We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$32
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Expedia.com
$34
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$23
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
194
59
25
12
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
59
25
12
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We are backpackers. What made us love this place:
- The beautiful old antiques, rugs, bedding, furniture, vines & peaceful garden-- the most tasteful, cozy hostel I have found in India
- Mohan was so generous: we got a huge discount using bookings.com for 1 night, but he let us stay for the same price for as many nights as we wished during his peak season!
- All the staff were so accommodating: thank you Sharafat, Sharukh, Barbul!
- Great food!
- Great rooftop view

Room tip: The best hot water was in our standard room
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cupcayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Best wishes from us all at Hibiscus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I paid Rs 6000/per night and stayed 2 nights. Felt extremely cheated with the quality of the room ( non functional toilet, shower etc) poor breakfast, horrible route to anywhere including Pichola lake or city palace, and the slum like surrounding in a Muslim ghetto . My recipt was from Sheikh NOT Hibiscus guest house.
It is aaaaaaaa classic example of cheating money from tourists by using website with false images. Nobody should visit this horrible place.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SunandaS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

"Slum like surroundings in a Muslim ghetto"! Insults about our family name of Sheikh! "All of this being a classic example of cheating money and using false images on our website". I would like you all to come to your own conclusions about this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

This is an honest review of this hotel with pros and cons for the unsuspecting guest. First the pros: room was clean and large. The staff do their best to meet your requests. Now for the cons: the location is TERRIBLE. You can see a corner of Lake Pichola from some rooms and from the roof, BUT getting there is a different story. Narrow dirty lanes make walking impossible. Further, from the historic district, no auto wallah knows this hotel. Access is impossible so beware. The neighborhood is really really bad!
Next con: the bathrooms are terrible. Toilet leaking; no toiletries; Threadbare towels. Shower doesn't work. Hot water unreliable. We just didn't shower for three days.
Third con: The hotel has no restaurant to speak of; very basic breakfast made by unprofessional staff without hygiene standards like gloves that should make a traveler nervous.
The final strange experience is that when you pay Hibiscus, the receipt is from Sheikh Guest House! Go figure!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BarnaliG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

This review should be read in conjunction with the one above "My saga of the stay" as these two Indian women were staying together in the same room.
We have only one comment really although we could make many. Madam, if, as you say "the staff do their best to meet your requests" did you not report the problems with your bathroom, shower, water etc. and decide instead to go without a shower for three days? We have figured and suggest people reading this review should do the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stayed at the Hibiscus Guest House over New Years 2016/17 and had a wonderful time. The guesthouse feels like a home, but is run like a boutique hotel. The staff are helpful and very professional, the rooms are tastefully decorated, and the rooftop terrace makes for delicious breakfasts. We spent New Year's Eve at the Heritage Hibiscus and Carol, the owner, was extraordinarily kind with us, ensuring that we had the best time. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you! It was lovely to have you staying with us for New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Just to stress on the pt of how disappointed I am with level of service, i installed the app to let you guys know how worse can a hospitality be. I booked Hibiscus through agoda for Dec 25 and Dec 26. We reached Udaipur from Jodhpur. We reached around 8pm (checkin starts at 12noon). We are greeted with surprise that our room has been alloted to someone else. Our booking clearly mentioned that if we dont show up 100% will be charged. The excuse they - (Sharafat and one other guy) come up is they tried reaching me and they cancelled. At 8pm they expected us to find a place at the peak Christmas season. And absolutely no empathy towards us.

One other important point is that unless you are backpacker dont try this place. The accessibility is very tedious. The roads are so narrow, you will take eternity to reach the place. Additional thing to add to our woes.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank abhijith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Actually you arrived at 9pm on Christmas day. We had repeatedly tried to contact you during that day to confirm your booking and you did not respond to our calls or texts. There is never any empathy shown to us either by the many, many people who do not honour their bookings having used portals that do not take payment in advance or deposits. They adopt the attitude that "your business is not our business" and feel that it is totally acceptable not to turn up. As a result we now cancel bookings where we have tried to contact the guest to confirm and have had no response. Tell your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews