We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
40
48
17
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
48
17
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese food private onsen ropeway robe bus dinner
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017

The hotel is a very high level hotel but very difficult for non-Japanese. The staff does not speak English. Every attempt to explain our needs was basically impossible. For example, they upgraded us to a room with mattresses on the floor and we just weren't able to communicate we preferred to sleep on beds. We had serious problem finding the hotel as a result of wrong phone number provided by the hotel. (In Japan you need to navigate by phone numbers if you can't read Japanese) Dinner is very expensive and there are no restaurants around.

Room Tip: There are rooms with mountain view. Ask for beds. Ask to be in the same section as the Spa if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shirakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We took the hotel's shuttle from Takayama and the round trip costs JPY1,500 pp (cheaper than Nohi Bus as the previous reviewer pointed out). We're a bit disappointed that from Nov onwards they only have 1 departure time, i.e. at 3.30pm. By the time we reached the hotel it was around 5pm, after the sunset. The journey up was quite scenic with the autumn colours. However, by the time we got down to the outdoor onsen which is in a little "valley" it was very dark. It was quite a surreal experience. The hotel's other onsen are within the hotel's building and much easier to access.

Room is spacious tatami Japanese style and ours is looking out to Shin Hotaka Ropeway which we were planning to take the next morning. Hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to Shin Hotaka Ropeway. However, we were disappointed again as the morning was very misty, we couldn't see the ropeway from our window!

Dinner was a good spread of delicious food, Kaiseki style. We enjoyed our 1 night stay there very much. Went round checking out the hotel's ground too. It has a cosy room with a huge fireplace, a outdoor "hot spring water" swimming pool, a koi pond etc.

Room Tip: No wifi in-room but free wifi at the lobby area
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

This place is perfect. It's off city but very near the Ropeway though. Perfect for people who wants to visit the ropeway since the day light is short during year end period.

Took the hotel shuttle bus to get to there. This is a cheaper option because the Nohi bus charges twice the amount. However, when we returned, there's only 1 time slot for the day and in order to catch our train, we took the Nohi bus instead. It's a little confusing on the hotel website regarding the transport. Basically, if you take the 3.30pm one, you'll reach at 5.00pm. Departure is at their sister hotel, Yamanoriori, walkable from Takayama Station. During winter, the bus ride to the hotel is spectular.

The food is great, Keiseke style. And the onsens are awesome. The hotel has a couple of onsens, and the best one would be the mixed bathe that requires you to take a short Ropeway down, by the river.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Januaryeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed here for a night. It was the most expensive hotel during our trip because it included dinner and breakfast. My first experience at an onsen hotel was in Hakone and the food was not good at that Hakone hotel, so I was very happy that the meals which included hoba miso beef at Hotakaso Yamano were delicious. The staff here spoke little English but was able to communicate with us by hand gestures and drawing on paper.

We visited in April which the hotel said was off-peak season so there was only one shuttle time from Takayama City to the hotel (Takayama City departure 15:30 Hodakaso Yamano hotel arrival 17:00), and one time from the hotel back to Takayama City (hotel departure 11:00 Takayama arrival 12:30) for ¥1,500 round-trip per person. The shuttle is optional and requires advance booking, but we were able to have the concierge of the hotel we stayed at the night before reserve a spot on the shuttle the night before for us. You board the shuttle from their sister hotel Hodakaso Yamano Iori which is a 5 minute walk from Takayama Station. The shuttle was comfortable, and the drive was scenic. We arrived at Yamano Iori an hour early to pay for our tickets and the staff offered to store our luggage for free before the shuttle arrived; they also have a waiting area with paid lockers next to the hotel.

We prepaid for a Japanese-style room through Japanican which had the best rate at the time. Our room was in the east wing which has older, more dated rooms for a lower price, but the room was fine for one night. The hotel only offers "smoking" rooms but our room did not smell like smoke. We checked in and chose our dinner time. A staff showed us to our room, offered us snacks from the fridge, and made sure the yukatas were the correct size for us. The room included a bathroom, and being an onsen hotel, you also have the public bathroom to use before going into the hot springs (hotel has both indoor and outdoor springs). We were confused on how to get to the outdoor hot spring so a staff member led us down the elevator to the garage and pointed across the street. You take a little tram down to the hot spring area which included a women's only hot spring, a private hot spring that you can reserve/rent for an hour, and a co-ed hot spring. Photos are technically not allowed pass the tram. For the co-ed hot spring, I rented a wrap at the front desk that was charged to the room. We ended up having the hot spring to ourselves that evening before dinner so we did not need to rent the private hot spring.

After the hot spring, we went to dinner in the restaurant. The food was already laid out on the table, and as we ate, more courses were brought to us. After dinner, we bought Hello Kitty souvenirs in the gift shop and stayed in the hotel lobby to use the wifi because the room did not have wifi. When we returned to the room, the dining area has been transformed into the sleeping area.

The next morning we woke up to light snow! It was a beautiful scene watching it snow outside as we ate breakfast in the restaurant. The hotel offered one shuttle to the Shinotaka ropeway in the morning. Guests check out and leave their luggage with the staff, go to the ropeway, and then return on the shuttle to the hotel during which luggage is transferred to the shuttle which continues onto Takayama City. We decided to not go to the ropeway that morning after seeing on the ropeway's webcam that the peak was foggy with no visibility. However, our hotel had a planned power outage once everyone checked out, so we took one more dip in the hot spring. It was an amazing experience being in the outdoor hot spring while i was lightly snowing and being surrounded by mountains. Then we waited an hour in the lobby for the shuttle. The power was out, but the lobby was naturally daylit near the windows.

Because it was off-peak season, the hotel did not offer the shuttle to Shirakawa-go, so we skipped Shirakawa-go since the Nohi bus cost a lot more than the hotel's shuttle and the departure time that we wanted was already full.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank ihearttofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We drove here from Takayama about 1.5hrs drive.
Reception was friendly and spoke simple english explaining the facilities and floor plan of the resort.

The whole hotel is very spacious with little area tucked away for you to chill out. There are 2 indoor onsen (1 male, 1 female) on the ground floor of the hotel. The onsen was rather spacious and also with nice rocks around.

The highlight was the onsen beside the streams.
You have to get out of the hotel cross a small road to take the Slope Car (a lift to bring you down to the onsen)
There are 3 onsens here... 1 female public bath, 1 male public bath and 1 private bath that you can reserve for 30 mins 1000yen and 1 Mixed public bath (men& women)

I tried the private bath and it was fantastic with the view of the mountains and streams! later on we went to try the public bath, for female you have to rent a bath robe from the reception, the men went in naked though -_-

The dinner was superb! served in little courses like fine dining.. they grilled a river fish for us as well... the hida beef with hoba miso on magnolia leaf was drool worthy

It started to snow at night though.. the next morning we woke up to winter wonderland!!
i dragged myself out in the cold to the female public bath outdoors.... the whole road, trees all covered with snow! so beautiful sight... i also had the whole onsen to myself facing the beautiful scenery! was breathtaking!!

definitely recommend staying here for the onsen experience....
the wifi is horrible only available at lobby area.... and super slow!

overall great place to stay!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cariejhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews