We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
72 reviews
Romantic dinner in the Poolside Bale
Guest room
Living room
Master bedroom
Master bathroom
Front view
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Top view
Beach
One of two Family Beachfront Studios (accommodation for up to six guests in each of these rooms)
Sunset at Villa Puri Purnama
Bathroom for Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
Poolside Twin Bed Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Spshlk
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Loved this place, stayed 3 nights and would love to return. Paula made my friends and I feel extremely welcomed and I felt very at home. The food that Putu served was delicious and Dewa (the driver) put up with a lot of driving as we all had different departure times. The scenery was amazing and we had the studio room facing the ocean and it was so peaceful sleeping at night listening to the waves. And the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Planning to return sometime in Dec/Jan. Fingers-crossed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the beautiful scenery
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a complete pleasure having you all to stay and we look forward to seeing you early in the new year. When you and your friends arrived all of us here at Villa Puri Purnama like all of you immediately. A truly lovely group of guests. See you all soon! Best wishes from us all here........Paula, Isa and "the crew".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna N
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for at Puri Purnama with our friends in August 2012 for eight days. The villa was beautiful with a nice pool and with direct access to a very soft black beach. We found the place clean, the owner and the stuff were friendly and cooperating. The dogs were kind and social, the cook made excellent local dishes. The main bedroom was gorgeous, especially the outdoor bathroom, and the upstairs bale was nice. We have recommended this place to our other friends, and recommend it to others as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2012
Thank you for your lovely review and for appreciating the effort we put into making sure our guests are comfortable, well-fed and happy! It was a complete pleasure having you all to stay with us for eight days and we definitely look forward to seeing you all again in the very near future. My staff and I send you all our very best wishes. Paulax
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supsu
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Villa Puri Purnama was pure luxury! The house is amazing with beautiful poolside area and it's right on the beautiful black beach! You only need to lift your finger and the staff will prepare a delicious meal, the driver will take you anywhere you wish and all this for a very reasonable price. Paula is very friendly and does her most to make your vacation best possible! There's also three lovely dogs at the house. Rooms are spotless and beautiful! I would go back anytime!! Location of the house is a bit outside of any attraction, so you always need to take the car (driver) to go anywhere, but again the price for car+driver is very reasonable, so it was not a problem for us. We were a group of 8 friends at the villa and we really enjoyed our stay!! Thank you Paula+team!! Hugs from Finland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house, pool, location and staff!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2012
How lovely it was for us to meet such a wonderful group of people from Finland. From the beginning of your stay with us we enjoyed having you here and looking after you (including our shopping expeditions and visiting local eateries in Gianyar!). Thank you for your recommendations of our villa and our staff. All of the staff and I are looking forward to having you all stay again with us in the near future. Our very best wishes, Paulax
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberto S
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Fraud”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

This is not the vent of an unsatisfied guest: this is the warning of a fraud.
The "guest cottage" we have been presented have nothing to do with the property as illustrated in the website. Not all the services advertised are available to the "guest cottages". The property is not, in any way, to any standard, disable- friendly, as advertised. There is a major difference of quality between the villa (that is poorly maintained, but it is as in the pictures in the website) and the "guest cottages" (that appears nowhere in the website, not even as background of any of the pictures). Moreover, the treatment we received by the owner is not only unprofessional, is well beyond the limits for legal action.

With order, sticking to facts:
We travelled with to small kids
Pick up at the airport: the A/C in the van was not functioning.
The property is located 35-40 minutes from Sanur, (under no circumstances 17 as advertised)
The entrance to the main villa is as in the pictures, with some signs of poor maintenance (spider nets on the objects, the loan mower on the floor, mould on the parasol… )

The brand new " guest cottages": They are located outside the original perimeter of the villa. To access them, from the villa you need to cross all the garden, pass a small wall with steps (see later about accessibility for baby strollers). By construction standard, furniture (a mix of ready-to assemble and bamboo) and decor they are at a par with 1 star local bungalow. In any case, they are not at the level of the standard of the villa, and they are not pictured anywhere in the website.
The hot water was available intermittently (we calculated 30 sec). The bathroom is inconvenient, too small for more than one person at a time. The window faces the raw wall on the back of the bungalow.
Internet is not available in the "guest cottages" area.
Doors and windows did not close properly. After one day, we have been requested not to use the main entrance in the villa, but the backdoor from the road (again: separated from the villa)
Security: The backdoor gate closes with a brick: the door does not close properly: even if was closing, the backdoor door or the windows could be easily broken with he same brick that closes the main gate. All those are on the back of the construction, out of the view. The dogs only covers the main house, not the backdoor of the "guest cottages".

Disable friendly features? Main entrance from the road: two steps, plus step-on tiles track over a pool, than a step. To access the pool and garden: one more step. To access the beach: 4-5 steps plus narrow gate. To access the the " guest cottages" from the main villa garden: 3+ 3 steps. from backdoor entrance: 2 steps, unpaved path , sharp corner, 1 + 1 step and narrow door. The bathroom of the cottages is absolutely not accessible for a wheelchair ( gravel on the floor: sharp corner with door: no minimum space to shift from chair to toilet: no handles:) etc. .

Food is matter of personal taste : we found it at the same level of instant noodles. The brands in the fridge are the same brands on sale in the hard-discount stores. In any case the property is 40+ minutes from Sanur, so alternatives require transport. Dining is on the table at the entrance: the dogs are free to browse within your legs, bark, and beg for a bite.

We tried to adapt for one day: we shopped in the supermarket, we asked to get the dogs far from the kids, we asked for faults to be fixed.
After repeated excuses and denial from the owner, a discussion ended with us been kicked out of the property with half an hour notice, (with two small children), no transport provided to go back, no money have been refunded. Moreover, days later, we also received an e-mail of heavy insults from the owner.
We have a different idea of the hospitality industry.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: A 1 star bungalow sold as an exclusive villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2012
We did have a problem with the wind blowing out the brand new, gas hotwater heaters in the Studios (not cottages). They have been replaced. We had a substitute driver (not English-speaking) who was not familiar with the a/c in the car and he didn't realise this was a problem for the guests until they told me after their arrival. I apologised for that. The a/c was working. The Studios are built of brick (the only bamboo in both of these studios are two "hat racks" and 5 chairs - no bamboo construction whatsoever!!!) and are described in our website as "traditional-style" beachfront studios and that is exactly what they are - very relaxing with a "beachside" atmosphere. The decor is beautiful and we are constantly being complimented on them (as per the other, many reviews from very happy guests). The trip to the main Bali Beach Hotel intersection in Sanur from our village is 18 minutes UNLESS there are religious ceremonies blocking the traffic or some weekend festivals. We do NOT use instant noodles. I showed the guest the packet of noodles that was used and they know that it was NOT instant noodles. They requested a last-minute meal (by text message) when I was not in attendance. Our cook was off ill and a substitute house-maid made up a quick noodle and vegetable dish (free - no charge). These guests had already stayed at our villa and returned to stay again! No guest has EVER been told to use the back entrance. In fact NO-ONE uses the back entrance. That particular gate has been repaired and locked, permanently, for security reasons. I was about to offer to move these guests to another room (our Poolside Master Suite) BUT the husband's extremely aggressive behaviour and threatening, abusive and foul language (during which he said he didn't want to be here) was met with agreement for them to move elsewhere. I actually contacted Village Security immediately and reported the frightening incident. When they requested a refund (after saying THEY wanted to leave) they were offered a 50% refund. They refused the offer. The disabled bedroom/bathroom is in another part of the villa. These guests never viewed the disabled accommodation!! Spiders' webs and some mould (from the frangiapani trees - this is a big villa and we live in a tropical environment and we are constantly cleaning and replacing our beach umbrellas and removing spider webs. I am sorry that our villa was not for these guests and unfortuntely the husband's appalling and frightening behaviour made it very difficult for me to offer them our Poolside Master Suite. I will however mention that one of the first things the husband said to me upon arriving the first time was "I have a very difficult child". The demand for a babysitter upon their arrival at our villa for their second visit was met with our staff organising a babysitter for the following day. This was not soon enough for this guest and the response was part of the unfortunate tirade which preceded their departure. Once again, we are not happy that these guests were not happy at our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericL...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money and don't go to this villa not mainained, clean and secured for kids”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We had friends coming over from Europe to go to Bali with young kids so we were looking for a quiet and clean villa with beach access so we could go swimming with the kids. We’ve had our worst holiday experience ever (we’ve been travelling around the world, in bali in the past and never had such a bad experience).
First, the owner was always very cooperative the months before the rental as she had one objective in mind: getting our money. Given we usually trust people we decided to trust her and to pay 90% of the rent 2 months before coming to Bali, one of our biggest mistake. Shame on us!!!
She was supposed to organize a pick-up for all of us (13 persons in total) and she started to screw us up at the airport by not providing the transport that was part of the deal.
Then upon arrival at the villa we realized that the garden was so much full of doog poos that my son walked on it after 10 minutes. The owner was shocked and pissed-off that we then asked to get the garden cleaned and she said "I've mentioned on my webpage that I have three dogs in the villa" assuming that having dogs at home means having dog poos in the garden!!!
Two days later, not only we kept on having dog poos in the garden but had the very bad experience to see dog poo right in front of our bedroom (see picture attached). We told the owner who didn’t care and didn’t apologize for it. When I said that it was not acceptable she argued that French (because we are French) should be used to it because she saw a lot of doog poos in the streets last time she went to Paris!!!!! No comments!
I then told the owner that the place was not safe and clean enough for my kids and that we wanted to leave the house. After this discussion, the owner who was living in the villa in one of the bedroom decided to escape without notifying us in order to avoid any discussions!!! The communication with her has then only been by emails.
The security night guard who is supposed to secure the villa is spending his all night watching TV in the living room and it is so loud that our daughter sleeping on the ground floor could not sleep and ended up sleeping in our room.
The villa is overall very dirty (we saw many rats in the kitchen, insect drops on plates, cockroaches in the bathrooms) which leaves a very bad impression.
Food wise I guess Putu (the cook) is quite good but the owner is so cheap that she makes savings on every ingredient: you won’t have proper orange juice at breakfast but rather orange concentrate blended with water, you won’t have milk but powder milk mixed with water. Given the price of the house rental, it is just not acceptable to save money on so basics ingredients.
The food was not good and we quickly realized that we could have nice meals at exactly the same price in restaurants in Sanur!!!
The service is very poor and we had to negotiate to avoid having the dinner served at 7pm. In other villas or in restaurants you are not obliged to have dinner at a such early time.
Location wise, the owner mentions on the website that the villa is located 17mn drive north of Sanur. This is true at 3am in the morning but impossible during the day due to traffic. The average transport time between Sanur and the Villa was more about 30-40mn. We would never have had selected this house knowing that it was so far away.
Last, the owner is so cheap that she has tried to screw us on every single possible element: laundry bills, massage bills asking for higher price than what was written on the price list!!!
We were so disappointed that we decided to leave the villa for few days and to rent another house in a different location and we had an amazing time in a fantastic well maintained villa with first class service…. at a cheaper price than Villa Puri Purnama.
The reality is that the villa sea view is great and it’s a shame this place is not well maintained. The garden could be nice as well without the doog poos. However, you can’t really go swimming with kids in front of the house (as stated on the website) as it’s full of rocks at low tide and pretty wavy at high tide.
It’s the first time I write a review on tripadvisor and I am only doing it in transparency for helping people to not repeat the same mistake as we did. Definitely it’s not at all a place for kids as contains plenty of fish pools in the garden when young kids can definitely fall into.
There are definitely so many difference nice places in Bali that I would recommend anyone to avoid this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view
Liked least: Property not maintained properly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2012
This was an unfortunate experience for us, our staff and these guests. We do everything that we can to make sure that our guests enjoy their time with us. Complaints from these guests about the variety of food were met with an immediate refund of the pre-paid $350AUD ($AU35 for each dinner for 7 adults and the 6 children ate for "free"). After three days a complaint was made about the variety of fruit we supplied - we had supplied EIGHT different types of fruit within the first three days of their arrival. The Guests did not want the refund and wanted to continue the daily dinner service. At the end of their stay they demanded money back for some evening meals the adults didn't eat due to their going out for the evening. These guests left us with a parting "gift" of a serious amount of vandalism to our two oceanfront studios and the pool and jacuzzi pumps (purposeful damage). It took some 10 days and several hundred dollars to complete the repair work and inconvenienced the guests directly following them. A full report of this vandalism has been made to Holiday Lettings. The guests who followed them witnessed and were shocked by the wanton vandalism. Complaints about our towels were baseless and untrue. Even brand-new towels purchased two days prior to the guests' arrival (never used before) were complained about and sent back to our laundry. Most of our linen goes out to a commercial laundry, every two days. Yes, we had a problem with our relatively new gas, hotwater heaters being blown out constantly by the wind so we installed two brand-new, electric hotwater systems within two or three days of these guests' arrival. The only time our kitchen was "dirty" was after the guests had used it and left it for our staff to clean. We normally do not allow guests to use the main kitchen. Other than that, our kitchen is kept VERY clean. Even though our staff (daytime and night staff) were diligent about keeping the lawn clean, we are situated on a public beach where local dogs "visit" all the beachfront properties. One of our dogs "disgraced herself" ONCE after having been locked up inside and kept away from the guests. We removed that dog and ourselves and left the guests to have the villa entirely to themselves. It was a traumatic experience for us and for ALL of our staff. We are still really upset by this experience but we have learned some lessons which will result in even more positive experiences for our future guests. We genuinely are also very upset that these guests did not enjoy their time at our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing