We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa with a super pool and garden”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara Private Swimming Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Villa Barbara & Private Swimming Pool
Villa Barbara
Private Swimming Pool
Full moon Day
Swimming Pool
Drive into the villa
Balcony overlooking the lagoon
Villa Barbara Boat
Ready For Fishing
Back Garden
Large Kitchen
Place to Relax
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom ensuite
2nd Bedrom
Main Bathroom
3rd Bedroom
Main Reception
Main Reception
Dining Room
Ground Floor Bathroom
Cabana on the Lagoon
View of the lagoon and cabana
UK Family golden jubilee organised by villa owner
Ready to go Fishing
View From Lagoon
View from Lagoon
Our Boat
Front Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Negombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bobbyblot
Kenmare
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely villa with a super pool and garden”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is a lovely villa and has an amazing pool surrounded by a beautiful garden. The villa is clean and spacious, and the caretaker sandamalee keeps it clean with plenty of towels and a laundry room too. We were so impressed with her cooking and would recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast. It is very private and the beautiful garden is lovingly cared for by the gardener. The pool and surrounding area is where you will want to spend most of your day, large and clean and very welcoming in the hot sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden, pool and food
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueanders...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 25 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what an amazing place. Couldn't fault it and every bit as good as it looks in the pictures. We will definitely be coming back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lester D
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday Home in a Great Location”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We went to Sri Lanka with our 4 children and stayed one week in Villa Barbara.The feeling of privacy was there since the time entered the property through those gates.It was a well secured place to stay and we never enjoyed staying anywhere else in Sri Lanka like staying in this villa.

The house was spacious clean and tidy and well presented and new.The rooms were big and more than enough for me and my wife and 4 children age 6-14.The hospitality we received from both the owner(Upul) and the chef was remarkable.We enjoyed the very tasty Sri Lankan cuisine which was made by the chef.we also had BBQ and drinks in the garden while we enjoying the newly built swimming pool in the property.
The breeze from the lagoon was relaxing and the view was picturesque.we took boat trips straight from the backyard to the lagoon.We enjoyed fishing ,bird watching and creatures in the lagoon.The summer hut was a perfect place to have a drink in the evening and there was beach benches to have sun bathe facing the very tranquil lagoon which is mind cooling.

We even visited few times to Negombo,a bustling town with fishing harbour and plenty of nice restaurants which was 10 minutes away from villa by Tuk-Tuk.There was great opportunity for us to enjoy the sandy beaches of Sri Lanka which is opposite the villa across the road.Not only that we also enojyed the bicycle rides which is provided by villa.
Undoubtedly we had a great time during our stay in Villa Barbara and we enjoyed every moment of it with great hospitality of local people.We highly recommend this villa which is in a great t location for anybody who comes to Sri Lanka for fantastic family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the Villa near the lagoon.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L
Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Misleading”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
13
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a most enjoyable holiday in the Villa Barbara however we feel that we were rather mislead as we were informed by the owner that we would have the villa all to ourselves. However, this was NOT the case as the owner was at the villa every single day either in his office, in the garden or (on one occasion) showing people around the outside of the property while we were sunbathing. Unfortunately the continual presence of the owner completely impinged on the privacy and tranquility which we had been promised.

Furthermore, I would like to correct a number of inaccuracies on the property description. There is no snooker table, there is a gas barbecue but no gas cylinder nor connecting pipe supplied therefore unusable, the bicycles are locked away in the downstairs bedroom and only the cleaner has the keys. Needless to say, they are practically inaccessible. The adverts state that the vilIa has 4 bathrooms (there are 3) and its "own port with a boat inside the land". This is FALSE, there is just a rubber dingy with two broken oars and this is completely unsuitable for the lagoon as it is very shallow. The villa has 5 bedrooms and the capacity to sleep 10 people yet there are only 2 sunbeds and 4 outside chairs. There is no freezer,..........and so the list goes on........

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna B
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place for families!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My Husband and I stayed with our five girls, age 13 to 1.5 for two weeks. Without Villa Barbara and it's lovely pool, lagoon breezes and air-conditioned bedrooms, I don't think that they would have survived the stay! All of the children much preferred the pool at Villa Barbara to the beach. There was plenty of space for a large family to spread out and get comfortable in, on the extensive grounds and within the expansive house. The staff was very accommodating and kind to the children. The cook was fantastic; not only taking very good care of us, but also treating our children like they were her own grandchildren, making them amazing fresh juices every day and chatting with in the kitchen at any hour. Last, but certainly not least, Upal, the owner, was very attentive and responsive to our every need.

Staying at Villa Barbara was a treat. We felt immersed in the life of Negombo, watching the fishermen slowly pushing their boots on the lagoon every morning, and regularly driving through the local early morning fish market. A highlight of the stay was mass at the local Catholic church. The Church was open to the village around it, casual yet ever so reverent, A real experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing