We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
35
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016

My husband and I spent a night here during a trip round the Izu Peninsula. It was wonderful. The owners are Anne of Green Gables fans, hence the name "Avonlea", and the place has a feel of a country home. There is a pretty garden full of flowers and a comfortable elegance to the decor. Breakfast was served on three-tier stands, like an afternoon tea, and was a real treat. The couple who run Avonlea are very friendly and the husband in particular enjoys a chat.

We had some problems finding the place (our fault), as we came by motorcycle and my husband's navigation system took us several kilometers out of our way. The husband kindly met us at the station and lead us there. After that, he drove us to a nearby restaurant for dinner so my husband could rest and have a drink. So kind.

Definitely will come back again!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

1.the couple of this guesthouse is very hospitable
2.the husband is a talker,you can chat with him for every thing,the landlady has a smiling face,and
kindness to the guests
3.the surrounding of the guesthouse is very neat and beautiful,sea is just front of your eyes and the turned red mountain continuous sending you gentle breeze,you can really has a relaxing
enjoyment here

Room tip: all the room are good choices
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stay804779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
アヴォンリー, お客様担当マネージャー at Country House Hotel Avonlea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for staying in Avonlea this time, and appreciate for your feedback.


We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Avonlea.

We hope that you have enjoyed the great nature of Izu Peninsula.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Imagine somone wants to build an English country club house bu has only ever seen one in an old, romantic movie. That's most likely how the Avonlea was made.
It is quite neat but at the same time so out of place in this rural Japanese village that I didn't know what to think at first but the hospitality and kindness of the owners quickly made us feel welcome.

It is a bit run down and could do with some remodeling but I guess that is just part of it's charme.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinHoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: ローラアシュレイの可愛いお部屋♪部屋のタイプは公式ホームページの写真が一番わかりやすいです。
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: 静か。カントリー調で可愛い。
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews