We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant food but not fantastic”

Red Dragon Restaurant & Cooking School
Ranked #74 of 1,193 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Contemporary Hoian Cuisine Restaurant and cooking School . Red Dragon is a family-owned restaurant, established in 2007, Chef Tu Nguyen’s menu feautures creative and refined takes on classic Hoian family cuisine using only the freshest local, seasonal ingredients
Reviewed 16 July 2016

The reviews of Red Dragon painted the restaurant in a somewhat better light than I discovered when I went there. The menu states that they offer "Fine Vietnamese Food". The vegetarian curry that I have was full of nice spices and fairly tasty, but it was not that hot, was served with a small portion of what to be appeared to be rice that had been cook a long time ago, was not presented that nicely and didn't actually contain that many vegetables.
The menu is somewhat limited for a Vietnamese restaurant, with 7 main dishes, plus to rice based main dishes.
The place has a bit of a drab feeling to it and the older chap who served me really didn't seem to want to be there.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 335 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016

The food was great, we ordered seared tuna with sesame (thought it's cooked tuna, but it's actually raw), prawns, tofu with lemongrass and stirfried noodles. It was all delicious food, no stomachache for everyone after the raw fish is a plus, the prawns tastes heavenly. Overall, a nice restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Excellent food of outstanding quality. Best restaurant food we had in Hoi An and would recommend it highly.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Staying in a beach resort and didn't want to go all the way into Hoi An so picked this place from reviews. My teenage kids voted it "best meal in Vietnam so far". Big rap! Tuna delicious and the pork belly a big hit. See the pic. Looks simple from the street but really delivered once inside.

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Didn't want to go too far from hotel one night and it was recommended so we gave it a try. Limited menu but we enjoyed so much that we made another visit a few days later. The duck was brilliant and also the prawns. It's nothing special from outside but they certainly know how to cook. Very nice!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Red Dragon Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Dragon Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.