We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,629)
Filter reviews
2,630 results
Traveller rating
1,590
791
166
50
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,590
791
166
50
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating market talay restaurant peace pool seaside junior suite kids club kids pool coconut bar family room floating restaurant manta ray the main road happy hour swim up bar separate pool games room peter bar pool access
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 2,630 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We stayed here for 8 days and I couldn't have been happier, staff were amazing! Food at all the restaurants was great, and we had a birthday while we were there and the staff at Talay made a big fuss-made for a very special night. The room was great - comfy beds and has everything we needed. We will definitely be back again! Love the fact that it has an adults only pool.

Room tip: We stayed in lagoon view room -well away from the children's pool area and was lovely - a large variety of birds all come to visit
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Vivienne C,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your experience about The Sands Khao Lak with other travelers.

Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you have been totally amazed with the resort, our service and staff.
I have already passed on your kind words to our team. They are truly grateful and appreciated that you acknowledged their hard work.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at The Sands Khao Lak!

Best wishes,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

my wife and i enjoyed 8 nights at the resort in August. Despite some rain we enjoyed our time there as food was good, staff very helpful and facilities were great.
Easy walking distance to the town nearby was also an advantage. would certaily go again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience about The Sands Khao Lak with other travelers.

Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you liked our resort, our service and staff. I have already passed on your kind words to our team. They are truly grateful and appreciated that you acknowledged their hard work.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at The Sands Khao Lak!

Best wishes,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We are currently staying here and I just wanted to say that it's wonderful!

We are here with the Luxury Escapes 10 night deal in a family room in the new Aqua section of the resort and it's great!The inclusions are wonderful and such great value for money and the rooms are beautiful. Everyone is so friendly and wonderful with kids! We love our family room with the separate area for the kids to sleep in, and the extra touch of having a small step in the bathroom for our little one to reach the toilet and sink is a great extra.

Pros:
-The package is great value. Breakfast and free flow cocktail hour each day is wonderful.
-Although our toddler is too young to be unsupervised in the kids club, the 5 hours of babysitting can be used while they are in there and it's the coolest kids club I've ever seen.
- the Pools, lazy river, water slides and playgrounds make it a kids paradise!
-Room service and all onsite restaurants are priced really well
-Great location with restaurants and a large supermarket are just a short stroll away. Try Peter Pan restaurant, it's delicious!
- there's a convenience store on site
-Laundry facilities are great and only 50 baht per load
- Staff are Lovely and so helpful
-The new rooms in the aqua wing are wonderful and have lots of handy features including somewhere to leave your wet pool towels
- just off the lobby is a cool reading area with lots of books shelved with flags on the spine of what language they are, such a great idea!

Cons
hard to say any negativez as this place is great but if I had to I'd say

- Dietary Requirements: although I notified them in advance that my daughter is allergic to dairy, I've found it hard to get access to foods for her at breakfast and at the poolside bar. I had asked for a banana smoothie with soy milk instead of normal milk and was told they didn't have any. Also at breakfast we are only given a cup of soy milk but there isn't any out for her to add to cereal or any dairy free kids food or yoghurt.

-Massage in the Garden: we had our free massage booked in today at the Sala in the garden. I was told when booking that due to bad weather it would be in the fitness centre but was then called and told it was in the garden still. My husband and I got stuck in a downpour walking to it (it's far from the aqua wing and there wasn't any signs to find it). Our clothes were soaked through and we had to ask for towels to try and dry abit when we got there. It continued to rain and the large winds were blowing all of the rain on us while we tried to relax and enjoy. At the end we then had to walk back in the rain.

I'd recommend that they either move them indoors during the wet season or drive there guests to the place the massages are held as it was a long walk in the rain and spoilt our experience abit. The massages themselves were great.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Regine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Regine K,

Thank you so much for your compliments and for sharing your experience about The Sands Khao Lak with other travelers.

Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you have been totally amazed with the resort, our service and staff.
I have already passed on your kind words to our team. They are truly grateful and appreciated that you acknowledged their hard work.

We take our guest comments very serious and already discussed the details (soy milk, Sala Massage) within the team.

Please do find some time to return to us in the near future.

Best wishes,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Our first visit to Thailand and to this resort. Absolutely amazing place! I traveled with 2 teenage daughters and all 3 of us were stunned by what the resort has to offer. Beautiful, super clean and modern, tastefully decorated rooms. Direct access from the resort to the beach..what a beach! And of course the pools! A choice of pools, for adults and for children. We especially adored the adults pool near the sea. Lovely atmosphere, tranquil and beautifully designed. We had a few rainy days during our stay but lots of options in the resort. From fitness to yoga and Thai kickboxing courses to cooking or Thai language class. Or just some time in the large family room with large screen, the leisure room with a collection of books in all languages: even Dutch! And even a stroll in the shopping street is made agreeable while it's raining: free umbrella's are available in the lobby. They just have it all. We only took breakfast and that also was a feast. World kitchen and lots of fresh fruits. Staff is amazing, they are genuinely friendly and will do everything to let you have the best possible experience! The place is also so well kept and very tidy, it is a garden of eden to us!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank girlsontheroad2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear girlsontheroad2017,

Thank you so much for your compliments and for sharing your experience about The Sands Khao Lak to other travelers.

Nothing pleases us more than to hear that you have been totally amazed with the resort, our service and staff.
I have already passed on your kind words to our team. They are truly grateful and appreciated that you acknowledged their hard work.

Please do find some time to return to us in the near future.

We will wait for your return.

Best wishes,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed here in Aug 2018 and had the most amazing holiday.
It took just over an hour from Phuket airport. When we arrived, we were welcomed with a cold drink and a towel.
Check in was easy. We were then taken by the hotel buggy to our room.
We had booked a family swim up room.
Wow! It was amazing. Comfortable to sleep four people. Separate shower and toilet and a high bath!
Walk out onto the balcony and right into you own pool!
Amazing!
Towels are provided everyday for the pool.
Aqua zone are, what fun for the kids, lazy river, slides, fun water features plus a swim up bar!
Great for families,
There are other pools, an adult only and an infinity pool beside the beach.
When we were there the sea was too rough to go in and the red flag was up.
Facilities st the hotel first class.
Great gym, inside kids area, shop.
Breakfast is serves st the floating market, what a choice....absolutely everything! But be early as can get very busy around 9 ish.
Lunch we had a the manta rays, great selection for kids and adults, pizzas are fantastic, hot dogs, burgers, as well as a selection of Thai food.
We never had dinner in the hotel, as a short walk up the drive and you have the most amazing selection of local restaurants.. average cost for the three of us with drinks, £15.
There is a market st the next town every Monday wed and Saturday....great to have a look around and they are not pushy at all. To walk is around one and half miles, or £4 in a taxi one way.
Went to the elephant sanctuary which was mind blowing, the one we went to do not let you ride them as this is inhuman, but you get to feed them and wash them in the river.
Aos, went to James Bond island, this trip is well worth it, a lot of travelling but wow!
Had an amazing time in Thailand, would highly recommend this hotel....loved every minute

Room tip: Swim up room
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear Lisa P,

Thank you do much for taking your time to write a very kind review about your recent stay with us.
We were very happy to read that you loved our resort and that you even would recommend it to others.
We appreciate your great comment and it will be my pleasure to pass it on to all our employees.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay at The Sands Khao Lak!

Kind regards,

Evelin Boos (Lin)
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews