We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite beauty”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley Sunrise from your bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Romantic hideaway
Lounge overlooking the 180 degree jungle valley
Sunrise from your bed
Gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the valley
Relaxing by the pool
Infinity pool with 180 degree panoramic view
Magical world at night
Bathroom with bamboo forest view
Peaceful at night
Tropical living
Tree house bedroom
Villa Shamballa style
Romantic candlelit dinner for two
Daily cocktail hour service at dusk
Infinity pool and deck with 180 degree view
Tranquil and peaceful at night
Colonial theme
Cozy loung area with a constant tropical breeze
Tropical tree house
Tasteful decorations
Tropical flower bath
Dinning bale by the pool
Your tropical home in the jungle
Breakfast by the pool
Alfresco dining
Tropical living
Private yoga lesson
Signature Indonesian feast
Dvd, satellite tv, internet for your entertainment
Warm hospitality
Villa Shamballa, closest place to heaven on earth
Bedroom and living area at night
The perfect location to recharge your batteries
Welcome to Villa Shamballa
Praying at the villa temple
Infinity pool and valley view
Pool at night
Ideal for a honeymoon (small wedding at the villa in March 2012)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Turkish first
Any
English first
happIness...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite beauty”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and i stayed at the heavenly Villa Shamballa in Ubud for a romantic 5 nights in July 2012 and it was indeed a magical experience. The views are simply breathtaking and the villa itself is stunning. It truly is as beautiful as viewed on the website!!

Upon entering the villa we were treated with kindness and love by the friendly natured staff. Tending to our every need, they were pleasant and planned all of our activities with ease. Almost acting like friendly ghosts - we barely came into contact with them whilst they would draw blinds, light candles, prepare meals, clean... the list goes on.

The sunset massage, followed by a luxurious frangipani bath was an absolute treat and morning yoga on the pooldeck is also a lovely way to welcome in the day. We also enjoyed our afternoon swim in the glorious pool and cocktails whilst lazing in the sun.

Ubud is a peaceful (quiet) place, but there's still plenty to see and do - We hired a scooter and cruised around the picturesque rice paddies. We walked through central Ubud. Lunch at Sari Organik was a wholesome and lovely experience. I also enjoyed a class at The Yoga Barn.

The food at the villa has been nothing but superb!! The corn fritters, grilled fish, nasi goreng, chicken curry and banana pancakes all a highlight for us.

Villa Shamballa's beauty is truly mind-blowing. It has a peacefully warm energy surrounding it and you will love every minute spent here. We will most certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Villa itself is STUNNING and the views are breathtaking!
Liked least: The road across the hill can be a little noisy.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning views and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one week at Villa Shamballa in Payogan as part of our honeymoon. The villa is stunning - exactly as it looks in the pictures, but even more breathtaking when you see it in reality. We felt at home right away. The views from the villa are marvellous, and we spent hours just sitting in the lounge area or by the pool watching the greenery and playing with Mec, the house cat. What made our stay most memorable, however, were our hosts at the villa - two lovely Balinese ladies who looked after our every need and spoilt us with delicious home cooking! The villa is in a good location for exploring the local area; just a short taxi ride will take you into Ubud and plenty of local sites are easily accessed by car, and there are also numerous beautiful walking routes through rice paddy fields and opportunities for local bike tours in the area. We were excited about the villa's rural location; the only slightly negative point to mention would be the road that runs past on the hillside opposite the villa. While it is not a major road, it does get quite a lot of traffic, particularly in the mornings ("rush hour"?), so we initially found it hard to sleep as the bedroom has no external walls. The wildlife (crickets, frogs etc.) is also quite loud at night, so our airplane earplugs turned out to be real sleep savers!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Watching the sunset by the pool, and the lovely service provided by our hosts
Liked least: The traffic noise from the road opposite
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bono56
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We discovered Villa Shamballa through Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed for a minute. Emailing Wendy and Atsu was easy in our build up to the stay - all sorts of great advice was offered, including the organization of our first meal. We were met at Denpasar airport by their driver and driven the 1.25 hours to the villa. The driveway gives no indication of the paradise at the end of the road. Greeted by Iluh and Kedak, we were thrilled with what our eyes took in....sheer bliss! The villa is spacious, private and yet close enough to Ubud. A word about Iluh's cooking.....wow! So good! We easily walked to the nearest restaurants like Fly Cafe and Fuzion. A short 10 minute car ride takes you to central Ubud. Iluh helped us with our restaurant bookings to wonderful establishments such as Melting Wok Warung, Putu's Wild Ginger and Minami....all sensational eateries. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and breakfast by the pool is blissful. I fear our only problem will be getting another booking...so popular is Villa Shamballa that getting an available time is a real trick. The one concern that we had was the road on the opposite side of the valley....but it's very soon forgotten. Fireflies on our last night lit up the pool area, reminding us that we need to return soon and so we will!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the view and the staff
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing