everyone sleeps in the master bedroom with an adjoined bath anyway. The whole place was spotlessly clean. It's only 10 min walk to the canal and eateries + shopping. Very convenient. Short taxi ride from the JR station or if you are up for walking, it's only 10-15 min. In general I enjoyed my stay. Pretty lavish to stay in such a spacious room with good location in Japan! Especially in peak season!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at the Etchuya Ryokan for two nights during our month-long tour of Japan.

We had a wonderfully comfortable Japanese-style tatami room. The toilets and sinks were next to our room (with hairdryer); we were the only ones using them during our stay so it still felt very private. The shower was on the ground floor.

We were made to feel extremely welcome and all meal timings were based on our wishes. Our room was serviced while we were at breakfast and set out for night time while we were having our evening meal. We had tea making facilities in the room with a large flask of hot water changed twice daily (each time the room was serviced).

We had chosen a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and the food was lovely, very varied throughout our stay and well-presented. We were served in one of the bedrooms on the same corridor which was set up just for us and felt very homely and private. We felt extremely relaxed and unhurried and very valued guests throughout our stay.

There is covered, private parking – very convenient but about 600 yen a day which seemed expensive.

The main person on reception spoke English and was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to go – especially for recommending a public onsen nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I reserved this through Japaneseguesthouses.com (a great, free service) looking for a traditional inn during my one night in Otaru before the Sapporo Winter Festival. I'd say that I sort of got a traditional inn. The tatami room was spacious, clean, and had a nice sitting area. I was served a Japanese dinner at the low table in my room and, after, they pulled out the futon. For dinner, the sashimi and rice were outstanding, the rest sort of mediocre compared to other Japanese inns I've stayed in over the years. Other than the nice, traditional room, the halls and entrance were completely bare and institutional, like a Japanese hospital or government office, and the bath on the first floor (only open at night) was small and characterless. The staff, all one family going back several generations, was very nice and welcoming. Other than the inn, Otaru was a fun place to walk around for a day in the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 町中の旅館です。部屋からの眺望はどの部屋も同じです。VIPルームもありません。
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews