We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,684)
Filter reviews
2,684 results
Traveller rating
1,430
798
290
104
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
798
290
104
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachlittle tiger restaurantbeach grillswim up barfamily massagetri trang beachtuk tukhigh tidethai restaurantpool access roomshuttle bushappy hourkids clubfreedom beachthe hustle and bustlemain poollaundry done
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 2,684 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The standards are very high, the food and service is excellent. The grounds are very well kept, the location is great (out of the way) and the beach beautiful.
I'd definitely come again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank markandkelly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear markandkeely_11

Greetings from Phuket, we would certainly like you to visit us again
Until then

Best Regards

Trevor May
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This Marriott property is another that is an old construction being done over.

They did a wonderful job on the approach and registration areas and the main lobby (non-A/C)

But when you start going down the halls to the rooms you sink into a 1950's times -asylum shade of yellow with bland gray and sanitarium green - and old style windows along every hallway that scream out "escape now!" There are a million things that could be done to improve that "vibe" and I'll leave that to the designers, but drab yellow and asylum green don't make It welcoming here!! I'd recommend changes!

The rooms are nice, standard hotel sized rooms with showers, tubs, and toilets and an opening to the rest of the room. Except for the excessive use of silicone to cover every mistake, or prior applications of silicone they are in decent shape but in need of updating.

The style is old - a form of terra cotta colored flooring but the modern wall designs are tasteful. This room was rather comfortable, all things considered, and we were happy to have received a swim out! Although the pool we were swimming out to (although we never did) had virtually no people in it, it was a nice gesture.

Here there are seemingly 3 main pools, a kids' pool or family area with some slides which is active with families, there was our "retirement pool"- I'll call it that because no-one was in it,- and there is the main middle pool where the pool bar is located and most of the activity seems to be!

The various bathrooms throughout the resort are in various forms of renovation. Some are clearly modernized and complete, others are half-way, simply adapted and others still need modernization.

The entertainment is scant. Some live music in the main lobby area, 1 or 2 singers and certainly not a spotlight feature.

This is a vast deviation from other venues which focus on some theatrical entertainment each night as a focal point. You will not find this in Phuket as I can see from staying at 3 Marriott resorts.

I mention Wa, one waiter who was noteworthy and remembered our names, and many on the staff were very friendly and helpful also.

There were 2 weddings while I was here and they were conducted out by the beach and very nicely done. It is a nice venue for such a celebration.

But overall, I stayed in this place 7 nights and that was way too much. It felt too much like a retirement home on one extreme or a family excursion, on the other. I wanted something more like - middle adult ground and really didn't get a sense of comradery among other attending folks. It was like being in a crowd (as a couple) yet feeling completely alone. I'd recommend 4-5 nights maximum and move on!

So, for me, this is a one-and-done vacation!

Also, on the beach-front issue... Yes, there is a beach but it is very small and has coral, and is very un-used.

Wifi is very sketchy!

The town of Patong Beach was kind of crazy and there are plenty of activities there to get wild. Figure about 700-800 Bahts round trip from the hotel each night to enjoy those festivities. THERE is where you get away for a taste of "wild!"

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear Tom O


Greetings from Phuket and thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback on your stay.

The hotel will continue you renovations over the next 2 to 3 years with continuous improvements of the resort, and hopefully you will come back when these are all completed

Best Regards

Trevor May
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Just arrived back in the uk after a nice two week stay at the Marriott- Nice hotel
Rooms - cleaned everyday. Fresh bedding and clean towels. Couldn't fault the rooms.
Food- beautiful, although breakfast wasn't that good. We used the beach grill, Italian, Thai pantry and the merchant kitchen. Food all beautiful and well presented. Very nice indeed.
Staff- didn't like how some kitchen staff and chefs starred at you as you were using the buffet on a evening. Felt very uncomfortable. Woman staff were great. A special shout out to (pang) she was lovely and very welcoming as all the woman staff.
Male staff, thought they were very ignorant. Walking around the pool area staring at everyone having drinks etc. Didn't really like that.
Pools- beautiful couldn't fault them at all.
Beach- stunning, bit rocky but lovely to look at. Not good for swimming. But loved the coral.
Entertainment- none! Very lacking! Both during the day and evening, something I think Marriott needs to address!
All inclusive- 11am - 11pm wasn't a problem, Singha, tiger beers and great cocktails. Had to order a few more before 11pm as it was nice to just relax by the beach. Also food on all inclusive is great. Food choice is really good actually.
If your not an all inclusive guest im guessing it would be very expensive to eat and drink in the hotel. Little tiger next to the beach was very nice. My partner enjoyed a nice red Thai curry from there.
Great to see all the management & staff mucking in on Thai new year around the pool. What a fun day me and my partner had and even got better in Patong.
Also just want to mention My partner didn't like how he was interrogated by the hotel security demanding to see every tattoo he has and where he had them done!? .... presumably the security staff member was checking to see if he had a 'Buddha head' tattoo as this is against the law in Thailand.
Loved the new wooden beach bar, nice to relax on a evening having a few drinks on the bean bags. Apart from only a few negatives the hotel was nice and we had an enjoyable stay.
We will be back in the future. But please sort the entertainment situation out.
The hotel had nothing on a evening apart from the same people singing in the reception bar area. There's a huge stage on the beach that is used for movies etc. Some nights Have some Thai dancing or some traditional Thai game nights where people can watch it and enjoy.
Think that would be much much better!
Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Liamnmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 9 nights and the hotel is lovely with 3 pools and a small beach which means it never feels crowded. One pool is catered for small kids, one pool has direct access from rooms and the main pool has a swim up bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we loved our stay here. The things I would point out is that it is not close to many restaurants so you do have to get a taxi to go to eat every night but that means it's a little secluded from the hustle and bustle so depends on what you are looking for. It is 300 thb to Patong one way and they do have hotel buses which charge on the way there and timings can be restrictive (200 thb for a family). On the way back it's free but evening ones are at 8pm or 10pm so it's either an early night or later one.
Also, there are plenty of sun beds but you will get limited shade depending on time of day. The kids pool is obviously noisey and the main pool blares music most of the day from the pool bar and the third pool has a noisey waterfall so if it's peace by the pool you are after you may struggle.
The spa was lovely, we had a couples massage but they are busy so book in advance if you want a particular day. Cheap massage is available on the beach.
Breakfast is good but disappointed they don't ask if you want tea or coffee when you sit down and takes a while to come once you do order it. Room service I ordered milk for tea or ice for drinks and it takes a good 30 mins to arrive.
Having said all this we did have a pleasant stay at the hotel as it is a lovely resort as long as you set expectations not to be like some other big brand 5 star hotels.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank emeraldxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Marriott acquired this property sometime back, and did some renovation.

If you wish to stay close to Patong and prefer a private beach, you should consider this property.

The good:
-Location was great, a few kms from Patong beach, yet quiet and peaceful. Shuttle service available to Patong at a nominal cost.

- Very few hotels have private beaches in patong. In most cases, you have to cross the road to goto the beach. Not in this case.

- 3 swimming pools, with one having pool access rooms that we booked and enjoyed, one for kids, and one other close to the beach.

-The service standards were good. However that is no more a differentiator as even some budget hotels offer you great service in Thailand.

-The staff spoke and understood english which was good.

-24 hr fitness center was decent, though not fully equipped

The not so good:

Though they have tried to provide all amenties you would expect, the yellow walls all are more in line with a government establishment, not a luxury resort.

- the pool access room category was a bit too far from the beach.

- though the breakfast spread was decent, it had very limited vegetarian food options. We had to make do with cereals and boiled vegetables.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Umang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Phuket Marriott Resort & Spa, Merlin Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Umang A

Greetings from Phuket and thank you for the positive feedback on your stay with us.
I will talk with the culinary team about what vegertarian options we can add to the buffer for our guests


Best Regards

Trevor May
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews