We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bon Soir”

The French Door Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 1,140 Restaurants in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$21
Description: The French Door is where "classic meets contemporary" cafe and restaurant located at Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu. The concept for the restaurant started when we acquired a hundred year old french door at an auction house in Puducherry, Tamil Nadu. While we are primarily french in our ambience and service, our menu is an array of Indian Fusion and Modern European. Our entire team is dedicated towards making your culinary experience unique and memorable, one that you will want to keep sharing with your family and dearest friends.
Restaurant details
Description: The French Door is where "classic meets contemporary" cafe and restaurant located at Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu. The concept for the restaurant started when we acquired a hundred year old french door at an auction house in Puducherry, Tamil Nadu. While we are primarily french in our ambience and service, our menu is an array of Indian Fusion and Modern European. Our entire team is dedicated towards making your culinary experience unique and memorable, one that you will want to keep sharing with your family and dearest friends.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The French Door Cafe is honestly one of the best European restaurants I've been to. The Cafe's ambience actually makes you feel like you're in an authentic bistro in France. The staff was very courteous, and the food was 'trés magnifique'.
The presentation was ON POINT and the menu was very diverse. I enjoyed the dessert, in particular, very much. I recommend ordering the Roasted Pumpkin Soup and the Baked Crepes. If I had any complaints, it would be that Gnocchi was a tad bit salty, and that the bread should be complimentary, I guess. We had a great time here.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Advaith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFDOOR, Guest Relations Manager at The French Door Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bonjour! Thank you for dining at our restaurant and taking time to review us. We are glad that you had a great time at the restaurant. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Great ambience, however there is room for improvement when it comes to food and perhaps also the service. The croissants, served well but were too oily and did not seem fresh, they are served with butter and fruit jam, the jam did not seem to be homemade(sorry if I am wrong). Cappuccino was too bitter probably not the best quality of coffee being used which I expected from the cafe(bit turn off). Veg grilled cheese sandwich was good but with too much cheese, the tomato soup accompanying the sandwich was great but probably an Indian version not a French. The menu can be updated if possible with some fresh fruit juices which will customers may like when opting for a brunch or breakfast.

Will definitely revisit the restaurant considering the ambience..

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ram_Awtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017vign, Guest Relations Manager at The French Door Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Greetings from The French Door. We are sorry that we did not match your expectation. We hope to serve you better next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Attention to detail, in authentic utterly charming garden ambiance, delicious food preparation, unique presentation and welcoming, attentive service is a surprise find, in Coimbatore. You are made to feel as if part of the family.
Should be on a list of top 10 places to experience in magical Coimbatore, for those with imagination, taste, elegance and adventure running in their veins! My first visit was for a birthday party, and solo since. Top marks, all around!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ammasveena49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017vign, Guest Relations Manager at The French Door Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Bonjour! We are delighted that you visited our restaurant and took time to review us in Trip advisor. We are glad to know that you had a great experience and list our restaurant one among the 10 list of must visit places. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to many more such visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

As the name suggests, the place gets it's name from the classy French interiors that it has. The menu is different for different time of the day, and the food is absolutely delicious and looks great too. The staff is courteous too, along with the service being pretty prompt. They seem to have spent a great deal on the training overall. However, the price I found to be a bit too costly for Coimbatore standards. But yes, if you want an exceptional experience, this place is a must visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank thehogggerblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017vign, Guest Relations Manager at The French Door Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Bonjour! Thank you for dining at our restaurant and reviewing us. We are glad that you had awesome experience at the restaurant. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Ah! This hidden Gem in the heart of the city. Wonder how i missed it all these days.

Brings back the french memories, even to relate to the french colony in Pondicherry, is a big attempt.

Needless to say the food was amazing. Little sad to see some basic indian food on the menu card, to cater the local taste buds with french ambience. However we went fully non Indian and we were not disappointed.

The staff were pretty warm and go that extra mile to serve customers. Its a must go place for any foodie. I would definitely visit few times before I leave this city.

Note: They don’t serve wine (no alcohol )

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Carvervins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2017vign, Guest Relations Manager at The French Door Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Bonjour! Thank you for dining at our restaurant and taking time to review us. We are delighted that you had a fulfilling dining experience. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Door Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
 
Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
 
Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
Coimbatore, Coimbatore District
 

Been to The French Door Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing