We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
40
8
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
8
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury ryokan new building fantastic ryokan scallops japanese breakfast seafood private onsen communal westerners affair yukata wifi train
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed there for two nights with the other two couples of our friends. Very good Japanese style room, neat and clean with good quality in every details; fantastic view over see th harbor from the room; good public bath, the dinner and breakfast were outstanding. Can connect with wifi in the room and public areas; hotel is in a quiet residential area with short driving distance to the cannel and other tourist areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This ryokan is amazing! We had the biggest Japanese room-I think it is called Tsuru.
The service is so friendly and food is so good! We stayed here for 3 nights. Kisako and her team went out of the way to make us all feel so at home. We had private onsen in room but preferred to use the outdoor one as it was really cosy. The French restaurant was amazing-fantastic food! Thanks again, Kisako for the great memories!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Anyone visiting Japan has to experience a real Ryokan. In Ginrinso, the service is plain amazing for a westerner - It seemed like Fusako was a friend welcoming us into her home, with all the smiling courtesy and manners of Japan. The facilites and food were on par. The views of the room stunning. Yes, this is Japan, so expect raw fish for breakfast but the most delicious. Very very special place, worth visiting any time. Everything will exceed your expectations.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Etienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at the Ginrinso for a night en route to Niseko. From Sapporo, we took a train to Otaru-chikko, about 30 minutes. The ryokan provided complimentary pick up and drop off service, and this was arranged through the Luxury Ryokan Collection. Exiting the train and entering the main hall of the Otaru-chikko station, we were met with the ryokan's driver.

A short 10 minutes drive and we arrive at a beautiful historic building. Greeted at the door warmly, check in was swift and we were shown to our traditional Japanese room in the new wing.

This room was very spacious, beautifully decorated with views of the coast. Separate seating area and an equally large bathroom and private onsen facilities. Toiletries supplied were generous and well thought out, including a generous stack of clean white towels. Room was faultlessly clean and incredibly inviting.

We were served hot green tea and a sweet snack upon arrival, and after some explanations about dinner that evening and breakfast the next day, we were left to enjoy our room and the onsen. There is wifi at this ryokan and requires signing in just once.

This is one of the ryokans where you are asked your height at reservation, so that they can provide you with yukatas that actually fit. This attention to detail is really much appreciated!

Dinner was an elaborate affair, comprising 8 courses of local seafood and served in a private room. Service was attentive and friendly, but never intrusive. Most staff speak minimal English, but made a lot of effort to try and communicate best as they could.

Our futons were made up when we returned to the room, complete with a night light. Futons were comfortable, the duvets were fluffy as clouds, and afforded a good nights' sleep.

Breakfast was served in another larger room, with a large variety of Japanese dishes. After meal drinks (coffee or tea) was served in a separate room with a large skylight roof. I would have preferred for breakfast to be served in room.

After check out, a driver sent us to Otaru-chikko station, where we caught our train to Kutchan.

Our stay at the ryokan was overall quite wonderful, great food, excellent service, and peace and quiet. Some guests had very young children with them and they could be heard screaming and shouting and running around the otherwise very tranquil premises, but I suppose the ryokan cannot be faulted for this. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This was by far the most traditional place we stayed in. Outstanding service that went above and beyond. The rooms are traditional with futons and they also had a private onsen in the room which was lovely. The level of detail to service was outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews