We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Lion King Adventures
from US$2,943.00
More Info
from US$3,561.93
More Info
from US$2,225.00
More Info
from US$3,286.74
More Info
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
352
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
352
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake manyara day safari safari guide this review is long overdue central serengeti extremely kind dung beetles lots of water amazing safari felt secure initial email price point once in a lifetime daily life endless plains extra mile fauna and flora
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was wonderful holidays! Our guide David - good and funny guy. Take more days on Safari against beaches if possible - it worth that. We took 12 days all inclusive luxury tour. All hotels are great and very beautiful. Especially Lake Manyara. We saw the big 5. Only a rhino was a little far away. There was only one rhino on all time Safari. Others animal were many and close.
Thanks, Lion King! Now I want to visit many parks all over the planet, safari with you was my first successful step.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank 760faridf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did a 7days/6nights safari in Tanzania with Salehe from Lion King Adventures and it was just amazing! From the beginning he was very friendly and knowledgeable, explaining us the culture and tradition of the different tribes in Tanzania while smoothly driving to the Tarangire national park. There he carefully explained us all the characteristics and habits of the animals that we were encountering, and always had an answer to our questions; he even teach us some swahili!! His timing and ability to chose the best spot was phenomenal, which allowed us to even see a lion hunting and catching a gnu few meters from our jeep on the first day! We then continued to the Serengeti and finished the tour with Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara parks. Everything was awesome and Salehe was great all the time; we had a problem with the car that he was able to fix by himself (always helpful on these difficult roads) and he helped other drivers to fix their car without loosing time for us. For lunch he always chosed a great spot to eat and organized everything perfectly, having a different full meal every day, instead of the pre-prepared lunch boxes of other companies. He was always listening to our requests and adapting the route and times to our preferences, and always with a smile! One morning while we were having breakfast, he came running to take us see a lion eating is kill, that he had spotted near the lodge. If we will come back, we will for sure ask to have Salehe as driver and we highly recommend him and the Lion King adventures to anybody that want to enjoy an unforgettable and joyful experience.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank matteorW8931YV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I worked with Lion King Adventures to plan a 10 day luxury trip in Tanzania. We spent one week on safari throughout the Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, and Tarangire National Park, and we also went on a full day hike at the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

We had a spectacular experience on our trip with Lion King Adventures, from top to bottom. When planning our trip, Nick and Pendo provided excellent suggestions and guidance to tailor our multi-stop itinerary. Nick and Pendo also ensured that everything went smoothly once we arrived in Tanznania - from transit and lodging across five unique locales to all the logistics associated with our national park visits.

Our safari exceeded even our highest expectations thanks to our expert guide, Mwita. Mwita is a top-rate driver and navigator, and he always made sure we felt safe and comfortable during our many long game drives and trips from place to place. In addition to knowing every route we took like the back of his hand, Mwita also knew many of his fellow guides and park staff, who often shared invaluable information about where to find the best wildlife at any given time. During our safari, we saw an incredible range of animals - three wildebeest river crossings during the Great Migration, all three types of big cats (lions, cheetahs, and leopards), and other members of the famous Big 5 (buffaloes, elephants, and the rare black rhino), to name just a few. Not only did Mwita seem to position us perfectly for viewing these animals from our Land Cruiser time after time, but he also showed a true passion for the animals and nature, knew a great deal about their behaviors and surrounding environment, and was able to answer our many questions about what we were observing. I also have a keen interest in birds, and Mwita went out of his way to show us countless unique species and describe how they fit into the broader ecosystem. Perhaps most importantly, Mwita is a gracious and caring person - he made us feel like family throughout our trip, and it was a pleasure to share our amazing safari experience with him.

For the last leg of our trip, we went for a daylong hike of Mt. Kilimanjaro with another expert guide, Imran. Imran is a true climbing professional - he’s reached the Kili summit over 200 times! - and he guided us on a rewarding 12.5 mile hike to the Mandara Gate and Maundi Crater. Imran shared lots of information about the history of Kilimanjaro National Park on our hike, and he also pointed out the many natural wonders that can be found along the way - lush foliage, waterfalls, birds, and even monkeys. Imran consistently checked on us throughout the day to make sure we were comfortable with the pace and stayed well hydrated. Even though my wife and I are fairly experienced hikers, we felt more at ease with Imran leading the way - and his easygoing and friendly nature helped the day fly by.

In sum, I would highly recommend a trip to Tanzania with Lion King Adventures. My wife and I always hoped this would be the trip of a lifetime, but we couldn’t have anticipated how truly amazing the trip would be beforehand. We left Tanzania with so many incredible memories, and it’s thanks in large part to the program Lion King Adventures customized and carried out for us.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank CPGoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just finished a 9 day, 8 night luxury safari and 2 night, single day Mt. Kilimanjaro trek with Lion King Adventures (11 days, 10 nights total), and it is difficult to put into words how incredible our trip was and how fantastic Lion King Adventures is.

I’ll start with our safari: for many months, we worked with the Lion King Adventures main office team, including Nick and Pendo, to plan the safari of our dreams. The office team was very helpful and patient as we asked numerous questions and waited to assess the travel landscape amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. We explained exactly the type of safari, lodges/camps, and overall experience we were looking for and the team crafted the perfect itinerary for us - taking into consideration that my husband doesn’t like flying, while I don’t like long car rides! After many months of fine-tuning our itinerary, we finalized what ultimately became the best trip for us. In advance of our travel, Pendo also provided all of the useful information we needed, including a packing list, safari guide, information on visas, COVID testing requirements, and more.

We began our trip in North Serengeti, and upon arrival at the airstrip there, we were greeted by our amazing guide/driver, Mwita. It became clear instantly that Mwita was a true expert in all things safari, from the animals to the driving. During our time on safari, we were able to see THREE river crossings of the Great Migration in North Serengeti, all of the animals you could possibly see in the Central Serengeti, including lions, leopards, cheetahs, giraffes, gazelles, hippos, buffalos and more, the endangered and rare black rhino in Ngorongoro Crater, hundreds of elephants in Tarangire and more. In addition to his expertise around the major animals spotted on safari, our guide Mwita was also extremely knowledgeable about birds, and we spotted dozens of ibis, storks, lilac breasted rollers, pelicans, egrets, herons and rare eagles. We were often among the first, if not the first, to arrive to see key animal sightings.

Mwita was also an excellent driver, and navigated the dirt roads of the national parks and the highways outside the parks with great skill. We always felt very safe in Mwita’s car, and it turns out he actually has taught many safari guides how to drive!

Our trip was also enhanced by the strong relationships that Lion King Adventures has with the beautiful lodges and camps throughout Tanzania, and the respect that all other companies and accommodations clearly show for Lion King. Mwita knew many of the other drivers and guides throughout our trip, and received very valuable information via the radio in our safari vehicle that helped us to see some of the best animals. Over the course of our 11 days, Mwita became like family and in addition to his expertise, he is also a wonderful person, passionate about Tanzania, animals, nature, family and more.

What made our trip so great was that Mwita was an expert in both the big things, like where and when to spot the best animals and how to navigate the parks, to the small things like shortcut roads and where we could find good bathrooms all throughout our journey! Overall, our safari far exceeded even our greatest expectations thanks to Mwita’s expertise and the Lion King team selecting such stunning and luxurious accommodations for us at each destination.

After our safari, we also arranged a single-day partial hike of Mt. Kilimanjaro with Lion King Adventures. Upon arrival in Moshi, Mwita introduced us to our trekking guide, Imran. Before we even set out for the day, we realized that Imran was a true Kilimanjaro pro - he has been climbing there for over 12 years, and has summitted over 200 times!

We had a very memorable day hike, getting to see the first base camp Mandara Hut and the Maundi Crater. Imran always put safety first, while also gauging our preferred pace and pointing out notable things along the way, such as mountain flowers, waterfalls, birds and rare black & white Colobus monkeys! Imran was also very thoughtful and stopped us for numerous photo opportunities to help us memorialize our hike! It was a great end to our time in Tanzania - being able to say you’ve climbed part of Kili is something you’ll never forget - and I’d also strongly recommend it as part of any Tanzania travel itinerary.

All in all, our safari and hiking experiences were truly “once in a lifetime”. We left Tanzania very happy with how our vacation went, extra grateful that we chose Lion King Adventures for our journey, and quite sad to have to leave. It’s also worth noting that my husband and I have been very careful with COVID-19 and we were quite worried about traveling so far from home ahead of our trip, but the entire 11-day adventure was very COVID-safe, we never felt concerned at any point, and all of the accommodations that Lion King selected had strict pandemic protocols in place to ensure guests’ safety.

I’d highly recommend Mwita, Imran, and the entire Lion King Adventures team to anyone and everyone looking to travel to Tanzania for safari, trekking and more and we hope to come back again ourselves one day!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Car2travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

The whole safari was perfectly organized our guides Immanuel for the Tarangire National Park and Ngorogoro Crater an Salehe for the Serengeti are really great guys and knew everything about flora and fauna and the locals plus they rare excellent drivers! We got to see the big five - a big thank you for that! Pendo from the office was a great support for all our extra wishes. If you are planning a safari go with LION KING SAFARIS - they are cool like a banana in the fridge

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Bananainthefridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews