We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked at bill”
Review of Liman Restaurant

Liman Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 511 Restaurants in Marmaris
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 March 2021

I went with my partner today to Liman restaurant as I thought it was in a nice location and lovely to be out again for a meal.

We went in to have calamari and I had the fried one and my partner had the grilled calamari.The man who appeared to be the owner suggested another fish so as we were hungry we agreed to have one fish and share.The food was nice and we did not get any mezes just got some toast and butter.We had one beer and a bottle of water.No salad or anything else. We were shocked that the bill was 595 lire.We spoke to our friend who is in the restaurant business and he was shocked at the price.He phoned also to query the cost and was told the fish that was suggested to us was expensive.We should have been told this.He was also told that it was a tourist restaurant.We are not tourists..My partner is Turkish and we live here.

It ruined our lovely day out and needless to say we will not be returning or recommending this restaurant to anybody...Total rip off and daylight robbery.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank Koycegiz205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We were manipulated to come in and told that the fish was only £8 and we worked out what the bill was before we sat down (£40). When we finally got the bill which was over £80, the waiter tried to avoid coming back to explain it, I finally got him over and asked him to explain the Turkish scribbles and he had a look on his face like a shoplifter being caught with loot down his shorts. He then said it weighed heavier than he thought and it was a guess and rudely walked off for another rude waiter to demand the money. This was a shame because the food was good but this experience left us feeling violated. Avoid at all costs!!!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 773stevied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020

Marmaris is great for tourists as most places are sincere and fair-dealing, and will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.

This restaurant is an exception and is known amongst more savvy travellers for trying to scam you in your final food bill. They will present a receipt written in Turkish which is much higher than it should be, with an odd charge for 'service' that is far too high and can't be justified. This simply doesn't happen in any other restaurant in the resort.

My wife had to dispute this with them and encountered a fair bit of resistance. It's the kind of 'tourist trap' behaviour that you need to be cautious of. Some of the positive reviews here are doubtless from tourists who can't convert Pounds to Lira correctly, and vice versa, and sadly don't realise they were fleeced.

Take a look online and you'll find other reviews from tourists who've had the same unfortunate experience. They need to stop doing this, it's not nice.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TurtleFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

10 nights in Marmaris, ate in this restaurant 5 nights! The food and service are exceptional. The king prawns are like nothing I've ever tasted. Special thanks to Birol for looking after us.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Rebecca21836015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020

nice experience really loved that food. Fishes were fresh. Next our holiday we defenetely come againn

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank lvlgntlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liman Restaurant also viewed

Marmaris, Marmaris District
Marmaris, Marmaris District
 
Marmaris, Marmaris District
Marmaris, Marmaris District
 

Been to Liman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.