We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene, Relaxing Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge
Lodge Family Lodge with Mezzanine Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Lodge
Lodge
Family Lodge with Mezzanine Floor
Self-Catering
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Steps Down to Tranquil Pool
Swimming Pool and waterfall
View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VusaD
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene, Relaxing Place”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay at Granite Park Lodges was a nostalgic and fulfilling homecoming. I went to school at nearby Hamilton High School, and grew up in the countryside just outside Bulawayo, so the lodge epitomised that rural/urban mix that I miss so much. I am grateful to Gail for recreating this environment at her lodges.

The tranquil, grass-thatched lodges are situated on 2 or so acres of indigenous forest with rocky outcrops on the periphery. We had time to sit and relax outside our lodge, walk around in flip flops down the bush paths, and read the names of the indigenous trees off their labels in English and vernacular Ndebele. We also could walk down to the Boma (where you can hold a small, private function ), or to the swimming pool area. After a day's stay we were moved to the lodge at the far end, where we could watch rock daisies (rock rabbits) bask in the winter morning sun.

Since the owner does not stay on the premises, and there are rock daisies, no dogs are kept on the property. So our kids loved the freedom of playing outside without having to worry about dogs. We also loved letting ourselves in and out of the electric gates without having to report to reception.

The facilities and finishes inside the lodges are fantastic and very modern. Gail was working on getting the Wi-Fi set up. The water and electricity outages that plague the city are not an issue due to backup supplies on the premises, and the self-catering facilities in each lodge are good enough for a large group. Our only frustration came from the casual response to guests' queries by the person Friday there. He initially turned us away because he "suspected the place was full" without checking the reservations book until we called Gail for the second time; and then seemed to imagine he was doing guests a favour, at times trying to fix what he should have escalated until we brought this to Gail's attention. Our impression was that of an old man trying to come across as being useful, with little or no formal hospitality training, rather than a negative attitude to guests. He seemed to be a long-serving help, but we think Gail can train him and get better value out of him.

We highly recommend Granite Park Lodges to the discerning traveller, and we hope to be welcome there when we return to Bulawayo next year.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThisAndTh...
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic Place - Granite Park Lodge !”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We found Granite Park Lodge to be a great self catering lodge in Bulawayo which caters for both individuals and family guests. The lodge ideal located in a very peaceful and noise free surroundings.
Many thanks to the reception staff who were so helpful and supportive.

When ever we get the chance, we would love to stay at this fabulous place again.

Themba

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gera263
Harare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Granite Park Lodges on Christmas Eve; enough room for our Christmas tree! I was sorry we could only stay one night as the lodge was quite lovely. Well appointed, good beds, adequate kitchen. Beautiful surroundings, very tranquil!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habitat-A...
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome getaway”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I arrived in Bulawayo from South Africa, and my wife took me straight to this facility. We got lost despite there being numerous signs showing directions. Advice is follow signs and do not turn until you see the next sign. The place itself is also quite secluded, private and secure. The staff were friendly, rooms were clean and we enjoyed our getaway. Unfortunately, we got two single beds, yet we would have preferred a double. There was adequate cutlery, and pits and plates, fridge working well and stove. Nice place, I hope to visit again soon and would recommend it to other people looking for a nice clean private place in Bulawayo. Fairly priced too if you ask me

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and location
Liked least: Two single beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2015
Thank so much for your review Rodwell. It was a pleasure having you stay. When you stay again, please let us know that you would like a double bed and we will happily ensure that you have one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BooPeel
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect self-catering accommodation in Bulawayo”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you are looking for self catering accommodation in Bulawayo, I can't think why you would go anywhere else than Granite Park. It is conveniently located only ten minutes from town and set on a lovely large piece of ground with manicured lawns intermingled with natural bush which attracts plenty of birdlife and the rock dassies. The sunsets are awesome.
The thatch lodges themselves are very well equipped with everything you need and are clean and beautifully done.
Gail and Clive are perfect hosts and are there to help with anything that you need. They have gone overboard in making these lodges just perfect.
For a relaxing, comfortable, clean, peaceful and affordable place to stay, I can highly recommend Ganite Park lodges

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing