We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Free of charge, amazing

Very well planned and well kept. Many interesting artifacts; the museum shows the past and the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Tata_Paulista
,
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Excellent experience for all

If you're in Albany, come here for a wonderful, educational, and fun time for the whole family. I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Linda B
,
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Read all 1,001 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Albany
from US$269.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$70.20
More Info
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
645
289
50
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
289
50
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state museum sesame street new york subway car the world trade center merry go round fire truck natural history long house native americans all ages interesting exhibits fourth floor ice age moving exhibit suggested donation few hours
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Stopped here with grandchildren on the way to a bowling tournament. This is a very educational experience for anyone interested in the history of New York. The museum is very clean with knowledgeable, helpful staff from the moment you enter. There is something for everyone to see from the beginnings of New York to present day. The 911 exhibit is chilling and respectful. The grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed walking through time. Entrance to the museum is free but donations are suggested and accepted. It is well worth making a donation for all there is to see. Parking is available nearby for a nominal fee. We arrived around noon time, parking was $5 in a lot two short blocks from the museum. Lunch is available on the second floor for a reasonable price. The pizza was great as were the sandwiches. There is a carousel ride on the fourth floor which is again free but a $1 donation is suggested. The museum is very clean, spacious but not overwhelming. Allow a few hours to walk through and enjoy the various exhibits

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Stash103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a very neat and tidy museum that isn't of such grand scale that it intimidates. In other words, you won't get sore feat. There's a touching 9-11 memorial and a good history of NYC exhibit. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MXKBrisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Went here with my wife for a visit. Neither one of us had been here for years. We were happy to be back! It is a great place to learn about NY history. We always learn something new when we visit. We had to rush at the end, because we paid for 3 hours of parking. Make sure you give yourself enough time, or you will get a parking ticket. I highly encourage couples and families to visit!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank NYnick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Our family enjoyed a visit to this museum. It was a busy area due to other events so parking was challenging. Typically on a weekend there is a lot available right next door.

Museum was free to visit. There were many interesting exhibits about different parts of NY from natural history to economics to tourism. Our visit lasted a couple of hours.

We found the layout very frustrating. There isn't one clear path through the facility so we found ourselves backtracking a lot to make sure we didn't miss anything.

A small gift shop. No food available. This was a great place to visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MommaJage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We had a three-generation family trip on a Saturday where we got a tour of the Capitol in the morning and headed to the Museum for the afternoon. We could have actually spent the whole day there. There is no admission (suggested donation) and having the map is very helpful navigating the space. There is great variety in the subject matter and all of us found material we enjoyed reading about. I will definitely return on a later visit (maybe without the grandsons this time).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews